This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2009
"Dessert Homestead was a pleasant place to stay with a magnificent view from every room. The location was convenient for visiting Sossusvlei.

We opted to do the trip to Sossusvlei ourselves as we felt the trip run by the lodge was expensive. Doing the trip ourselves was fine and very easy to do... the shuttle for the last 4x4 5km was regular and worked out well." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2009
"A beautiful lodge, an easy laid-back atmosphere, a very warm staff, and pretty well-located for a trip to the Sossusvlei area make Desert Homestead an excellent place to stay a couple of nights." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J & Mr D
UK

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2009
"The staff were very friendly and the rooms clean. Affordable trips. The communal powerpoint to charge equipment was inconveinent. We would have liked a socket in the room.

Overall we had two lovely nights stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Home home on the plains"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"It's a very bumpy and dusty journey to Desert Homestead, but it's worth it.

We had the two bungalows furthest from the central facilities, so had a nice walk to and from each time. It was tremendously windy while we were there - some concerns that we would find our thatched roof missing in the mornings - but it was OK, the lashings held.

We were kept very busy it seemed, so had little time to relax. The sundowner trip was the best we had, a table laid by the guide with good snacks and a super sunset. The highlight was, of course, Sossusvlei with dune climbing, lots of picture taking and a champagne(ish) breakfast, etc etc to cap it all! Returning via Sesriem Canyon we were pretty tired when we got back.

The staff were super and we had a wonderful session of singing after dinner." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune larks
Sheffield

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"Great views and location for visiting Sossusvlei.

Food was good at the lodge and we were taken to Sossusvlei on one of the trips they offered - ie champagne breakfast with very informative guide, Randy, and climbed the dunes and walked the Deadvlei - great!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Aardwolves
Middlesex

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"The most friendly staff we came across with wonderful nightly singing. Tha accommodation was fine and they are not blamed for the cold winds!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Mrs A
Chipping

"Excellent sunset ride."

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2008
"Very convenient for Sossusvlei. Enjoyed the sunset horseback ride very much. Friendly and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2008
"This place was lovely. Loved the location and the view from the hill that you can climb just next to the homestead is outstanding. I thought this was the most well designed chalet, with the bed looking out at the view and the bathroom spacious and well designed to fit into the lodge so it flowed into the room.

Liked the little extras like the shampoo and conditioner etc. Nice eating area and pool area (although the pool could have done with a clean).

My only negative comment about this place is it is a bit too over welcoming on arrival with all the questions as to what our plans were for the next day. The guy seemed like a persistent salesman who why slyly trying to get us onto one of his trips without us realising it. They should just give people a run down of the trips they offer and how much they cost, perhaps in a pack on arrival. Then you can mull over it and speak later if there is anything of interest to you. It's a bit full on to have someone meet you at you car as soon as you pull up hot and bothered from a long drive. At that stage you just want a cool drink and the key to your room for a rest.

Food was nice, but we did get a very minor stomach bug after staying here." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Amazing place and setting"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2008
"Desert Homestead is a luxurious lodge but with an environmental ethos. The individual chalets were quite extraordinary for the detail, comfort, style and views.

The communal facilities and food were similarly luxurious and sophisticated. The staff were excellent and we felt we got First Class treatment in the middle of the desert!

We went for a short walk behind the lodge site which was worthwhile for the views. We also went on a morning excursion to Sossusvlei (with another couple at the Lodge) which seemed to be the standard package on offer. Although we enjoyed our visit, we would have liked something more tailored to our interests and focus. Instead, we felt we were only offered what everyone else was doing at exactly the same time - arrival at 6.30 for opening, climbing Vlei 42 (although we did manage to avoid this and instead climb Dead Vlei), a very quick drive through the dunes and a great deal a time spent eating an extravagant brunch (Including sparkling wine which none of us wanted). We would have preferred less time on eating and more time exploring the dunes!

Is it possible to have a more flexible option for those who want it?" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2007
"Good location. Rooms lacked free power point and fridge. Food was extremely ordinary verging towards poor. Personally i thought kitchen lacked supervision." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 81-90 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa