This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge

Reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Frans Indongo Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Frans Indongo Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M & Mr G
Surrey

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"We really liked the place. The managers are lovely and friendly, making our stay welcome. It was nice ending of our trip before catching the flight back home. Was sad to leave there!

Our room was lovely - very comfortable and homely.

Food was excellent. We enjoyed our dinners there because of the surroundings." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2008
"A very comfortable, convenient place to stop after Etosha and on the way back to the airport. Our room was lovely. If you stop two nights, as we did, you are put into one of the thatched detached little houses, which was very nice.

Food here is excellent and staff friendly and helpful. A visit to the Cheetah Conservation Centre was worthwile." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Modern lodge - efficient and friendly"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"This was our last place. Having had the wonderful locations of all the other lodges, this was the least scenically located in some ways. But we had been spoilt! We were very warmly welcomed by the very courteous owners - a young and dedicated couple with a small child to look after too.

The staff were all delightful and spoilt my husband on his birthday morning with flowers, candles and a birthday note at breakfast - our last day! The rooms were very clean, big ,airy and modern and although lacking the individual charms of other lodges, they were of a very high standard. Our three sons did watch some TV , for example, having not done so for weeks! But the Olympics were still on!! They were modern rooms in the sense of having the mod-cons! I guess they felt more European than African in some ways.

Views out to the game area were great from a huge deck. One felt slightly that the imported animals eg camels and a few from S, Africa, made it more zoo-like. I think, because we arrived after a lot of travelling and having seen very wild parts of the country, it all seemed more tame and controlled than other places. But we took a lovely walk around the nearby hills on the owner's very good instructions, and got back to the feeling of wild bush again! We didn't take a guided ride anywhere with the lodge as we had done that elsewhere and we were spending one day at the Cheetah Conservation Fund ourselves. By now, we also had to watch how much we were spending!!!

However, we were very impressed by the owners' attentiveness to our needs and it was easy to discuss options with them and they were most helpful. As my husband said, it was a great place to stay in en route back to Windhoek, not too far off the beaten track, and yet still with views from the deck out to bush. I think I hankered for the offbeat, quirkier style of some of the other places, but that is a totally individual thing.

I loved Frans Indongo's big fireplace and big deck and we got talking to staff who also sang one night which was lovely. Good feeling amongst the female staff and this reflects well upon the German/Namibian young couple who clearly work so hard to run the lodge. We would like to praise them all. Very well run and when the electricity went down, the owners were so kind and apologetic and it really didn't matter to us. I felt for the kitchen staff! Thank-you for all you did for us. Astrid, the wife in the owner-team, couldn't have been more thoughtful in wrapping up presents individually for my husband's birthday. Her husband was very helpful all the time and extremely organised in everything. We wish them well and their family.

Visit to Cheetah Conservation Fund (CCF) - Stephen was our guide for the morning and he proved to be a charming, informative and quietly spoken man. His wife cooked our delicious lunch and they treated us like royalty. Once again, we couldn't get over how well we were looked after. We met the owner too and perhaps we represent only a handful of tourists taking this Bellebeno Safari - it IS expensive after all!! Saw cheetah very close and had private tour. If you don't do this tour, not sure how close you will get to cheetah, except for the ones in the penned area next tot he centre. So you need to spend on this trip to make the long drive there worth it.

Stephen's wife and Stephen were so kind and we all got welll, exchanging information about our respective countries. Very well run centre and the museum is excellent. But to go all that way just to see cheetah fed or to watch them run, would be pointless I feel,. Need to splash out on a tour having got all that way. Interesting to know that dogs are now used to prevent cheetah attacks on herds of goat/sheep. We learnt a lot that day.

Staying at Frans Indongo made it really good to get to. Again, boys won't forget this one." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Meerkats
Thame

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Frans Indongo was pure luxury and a real treat." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Good place for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"We liked it here - it was stopover en route to the airport and we got the impression many of the other guests were using it as a stopover at the beginning of their trips - en route to Etosha. Large percentage of German guests and a German manager, but he was extremely good - understood exactly where we were at (long drive from Namutoni after morning in Etosha = tired and dirty!).

Form the sound of it, the game drive would have been good if we'd had the time to go on it.

Friendly staff and very good food." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Aardwolves
Middlesex

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"A very warm and informative welcome; the dining room was very atmospheric for the evening meal and beautifully served.

We found the pace of the game-drive a little fast but we did see Rhino + baby - wow!

Nothing was too much trouble and checking flights etc was dealt with efficiently and in a very helpful manner - thanks." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"We loved the style and impeccable condition of this camp, and only wished we had arranged to stay longer.

The food and the chalet were the highest quality of the whole trip. Finding the white rhino on the drive was a bonus." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Keen walkers
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2008
"The only reason for our being at Frans Indongo Lodge was to use it as a base to visit the Cheetah Conservation Fund. We had made several phone calls in advance to arrange things but when we arrived, we discovered problems. So we had to settle for a quick visit to the education centre and a walk around the facilities at the CCF. This was very disappointing - we don't know whose fault it was, but visitors should be warned. A jeep ride through the open areas to see cheetahs needs to be planned in advance, and the weekends can be a problem. Also Frans Indongo Lodge is quite a long drive away from the CCF.

The Lodge was luxurious and comfortable and the service was good. There was a largish group of tourists there when we were, and it may be the sort of place that attracts groups because of its facilities and ease of access.

Breakfast was very good. We bought our own food for dinner (from a nearby town) and the room was very spacious and comfortable to eat in." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Berkshire

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2008
"A nice clean and efficient camp which offered a relaxing one night stay between other places.

We didn't do the game drive as we thought it would be a bit 'tame' after Etosha and it was nice sitting watching the waterhole instead.

The lodge is 15mins from a Cape Griffin conservation project which offered a very enjoyable and informative couple of hours (although we were informed that the project is moving to another farm which will mean it will be about an hrs. drive from the lodge - not so convenient)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 66
93%
66 reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa