This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge

Reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Frans Indongo Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Frans Indongo Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W & Miss H
London

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Apr 2011
"This was an after-thought on our trip to break the distance between Etosha and Windhoek, which was a shame as this was a really nice place where we could have happily spent more time!

The staff were very welcoming and had specially decorated our room and dining table for us (we were on honeymoon). The rooms were good.

The attached reserve has some impressive rhino, including a cute baby white rhino, and non-native species - the black wilderbeest were particularly amusing.

A special mention should go to the poor member of staff who cleaned our impressively dirty car (courtesy of muddy Etosha roads) and left it gleaming!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R Family
Alaska

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2010
"In retrospect, we would have preferred an additional day at Nhoma rather than making the stop here. But hindsight is 20/20. The food was spectacular as was the wine list. The sunset drive to look at animals was a waste. Sure, we saw animals.

The rhinos were feeding on the food the lodge puts out for them each afternoon, and anytime other animals were seen, the driver accelerated which merely sent the animals runnings. Dinner was superb, staff was great, but like I said, an additional day at Nhoma would have been better for us.

We could have made the drive from Nhome to Windhoek in a day." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G & W
Surrey

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"This was a great place to finish our trip and we would thoroughly recommend it for its helpful staff, food and delightful accommodation. Chris McIntyre please note there are no longer any animal heads in the Reception Area! [Ed: Noted - thanks!]

The whole ambience of the place was great and we loved it.

The scene looking out over the Game Farm is very peaceful and many varieties of animal visit the watering hole. A great variety of birds also visit the area. Here we enjoyed an evening walk seeing dik dik, antelope and oryx en route.

Visiting the Cheetah Farm from Frans Indongo is quite a long drive, but interesting, and staying at the Lodge enables one to drive back to Windhoek Airport along tarred roads in plenty of time for afternoon flights without the necessity of having an overnight stop in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"A very pleasant place for an overnight stop. Lovely happy people and ever helpful. We had a very close up view of white rhino with calves on a game drive.

There are some unusual animals here, at least, I'd not seen any. Black springbok and white blesbok." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L & family
Kent

"How can you improve on excellence..."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2010
"Very courteous manager, lodge well organised, clean & obviously well looked after. Lovely, well cared for grounds/ gardens, improved viewing deck, new mini shop is nice touch.

Rooms clean, lovely white bed linen, comfortable beds coffee & tea area, good shower & added extra of TV on wall. Athough we much prefered to watch the animals!!!

Lovely friendly staff, especially the dining young ladies." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & family
UK

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"Units based upon traditional African huts - clean, bright with everything required as well as an 'enclosed' bathroom with bath and shower and a TV - don't get these at all lodges.

Not as roomy as some of the other lodges - but everything you needed was provided from chairs & table to Tea & coffee facilities.

Separate tables in restaurant - service was very good - but felt more formal than other lodges where we ate communally." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The B family
Bristol

"very comfortable lodge"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"What an incredible place to stay service was fantastic, marvellous setting with its own game park and so close to the Cheetah conservation" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2010
"A good stopping point on way back from Etosha. Rooms and bed could do with upgrading." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Warks

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2010
"Stayed here for one night as convenient for a trip to the Cheetah Conservation Fund HQ. Probably the most luxurious place we stayed, very well laid out and organised, with great food.

Went on a game drive into their private reserve where they have 7 rhino included a female with 3 week old calf but unfortunately we couldn't find them. But game drive was very worthwhile and saw lots of antelope and birds.

Staff booked our trip and activities at CCF which was helpful." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bucks

"Beautifully designed relaxing place"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2009
"The buildings are beautifully designed inside and out - comfortable places to sit inside and out on the deck overlooking the farm.

There is a great variety of animals - unusual types of buck, zebra, oryx who come to the waterhole. The food was very good and the staff friendly. There is an attractive swimming pool and a tower which gives great views over the surrounding plains.

There are self-guided walks within the farm - the walk up the hill was worth the climb in the heat for the view and the pleasure of the walk. In the evening zebra and oryx were fairly close to the path before they spotted us and took off." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 66
93%
66 reviews of Frans Indongo Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa