This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Great spot for desert adapted elephants."

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"A great camp and plenty on offer to do. The desert adapted elephant activity very well worthwhile.

We did other things ourselves and it was easy from here. Again staff very friendly and knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr O & Mrs R
Germany

"Relaxation and Culture at Camp Kipwe"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"An amazing camp and great value for money! It is ideally placed for the Twyfelfountain rock engravings, which we all enjoyed so much, that we went back there again the following day. it was the only place where we stayed for three days and it was a great decisions. It is a great place to just relax and enjoy the view. Having said that, we did a lot and went to the petrified forest, Twyfelfountain and the Organ Pipes. We even managed to do a flight down the Abu-Huab river to the Skeleton coast, an experience we would not want to have missed.

They serve sun-downer drinks and a great selection of appetisers on a small mountain behind the restaurant, where there is a 360 degree view over the surrounding plains. Meals were exquisite, we are still debating whether they were the best meals we got served in Namibia, but we all agree that it was absolutely the best lodge we stayed in. On our last day, the waiter as a special surprise served us a candle-lit dinner in a small area enclosed by rocks and illuminated by an open fire and plenty of lanterns.

Whilst I was initially worried by the thought of bathrooms in the open, we enjoyed the wildlife it offered, such as a wild cat licking tooth paste from the sind and little geckos on the rocks. One of our treasured memories are the sunrises enjoyed from the open-air shower!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms C
NJ

"Elephants are fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"Camp Kipwe is in a great location and is a beautifully constructed lodge. We went on a drive to find Desert Adapted Elephants and we found a group of about 20.

We are vegetarians and were served excellent meals on both night of our stay." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2011
"Kipwe was an interesting location amongst rock outcrops. Friendly reception and good accommodation although it did get cold at night. They even washed our car for us.

The main reason for staying at Kipwe was to see the desert elephants and we were fortunate finding a group of 10 and being able to see them from quite close up - too close for one of the young bulls! We also enjoyed the trip to the Twyfelfontein rock carvings and the "organ pipes".

Unfortunately, we were told there was no wifi although I could see it on my computer.

En route to the camp there were a lot of roadside stalls selling gemstones. We looked for our own with reasonable success." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs S
ArniAG

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Prof R
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2011
"Beautiful location amongst the rocks with lovely views from the cabins. We went for a walk by ourselves when we arrived - you will never get the grass seeds out of your socks! - and then went for the morning elephant drive next day which was expensive but well worthwhile. The excellent guide found us two herds of desert elephants up on the rocky hills and we had superb views of the animals.

Close to Twyfelfontainand the (disappointing) Organ Pipes rocks and easy to drive yourself there." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Beautiful place with lovely warm 'igloos'. We showered outside at midday between 2 boulders under an awning whilst it was still warm! It felt less personal that other camps as there was no central fire place and neither the guides nor management socialised with the guests. A lovely open kitchen and charming chef, Henri who was quite happy to socialise in his kitchen.

Good food and really good excursions." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B
UK

"The middle earth stop-brilliant"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2011
"Another warm welcome into what was this most unique accommodation. We lived among a landslide of giant granate bolders. It was the closest thing to being a Hobbit. Yes! there is an outside toilet/bathroom but amazing to be beneath a Africa night sky in all its glory while brushing your teeth.

The lodge was warm and friendly with a myriad of wild birds visiting a giant bird bath almost on the veranda.

A short steep climb above the camp took us to a sunset viwing point where we were served with canapes and drinks. So relaxing before a return to the lodge for an excellent meal." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs T Mrs N
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2011
"Lovely location, excellent service and food. Great excursion with very helpful and informative guide" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
6
Whangarei

"Amazing place - must stay here"

1 night Arrived 15 Apr 2011
"Off the beaten track, but well worth the journey! Stay at least two nights, we arrived at sunset and had to leave the next morning but would have loved to stay longer.

Met by Adrian and served welcome drinks. The staff (all male) and service are excellent, and the place is very well managed. Food is fantastic, good wine selection. Overall, a top class act. The rooms are unique and well blended into the surrounding rocks, with discreet, outdoor bathrooms. Very special and quite private. We loved this place! Our vehicles were even given a wash in the morning. Balloon trips available nearby.

Lounge and balcony area nice place to relax and view the sunset. Wood burners used for heating hot water. The only adverse comment would have to be that the rooms were extremely hot and the floor-standing fans, although new, were too noisy to use. We were the first NZers to visit this place, and would love to come back one day. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa