This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
Chester

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2010
"Beautiful location and hotel. Fab swimming pool! Staff very friendly.

We did not do the activities via the hotel as easy enough to do ourselves.

We really loved this place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2010
"Another good lodge with comfortable accomodation in a nicely layed out bungalow. We certainly had no complaints" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"We spent two nights at Desert Homestead. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We arrived early from Bullsport and were able to have lunch at the Homestead.

The rooms are lovely, each room being a building in its own right with lovely views across the countryside.

Our meal on the first night was fantastic. Lunch is available for an extra charge. We did not have breakfast as we were on early excursions (including breakfast) both days. The staff put on a singing performance after dinner each evening

We took the Homestead's guided excursion to Sossusvlei/Sesriem. I'd noted the comments by an ealier Expert Africa reviewer about issues with other participants on their group tour. We also booked a group tour and it soon became clear why this can be problem. The other participants on our tour were primarily interested in climbing Big Daddy and became very annoyed any time the guide stopped and tried to provide us with information about the area or the chance to take a photograph - to the point where they even offered to take our photos for us out the window of the vehicle, so we wouldn't hold them up by getting out of the car! We felt that they wanted chaffuer rather than a guide. This seriously diminished our enjoyment of the trip.

We did not enquire about the cost of a private tour, nor were we offered one, but I'd seriously recommend that any future visitors look into this. Our guide on the trip was fantastic and we are only sorry that he was not allowed to do this job properly for the first part of the trip.

We also took a balloon ride over the desert. The operator does not pick up at this location; however, the early drive to the pick up point at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge was fine and in the direction of our route for the day. Homestead forgot to give us our wake up call, but as we had our own alarm this wasn't a problem. The balloon ride is absolutely fantastic and we can't recommend it highly enough. It is extremely well organised and the breakfast at the end was fantastic.

I'd highly recommend the Desert Homestead for a stay in the Sossusvlei/Sesriem area." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"The rooms here were beautifuly appointed and we particularly appreciated the addition of baskets and other thoughtfully placed decorative items which made it seem homely and individual and not at all soulless.

On arrival we were concerned to be told that the only self guided walking to be done was a very short route up a nearby kopje. This seemed to contradict the lodge literature which refers to walks (plural) in addition to guided walking. We seriously wondered why we had chosen to stay two nights on this basis as the availabilty of walks had been a prerequisite. This rather misleading situation was acknowledged by the very helpful Ivan who arranged to take us on a long walk himself when his fast pace and interesting conversation made for a memorable hike which he said he had 'trailblazed' with a colleague when he first started there.

Despite the reference to guided walks it seemed that these were not routinely offrered and /or there was little demand from guests. The rest of the time we amused ourselves by walking along the (fortunately quiet) main road to stretch our legs! As we don't like sitting around and aren't horse riders this probably wasn't the most appropriate place to stay in retrospect but we really appreciated Ivan's initiative and valued his company and knowledge on our talior made walk.

The Healthy breakfast option was wholesome and delicious but the evening meals were disappointing in content and made worse by being served barely lukewarm on cold plates. The seats for meals were hard and low to the table so we borrowed cushions from the sofas." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"Dune roaming"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2010
"We found Desert Homestead perfectly pleasant but nothing remarkable. That said, the room was certainly very good and the staff generally friendly and efficient. The meals were rather uninspiring - as if the kitchen were trying too hard to give their home cooking a dash of more restaurant-style flair - it just didn't quite come off.

Like most people we stayed here as a base to visit the dunes at Sossusvlei. We didn't take part in the mad rush to get to the park at sunrise but still had to queue 50 minutes for the permit, which was frustrating. Thereafter we had a very full day walking over the dunes from the parking lot to Sossusvlei itself, then Dead Vlei and finally Hidden Vlei. On the last leg the compass came in handy to get us back to the carpark and, to be honest, we could have done with a better map. It was worth staying late though for the late afternoon colours." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"Wonderful location and the rooms have fantastic views while being very private - the plumbing for the sink and shower (copper piping with on/off valves) was great! Lovely pool but lack of loungers - only 3.

Seating area for after dinner is very relaxing and comfortable. Food was good for two nights but lamb neck bone stew on the third night was disappointing - couldn't find the meat. Great service - smiley, friendly, happy staff.

We went for a sundowner horse ride - two experienced rides, one OK and one absolute beginner - Lisa was excellent at looking after us all.

Packed breakfast for sunrise at the dunes was very good. Only drawback is that the external gate to Sosussvlei opens one hour after the internal gate for those camping in the park. Buy tickets the day before and you can drive straight through when the external gate opens." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Most disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2010
"This sadly perhaps was the most disappointing of all the places we stayed.

The guides and lodge staff themselves were wonderful and the accomodation lovely. However, the food was appalling! Everything in the main course tasted as though it had loads of sugar in and we were sevred what seemed to be a stale rock hard sponge with thick lumps of custard on it for dessert. After our first meal here [ during which other people were also complaining]; we discreetly asked if we could speak with the Manager. Another memebr of staff spoke to us and asked us what the problem was. We gently asked if he would welcome any feedback upon the meal. which he welcomed and agreed with! We never did get to see the Manager and unfortunately the meal on the second evening was no better.

However, we had the most amazing trip with Severn and Villa who took us to Soussvlei for a Champagne Breakfast. Their knowledge and clear love of all things wild were brilliant. We also went on a pre-booked balloon trip over the dunes [with another Champagne Breakfast!] again a fabulous experince - despite having to leave about 4.00a.m. to dirive to Soussvlei. We also did an evening sundowner drive at the Desert Homestead where again, the guides were wonderful.

It was such a shame about the food as other elements of our stay here were wonderful." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Newnan

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2010
"The Desert Homestead appears to occupy a hill only slightly higher than the desert floor; however, once in the lodge it seems quite high up with commanding views over the Namib in every direction. Individual reed-roofed huts are cleverly situated so that you seem to be alone on your porch amid the desert and mountains.

The staff here are mostly from Northern Namibia and they are delightful: smiling, fun and friendly.

We highly recommend the Homestead's in-house guide, Seven, who will drive you in a Land Rover to Sesriem/Sossusvlei in time for sunrise over the dunes. Seven is eager to share his extensive knowledge of the sand and fauna and does so with an enjoyable sense of humor as you blow by less intelligent people, hopelessly stuck in sand, who attempted the trip in an ordinary car or lesser 4x4." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"We didn't do any activity. Good location to visit Sesriem." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
W Sussex

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"After a detour to Solitaire to repair our first of 3 punctures, this place is something else with a " display" of old rusting vehicles and a helpful garage and of course the bakery with freshly baked goodies and the famous apple pie!, we arrived early evening from Windhoek.
A welcome drink awaited and we were shown around the lodge and to our detached cottage.
The views at sunset were stunning. The night sky even better.
The staff here were very friendly and attentive and generally reacted quickly to any issues.
We did comment that the evening meals could be served hotter and hopefully this will be acted upon as the food quality was good.
The cottage was very dark, we appreciate that there are power issues but when one of the bedside lights needed a replacement bulb it was unfortunately not dealt with.
An issue with the plumbing was dealt with so quickly that the Manager and 2 maintenance staff were at the cottage before I had walked back from the lodge after reporting the situation.....very efficient ... and soon followed by a chambermaid to clean up.

The location of the lodge a 40 minute drive from Sesriem and the gates to the dunes was not an issue.
At Sesriem a single member of staff manually filling out permits is an unnecessary delay. The wildlife authority must be aware that the time for the best photographs of the dunes is at sunrise or within a couple of hours and to create such a bottleneck delaying entering, for up to an hour, for the 45km drive to reach the main dunes seems unreasonable but stilll well worth the journey." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa