This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 191-200 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C
Buckinghamshire

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2012
"Windhoek is a spectacularly well organised and clean city.

The Olive Grove was very comfortable and everything worked properly. Food was good and service friendly and efficient. Excellent place to stopover." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Kiwis in
London

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"This was a gorgeous place to start our holiday. The manager was extremely helpful and attentive to questions." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2012
"Friendly and efficient. A very acceptable place to spend the first or last night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"A very good overnight stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"Easy to find. Very pleasant welcome and a huge room, quiet and very comfortable. We also had a good dinner here at a reasonable price.

We would recommend this guest house for an overnight stay at the beginning or end of a trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family Tsuchiyose
USA

"very pleasant, good food, good service."

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"We stayed here after traveling over 30 hours from San Francisco.

It was a very nice modern place with nice garden and a small "pool" so we kept on saying we did not feel like we were in Namibia. We ate a light meal in the afternoon after walking to the downtown.--It is about 10~15 minutes walk. Breakfast was also good.

Free internet access is in the lounge, and service was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The B Party
Hampshire

"Great food and welcome at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"A welcome stop after a long sleepless night. An excellent light lunch and a siesta revived us for the rest of the day. The room was good as was the food and there was a comfortable lounge to sit in. wifi was available.

We were taken to see the new complex which was quite stunning. Very upmarket and expensive but great to see such beautifully designed rooms.

In winter the eating area was a bit chilly though there was a patio heater which helped." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr I
London

"Olive grove - Excellent."

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"Olive grove was quite excellent.

Really lovely room, friendly and helpful staff and fantastic food. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. The bath tub! Oh my God. Bliss!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Olive Grove an oasis in the city"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2012
"The welcome was great the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were fantastic they were very spacious had a TV and bath which we hadn't experienced for two weeks. We sat out on the balcony next to the rooms in the early evening sipping wine which was chilling.

The Olive Grove is a real oasis within Namibia's capital city. We decided to eat out on our last night in Namibia at Luigi and the Fish, where the food was very good. The hotel provided us with a complimentary shuttle service to and from the restaurant which was unexpected but much appreciated. Breakfast at the Olive Grove was fantastic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Return to Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 29 Feb 2012
"As I said in the first comments this was an excellent end to an outstanding holiday. The premier suite is the best we have ever stayed in.

I would not go to any hotel in preference to the personal, individual accommodation on offer here" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Olive Grove, an excellent guest house"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2012
"this is a wonderful place to begin and to end a holiday. Mike and Carol are great hosts, very friendly and caring.

Their luxury room was superb and when we returned they upgraded us to a fabulous suite. I would strongly reccommend them to any traveller and will return there next time." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 191-200 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa