This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge
Lianshulu Lodge

Reviews of Lianshulu Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lianshulu Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lianshulu Lodge.
Lion

40% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

25% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Zebra

60% success

Buffalo

50% success

Sitatunga

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"More formal than our other lodges - very attentive service.
Good food, and tables were beautifully decorated.
Very well-appointed room.
The game drive was a little pricey - unfortunately there was not a great deal of game to see but the view of the Carmine Beeeaters was a highlight.
We did not take the boat ride." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Messing about in boats 2"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2010
"Although we only stayed one night, this large lodge really deserves two nights, we had a fantastic time spending an hour with a family of elephant in the river, carmine bee-eaters and roan antelope make you think you have been here much longer.

The facilities are excellent and the staff helpful and the NP is a little known treasure." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The T family
UK

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Oh dear! I was so disappointed with our stay here. I had hoped this would be the climax of our holiday and yet it proved to be exactly the opposite. The access road (5km) is in terrible condition, with large potholes, and is in desparate need of repair. This was mentioned to site management who recognised the problem, although I did not note any commitment to deal with it.

There is no doubt that the lodge facilities are excellent. We had a large room which was well equiped, and the common areas of the lodge are wonderful, immediately overlooking the swamp and river channels. However apart from a few birds there was little to see directly from the lodge during the day - but note that hippos were regular visitors across the lodge grounds in the early hours.

We did go on the evening boat trip which was excessivley expensive (N$550 pp), but I wished afterwards that we had not. I know that animal sightings cannot be guaranteed, but then a much lower price would make such a trip seem more reasonable. We did have a price from elsewhere to compare this with.

The food was dissappointing. It seemed as if they were trying to be extra special, but just not quite making it. Nearly all of the main course on our second evening was left uneaten by all 4 of our party. How a game stew can yield pieces of meat that are so dry and tasteless remains a mystery. This was the worst meal (and only really bad meal) that we had on our entire 3 week holiday. And why at breakfast one could not just get a piece of bacon, but instead had to have a bacon, potato, mushroom (and goodness knows what else) concotion is also a mystery.

At our second evening meal there was a group of VIPs who I took to be senior executives from the company. I was approached by one of them who asked how were things. I said so-so. "What did I mean?", he asked. I said that the food was very dissappointing. His reply was just appalling. He said, "What did you expect?". I replied, "The same stanadard as I have had everywhere else that I have been." If this was his approach to customer service, then I think he has a lot to learn. This is very odd since I thought the same company ran many of the other lodges we had stayed at.

One pleaseant surprise is that we were advised at the end of our stay as we settled our bill that the drinks were free. I am not sure why this was - we were not on all inclusive rates. We spent some 2 hours at the pool but no-one came to ask if we wanted a drink." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs P
Holland

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"Lianshulu Lodge is beautifully located on the Kwando River, the place is well-designed, elephants and hippos roam the gardens at night and the staff are friendly.

We did find the stay at Lianshulu the least of the holidays, but that has more to do with the overall standard of our accommodation during the entire trip than Lianshulu itself.

Wildlife was not abundant, but it was special once we encountered some: we saw big herds of roan for example. It was very cold and windy when we were there and that may have affected the wildlife." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Ms S & Ms H
Norwood

"Fantastic location"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"What an amazing location and a very relaxing and luxurious stopover.

The staff were very attentive, rooms fabulous, and the food was also very good. Sitting around the fire on the deck after dinner listening to the sounds from the river was great.

Took the boat trip which was very enjoyable and informative." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"Great location and room. The only activity we were offered was a total 'rip off' and disappointing.

The guide seemed more interested in arranging an activity for another group for the following morning! We did not ask the price as we assumed a river trip would be similar throughout our travels but was at least six times that we had previously paid. We feel that Expert Africa should warn other guests of this matter.

The evening meal was at best warm. Thankfully no activity was on offer the following morning as we would hate to think what the price was!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs L
Sheffield

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Best lodge in Caprivi Strip"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"An exceptionally well run luxury camp without going as far as becoming a spa resort. We were given the 'honeymoon suite' (was it booked by Expert Africa?), but which had twin beds!! The manageress was really switched on, but found time to be sociable with guests. She was obviously a fan of Chris and hinted she would like a copy of his Guide to Namibia.

Resident croc in river under decking. Elephant and hippo in camp at night. Good activities ~ the only place other than Etosha where we saw lions." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"Very nice place to be in Caprivi"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"Excellent on all the points. Preferabily use the speedboat to look for the game. Very good guides. Lovely Mudumu park.

Previously, we went to Lizauli traditional village; totally disappointing : not to recommand." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 60
91%
60 reviews of Lianshulu Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
10
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (93 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (64 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


93% (33 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (29 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (24 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


94% (21 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


93% (16 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


95% (11 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


93% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa