This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sandfields Guesthouse
Sandfields Guesthouse
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse


22°39’44.0"S 14°31’45.6"E

Reviews of Sandfields Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sandfields Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Family K
Florida

"Great"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2019
"the proprietor was very helpful and thoughtful and booked us dinner b4 we arrived as we arrived a bit late--a nice surprise. We did the did the Sandboarding -which was a lot of fun and enjoyed Swakop." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Great time at Sandfields"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2018
"It's a very small lodge which gives it a very intimate feeling. It's nicely located in a quiet area of Swakopmund.

The owners are very friendly, and all the tips we received on arrival were usefull." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Bristol

"A most welcoming guest house "

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We were welcomed by the owner, Jean, who provided us with very helpful information on things to do / see and places to eat in Swakopmund.

The guest house is well positioned for visiting the town since the promenade which goes all the way into town can be accessed within 5 minutes of the house - a very pleasant walk, ideal.

The atmosphere is very homely, our room and bed very comfortable and the service excellent" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Glasgow

"civilisation in a nutshell "

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"We only stayed at Sandfields for one night.

It is hidden away in an unassuming neighbourhood but is a hidden gem. The guest house itself was lovely, the rooms were great and very well kitted out with everything from tea and coffee faciltiies to international plug sockets and much else.

Our host had also booked us a restaurant for dinner and couldn't be more helpful with everything we needed. A great little find." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms W
Gauteng

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"excellent location, breakfast, service.

very impressed with the fact that dinners had been booked for us at good restaurants.

Whilst staying here the travellers took part in a day trip to Sandwich Harbour and commented:

Wonderful day, excellent guide, great experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2017
"Excellent on all counts: beautiful room, friendly and helpful owner, terrific breakfast!

Whilst here, we organised two day-trips for these travellers:
One to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

One of the best days of my life!

Burger took us to see the salt pans with flamingos, pelicans and other birds and then the lagoons between the ocean and the dunes. Sandwich Harbour is fabulous and we had the place to ourselves, soaking in the sun and the wind and sea, enjoying the strange plants up close and glorying in that vast serene expanse.

... and another into the Namib Desert, about which they commented:

An extraordinary glimpse into the desert!

I can't recommend this trip highly enough. Through the dunes, the dolerite dykes and the dry riverbed, Bruno was a brilliant guide.

He opened up the desert for us: exciting and unusual sights followed one another in quick succession as we saw rare plants and animals, looked at strange rocks, learned about the geology and current threats to the environment.

The picnic lunch was delicious and we came away feeling that we'd had our fill of memorable experiences." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Toronto

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2016
"Sandfields Guesthouse is lovely place to stay while visiting Swakopmund. The rooms are spacious and very private.

We enjoyed the warm hospitality, the delicious breakfast, and the many wonderful activities in the area.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers enjoyed a scenic flight over the desert and coast; here's what they said about it:
The Scenic flight over the coast and Namib Desert is a truly unique experience to see the magnificent landscape from above.

Since we couldn't do a balloon safari from Kulala Desert Lodge due to the age of our children (8 and 4 years old), we decided to do the two hours flight from Swakopmund. It was a delight to see the desert including Big Daddy, which we climbed before.

It was equally amazing to see the Skeleton Coast and the many flamingoes and seals.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers also took a guided excursion to Sandwich Harbour; here's what they said about it:
Sandwich Harbour is a great place to visit. The drive and the climb over the dunes is a great experience. Unfortunately this tour did not fulfill our expectations. There were two vehicles on the tour, and our family had a junior guide who was a good driver but was not knowledgeable and could not provide us with any information.

However, this problem was later resolved by talking to Bruno, who offered us a free three-hour tour to a magnificent area located 10 km from Swakopmund. This tour by Bruno should be included in everybody's itinerary while staying in Swakopmund.

Also whilst in Swakopmund these travellers enjoyed a kayaking excursion to Pelican Point; here's what they said about it:
The guided kayaking beside a seal colony at Pelican Point was great.

It was during the breeding seasons so we were fortunate enough to see the baby seals.

We had a great guide who took photos during our kayaking and later on emailed the photos to us." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Nice resting place"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"Nice resting place after a long drive thru the Skeleton Coast from Doro Nawas.

Nice, clean, great hostess but tricky to find the first time. One night could have been enough." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms V & Mr C
Belgium

"Terrific place to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"The Sandfields guesthouse is really a terrific place to stay when you're in Swakopmund. We arrived on a Sunday in a busy period. Because of this, the hostess had already booked a table for us for that evening so we were sure we had a place in a good restaurant. They also helped us book activities for the next day.

Breakfast was really good with fresh fruits, eggs, different kinds of bread, cereal, etc.

Rooms were also very nice with fireplace and a spacious bathroom which was very welcome after a few nights in a tent." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K & Mr M
Australia

"Friendly, helpful, and amazing breakfast!"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2015
"The owners were very friendly and helped us find our way around town, as well as helping coordinate our tours out of Swakopmund.

The guesthouse was very nice, with a great courtyard, very comfortable bed and a palatial bathroom with a luxurious tub.

The breakfast was a highlight, especially the amazing omelettes!

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers took at day trip to Sandwich Harbour. Here's what they said about it:
We couldn't have been more happy with our day out with Cai. He is enthusiastic, full of knowledge, and extremely respectful of the environment in which the tours run.

We experienced the amazing diversity of the landscape and wildlife around Sandwich Harbor, and we would really count this as a must-do.

Whilst in Swakopmund these travellers also took a morning sea-kayaking excursion to Pelican Point. Here's what they said about it:
We had a great day out kayaking. Pelican Point is a special place, and we had a good length of time out on the water with the seals." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 20
92%
20 reviews of Sandfields Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
2
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa