This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge

Reviews of Lianshulu Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lianshulu Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lianshulu Lodge.
Lion

40% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

25% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Zebra

60% success

Buffalo

50% success

Sitatunga

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"The best lodge on the trip - could imagine vegging out here for several days. Staff well trained and pleasant. Food plentiful." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"What a lovely place to stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Unfortunately for Lianshulu, the lovely new tarmac road is still under construction, with a temporary dirt road alongside, the new road will, apparently, be finished by the end of the year, meanwhile, from the main road down to the lodge, the 43 Kms, takes about 1 hour.

The lodge is beautiful, on a lovely quiet stretch of river. Rooms are beautiful, overlooking the water.
Dining room, and all main areas overlook the water, and are lovely.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient.
Food was good.

We were the only guests the night we were there." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr DS
Surrey

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Generally disappointing. The overall atmosphere was lacking, although the staff did try hard.

Activities very over-priced compared to other lodges (eg a river cruise was NS$480 per person, as compared with NS$180 or possibly NS$190 at Ndhovu). Overall lack of wildlife actually at the lodge - hardly any birds on the river, for whatever reason. Access was difficult, 40kms of very rough road - although a new road is slowly being contructed.

We were pleased to leave, to be honest." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"Lianshulu had a deserted air - we were the only ones staying there and there were very few staff.
The rooms were fantastic - just as we remembered.

Almost felt as if staff were waiting for us to finish dinner so they could escort us back to our rooms as soon as possible - food was adequate but not outstanding although when we mentioned we liked fish someone caught a couple of small boney river fish for our dinner
Birds and game drives were excellnet - the guide friendly and knowledgable

The road from Kongola is being tarred and although it was reported to be taking three more years this will make getting there much easier - we drove down a parallel gravel road and found the signage to the lodge very poor - if we had got there late we would not have been able to see it.

Very disappointed with our stay here and thought it very over priced but the staff available were doing the best they could

We had looked forward to revisiting Lianshula again as we remembered it as a very special place - we were disappointed and did not feel it gave value for money" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs J
Oz

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"excellent service. We had half board for first day and when we pointed this out to the management that we owed them for game drives etc. he replied that we owed them nothing!!

The road to Katimo Malila was extremely poor but after the border crossing into Namibia much improved. Were were disappointed not to go on the ferry at Kazangula but were told that there were problems with time if the ferry was busy at it closed at 6pm. The drives were very good.

There were problems with diet, my daughter and wife not eating meat but eating fish. We consequentially had fish for every meal!!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs LARSSON
Paris

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Very nice setting on the Kwando river on the eastern side of the Okavango panhandle.

The chalets all have a view on the river and the hippos. Good boat trips with plenty of hippos, elephants and crocs. Also possible to do game drives in the park, either guided or using your own car.

This lodge reopened in Oct 2012 and is in recovery mode. Note that it is not owner-run, which means individual tables and limited interaction with other guests. Suitable as a 2 night river stopover if you are travelling through the Caprivi.

We were in the "accessible" bungalow, large and comfortable. Our double bathroom sinks looked out over the river and each morning our view was of the hippos on the land across the channel. Toilet separate from bath - Big plus!! (This was unusual for all the lodges) If the lights suddenly go out, it may be the 12v battery died.

We went on the sundowner cruise both evenings - different territory - different viewing experiences." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Amigos
Spain

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2013
"A Modern lodge. The only problem we had was the sort of "Africa" problem one gets when there is no obvious manager. Expert Africa had booked for us 2 night - one day on full board (which includes excursions) and one day with dinner only.

We arrived at 4pm, and they said we had to have full board on day one, which meant we had paid for, but were not getting lunch and a morning game drive. I got upset (rad really upset) and we sat arguing in the reception area with a dozen staff looking on for 40 minutes, until they backed down and agreed that we could have the full board day the next day. It was an unnecessary hassle." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2011
"The gravel road to the lodge was ok and the Lodge's dirt road was passable though there were many large puddles across the width of it. it only became unpassable (for us in an ordinary saloon car) in the last 100m before the gate where the river had flooded it. They were able to pick us up in a 4X4.

It was a lovely lodge. Ther was no provision for charging in the room (which was huge and beautifully appointed) but it was available at the reception.

The morning game and evening river trips were superb. Great hippo sightings in the evening. Good animals and birds in the morning esp. warthog and baboon.

Mosquito nets and repelant were provided." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S
Steyning

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"Good food and wine.

Activities good but no fishing." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JC
Stroud

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"Luxury lodge, but disappointing variety of wildlife seen on the game drive...not worth the exorbitant price." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 60
91%
60 reviews of Lianshulu Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
10
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (93 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (64 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


93% (33 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (29 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (24 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


94% (21 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


93% (16 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


95% (11 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


93% (3 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa