This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge

Reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Frans Indongo Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Frans Indongo Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & Mr D
Oldham

"Good place to end (or start) trip to Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2009
"As this was our last place prior to flying back we just relaxed, taking a couple of walks, reading by the pool and watching the animals visit the waterhole. We did though go on an evening game drive which was OK and gave us the opportunity to see rhino but the stark contrast between the animals behaviour in Etosha (relaxed and calm) compared to here (frightened and wary) was disturbing to us (We suspected that this may be used sometimes as hunting lodge or maybe there was one nearby - we didn't want to ask).

Whilst some of the staff were very nice there were a couple who appeared a little morose." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"very smart just not quite right for us"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"a lovely lodge very well run. some of the best accomodation we had. it just felt slightly corporate ...probably due to this being the only TV in bedroom we had.

My travelling companion was very sniffy about imported game...which I think was our problem not a problem with the lodge!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr H & family
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2009
"We wished we had got here earlier and given the cheetah place a miss as we only had one night.

Very luxurious and resturant posh, yet it was the only place we saw a mouse under our table! The silver service was a bit over done, but a great treat to have stuffed wildebeast.

The animals here did seem a little boring after coming from Etosha, the children loved the TV in the bedrooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2009
"This was our second stay at Frans Indongo, a large German coach party arrived at the same time as ourselves and seemed to take over the place." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2009
"This was the friendliest lodge - all the staff were incredibly friendly. There weren't many activities, but it was a lovely place to relax, it had a very homely and relaxing feel to it. The rooms were lovely, with fridge, kettle etc. and bath & shower.

The food was lovely and wonderfully presented.

The staff were wonderfully chatty and friendly and very easy to get along with and gave the place a wonderful feel. Mr Indongo picked his staff well!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2009
"Very pleasant lodge set not far from the main road, an easy drive from Windhoek.

A good viewing area enables you to see some game from the main lodge though some of the species, white blesbok, grey springbok made somewhat unusual viewing . In one of the camp's other large fenced areas ,we had a very enjoyable evening game drive.

A good spot to break up the journey to/from Etosha or the Caprivi." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs P
UK

"Set high benchmark."

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2008
"Excellent management and facilities.

Staff unfailingly friendly and food first class." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs I & Family
Keston

"Frans Indongo Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"A really lovely place. Good food, lovely views over waterhole, friendly and welcoming staff.

The game drive was wonderful, very close up view of rhinos including a baby. Guide very informative." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms J
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"What a place most beautiful rooms and public areas. Welcoming and efficient staff. Beautifully presented meals with veggie option.

Not so sure about animals from other areas there, perhaps this is influenced by having just come from Etosha. We used this stop as a rest time and did very little other than a swim. Nice pool. A great place to chill out." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"Great scenery"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"The lodge was very new with views of game from the deck. However some of the game were not indigenous to Namibia, did we really need to have camels to look at?

Activities include a walking trail and game drive in adjacent game reserve with stunning views of White Rhino's. The lodge also had a flowering Jacaranda tree - beautiful" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 66
93%
66 reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa