This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 101-110 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
Ms V
Chelsea

"River Crossing Spectacular"

1 night Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"I loved this place. Wonderful, spectacular location. Super rooms, fabulous pool. stunning.

Only slight thing was the service was a little slow and the food whilst good was not excellent" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Mrs S
UK

"River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 3 Dec 2013
"Perfect for our final stop although I imagine some people might want to be actually in Windhoek to do some shopping at the last minute.

(We were lucky and were able to stop at Okahanja, but shopping wasn't on our list of priorities)" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Peace and quiet near to Windhoek and airport"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons review: There were a number of steps both to reception/dining room and our cabin which made it a little awkward unless we asked for help.

We only stayed one night on our way to the airport early next morning but this lodge is worth a longer stay.

Very welcoming and friendly staff who were on hand to help us when we left at 5.30am.

Good room with private patio and views of the Khomas hills." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"good one night stop before flight"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"The lodge is good with a beautiful view of Windhoek in the distance, off the rooms and the sun deck.

A good place to stay for a night before flights." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Bristol

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"A very convenient place to stay en route back to Windhoek airport at the end of the holiday." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"Functional"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2013
"Was expecting more probably but very pleasant and friendly.

Only spent a night so not much to entertain us." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Morden

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"Good location close to the international airport and in easy reach of Windhoek. The lodge is tastefully fitted with ample lounge and dining room and has friendly, welcoming staff. Our double room had lovely views and all necessary facilities including a fridge. The bed was very comfortable. There was a good choice at breakfast and dinner was to a high standard. We only stayed one night immediately after landing at the airport but would have happily stayed longer if our schedule had allowed.

On the morning that we left we were offered quite detailed tips on how to make the best of our time in Etosha National Park by a staff member who used to work there. These proved to be uesful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hants

"Hard to find, spartan accom"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"The sign for River Crossing is very small and hard to see, as it is thin pale blue writing on white background, your eye is drawn to the much bigger sign for the group Desert Star and so we thought it was the Desert Star hotel. We missed it twice, no one knew it at the airport and we only found it by asking a dairy company worker.

Access road steep and very poorly maintained, probably a problem in wet times, leading to an ugly building in a scenic location.
Room was spartan, concrete floor, basic facilities, no hair dryer, warm water took several minutes to come through, which is ridiculous in such an environment where water is precious and we felt guilty running all that water. TV control did not work properly, we were not the only people to find this a hassle. Access path to room was difficult,could be better illuminated. There should be better enclosed handrail.

Food left much to be desired, offering no choice, which is amazing considering how near it is to Windhoek. Breakfast particularly poor.
There was no information in room as to activities and when enquiring about the walks, staff looked blank and only referred to a walk to the stable.

Our opinion is that they are inward facing, content with the short term one night guest. If we had known all the above, we would not have chosen this place for our last night in Namiba. Staff could do with better training.

We did not like sitting in an open breakfast room setting with kitchen and office staff ambling past or standing with their arms folded, chatting and looking like they did not have enough to do." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Ms J & Mr S
USA

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"The location of River Crossing near the airport was perfect for our first night in Namibia. (We did not want to drive into central Windhoek after 40 hours of travel.)

The staff members were helpful and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Has potential"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"Location is stunning! What a beautiful place to start off our holiday.

Staffing seemed a little confused in that barman checked us in and helped carry bags to our room (no paved paths to wheel cases on) and it all seemed a little uncomfortable. For some reason they thought we were a honeymoon couple which also resulted in awkwardness but a nicely decorated bed!

Cabins are nice but the room we were placed in did not have air conditioning even though we were told it did. The cabins either side of us did though - confusing! We asked and were allowed to change rooms.

Food was fine but, as there were few guests the atmosphere was slightly lacking. Staff were pleasant but could have been more engaging.

With a little more experience this Lodge will provide a lovely alternative to staying in Windhoek itself." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 114
82%
114 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
52
18
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


90% (4 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa