This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2012
"Superb small lodge of individual cabins built around a boulder strewn hill. The outside bathroom would be cold in winter and the evenings did get cold. The views are again spectacular. The cabins are comfortable and spacious but slightly spartan inside.

The service was really good the food and wine also. Their game and rockart drives are good the game drive especially so. The guide seems very knowlegeable.

The clean your car for you but it's dirty within five minutes of leaving as the only access is via gravel roads. The scenery is spectacular though." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"We stayed at Mowani Mountain Camp, NOT Camp Kipwe as stated here.

A wonderful location; excellent accommodation; helpful staff. The food was probably near the bottom end of what we had while in Namibia: not a disaster but somewhat disappointing - tough and chewy meat on both nights. Very slow breakfast service too.

Otherwise a wonderful place, and we had a very enjoyable and successful trip to look at desert adapted elephants." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2012
"We were "upgraded" to Mowani Mountain Camp 5km away along with other guests, because of a fire at Camp Kipwe a few weeks before our visit. As a result, we had expected Mowani to be busy but it was not full by any means. Our thatched "tent" was brand new and very comfortable and well equipped with a gorgeous view. Dining was a pleasure, even if we needed blankets over our knees for dinner as the temperature dropped close to zero at night.

We tracked desert-adapted elephants for hours in a wet mist until the sun broke through and we found around 30 animals in two groups - a wonderful experience. The situation of the camp is extraordinary and a great place to stay in Damaraland.

We organised a morning game drive searching for desert adapted elephants for these travellers. They commented:

"Excellent.

From the Camp, we could see that the valley of the Huab river was shrouded by thick mist. Once we reached the river, visibility was only a few yards and we wondered if our guide would be able to find anything! However, once the sun broke through it was a glorious day and we eventually found two groups of elephants, totalling around 30 animals, which we were able to observe from close quarters.

Much of the journey was along dry and bumpy river bed, and might not be appropriate for guests with back problems. It was also extremely cold for the first hour or so, and good insulating layers are recommended (June)"" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
Kent

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"We were changed to the sister camp Mowani as camp Kipwe had suffered form a fire. Superb location and rooms.

Service was over the top for us. Valet parking for a couple of backpackers at heart! We went desert elephant tracking with an excellent guide.

The highlight of the trip however was when we had a puncture under the gaze of an interested elephant. No problem ? - ah - no wheel brace. Limped back to the guides home village for assistance which turned out to be another highlight." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Family Tsuchiyose
USA

"This is the review of Mowani Mountain Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"This is the review of Mowani Mountain camp. Since the camp Kipwe had a small fire, they moved us to Mowani Mountain Lodge.

Great location overlooking the red boulders scenery. They also have the sunset view area with a Bar, and a small pool. Our room had a nice view, spacious. The staff was all friendly and service was great. We had 2 guides and both are completely different in style and knowledge, so it is good to go out with different guide each morning, afternoon.

If you ever go to Namibia in June, it is very cold in the morning, and at night so bring a warm clothes." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Camp Kipwe was a lovely interlude"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2012
"Again, this was a stop-over on a long journey so we did not partake in activities. The setting is delightful and staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our night there and the rooms and centre are lovely.

Compared to other places we did not find mixing with others as easy, probably because there are individual tables and we were not there long enough, nor did we go out in vehicles. I loved the outdoor bathrooms and the way the rooms fitted into the natural setting." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr A & Miss A
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2011
"An enjoyable stay at Camp Kipwe. We loved the design of the camp which is built quite subtly into and amongst the rocks of the area. The room itself was extremely hot however, even with a fan. I guess the stone structure retains heat very well! The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The food was good - we liked the fact that the kitchen was open and were able to watch the chef in action. Again a nice sundowner spot on top of the main kopjie next to the camp. We had a great morning drive to find a family of desert-adapted elephants. (Despite getting stuck in sand...) I'm not sure that our guide was initially too thrilled when we wanted to go on the tour, but he found the elephants despite not being too confident!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Wales

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"The room were circular and unique with outdoor bathrooms. The guide was excellent in finding the elusive desert elephants. The food was wonderful with first class service from Cyril.

We had an uninvited visitor in the open bathroom: a whip snake-whcih was apparently harmless-this induced much astonishment among our friends when we recounted the incident on our return home. Don't let this put you off Camp Kipwe as it was one of the highlights of the trip!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr B
Inverness

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"Wonderful setting among the boulders - we called it "Bedrock".

Welcoming, friendly staff, extremely comfortable. We loved the bird "fountain" and spent ages watching and photographing from the comfort of the lounge.

Room very hot during night. If the windows had mesh covering we would have left them open and introduced some ventilation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Beautiful and unusual accommodation nestled in the rocks (some were more private than others). The pool was small, refreshing but welcome! Lovely seating areas and restaurant. The meals were nice too.

Most people seemed to stay for only 1 or 2 nights. We really enjoyed our three nights here as it allowed us some relaxation time by the pool as well as our excursions.

On our full board and activity basis we were entitled to one excursion a day so we did the elephant trip twice and visited the rock carvings one afternoon. Our guide was good but could afford to learn and spend more time discussing the geology, the plant life and be better about positioning for photos/observations. He could also be more confident about striking out by himself to find the elephants. Following other vehicles all of the time results in a lot of dust and not the best photo opportunities!

As an aside, the guide needing to stop for cigarette breaks on a regular basis was annoying." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa