This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W & Miss H
London

"Unique mountain lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2011
"Lovely room, though hot even with the floor-standing fan. The outside bathroom was great. Fantastic views.

Very nice plunge pool.

Extremely attentive, efficient staff - we particularly enjoyed the sundowners at the top of the hill.

We were lucky enough to see a big group of desert elephants up close. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

The rock painting trip was quite interesting but a bit rushed, though it was raining at the time. Entertainment again provided by the Italian coach party we met at Kulala.

The drive from the coast to Damaraland via Uis was beautiful. Another group we met had gone up the skeleton coast and the C39, which was apparently spectacular." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Portugal

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2011
"Fabulous venue, outstanding location, enjoyed our stay and treking the elephants, very rewarding.

Thank you to Adrian for organising the repair of our punchure." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Mountain Retreat"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2010
"Setting was well thought out although the layout prevented any view from the room itself. The outside shower and bathroom was excellent. The terraine was quite sandy and a bit difficult for the wheelchair, although the staff were helpful and accomodating.

Trips were interesting, Desert Elephant tracking was done sensitively and without undue stress on these rare animals , an enjoyable experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Camp Kipwe the ultimate in outdoor bathing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Wow what a visionary design, which once again made for a completely different experience. The staff were all friendly and keen to prvide us with everything we needed. Watch out for Alex the pet African wildcat who provides a predatory experience especially around the ankles!!!!

The sundowners were amazing or was this just the impact of the cocktails. The outside bathroom experience was fantastic, and provided us with the chance to cool down.

The rooms became very warm at night so sleep with fans on and doors open. It would be nice to see more female staff working at the camp and contributing to the atmosphere.

Recommend desert elephant tracking and once again our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"Excellence in the making"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2010
"One of the best places we stayed in. Lovely setting amongst the "boulders". Rooms very spacious with outdoor bathrooms - great view from the loo! Hot water via individual wood burners lit for you each evening and morning. Rock pool and sun lounge area very peaceful. Lovely place for honeymooners with special "rooms" and private candlelit dinners. Staff very friendly with huge smiles - especially Jefferey at the gate. They really went the extra mile to make you feel welcome. However this is a new lodge (opened August 2009), and Adrian the manager is still training the staff but they have made huge progress. Adrian has a pet wild cat kitten who is a "character"!

Can recommend the drive to see the Desert Elephants, but sighting is not guaranteed. We were lucky and spent an hour with a family group but it took a 6 hour expedition to find them but this was worth the effort.

If you want to go to Twflefontein to see the rock carvings it is easy to do this yourself. The visitor centre had no refreshment facilities and poor toilets, both of which would have been welcome on a hot day." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"A rock and a soft place"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"Arrived on a hot afternoon when the welcome drink was much appreciated. A lot of work and imagination has obviously gone into making this camp blend into the rocks. The domed huts (with outdoor bathrooms) were very stylish and we had a great view from ours. Staff friendly and efficient and an enjoyable evening meal.

We visited Twyfelfontein to see the rock engravings on the day we arrived and left early the following day so didn't have much time to explore the area. Would use Camp Kipwe again if we ever pass by." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D & Mme J
France

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2010
"In camp Kipwe, we enjoyed very much the living museum and also the very impressive rock engravings.

When we were there the nights were cool, but I have a feeling the rooms must get very hot in summer. Wouldn't ceiling fans be more efficient than the fan standing on one side of the bed ?" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Stunning"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2010
"Stunning location, stunning accomadation, especially the bathroom, the sundowners were spectacular, the food was extremely good, and wonderful staff.

We were treated to a surprise candlelit dinner on our own to celebrate our wedding anniversary, it was an enchanting place. Of the staff Andreas was particulary helpful.

Can't wait to return, it really was a special place. Again unforgettable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms W
London

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2010
"Accomodation and design of loge was stunning. This is one of the places I would like to hi-lite as somewhere that I would recommend.

Staff and guides again were friendly." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"The best yet..."

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"Hidden amongst the rocks of a kopje Camp Kipwe does not intrude in the landscape. It's beautiful.

Waiters bring drinks and snacks to the viewpoint at sundown - one feels very spoilt. Rooms are cool and generous. Open air loos and showers are brilliant - I want one at home.

Excellent food served by attentive staff - this is a brand new lodge which is bound to do well." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa