This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 101-110 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mr MW & Mr M
UK

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2015
"As ever, the best thing about River Crossing was the staff.

The rest was a disappointment but the location was good in view of getting to the airport and you're still looking out over the bush. The photos on their web site are flattering." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs
Beccles

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Good for a stop over after the flight.
We did not want to go into Windhoek so this was ideal , plus easy to get to from the airport
We arrived around 2.00pm
We enjoyed the gardens.
Very nice staff. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Unfortunately air con not working in our room although we were told about it and they were trying to fix it. On reflection we should have asked for another room. Would happily use it again." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr K
Denmark

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jan 2015
"A ok hotel near the airport" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms M
West Midlands

"Great place to stop over on way to airport"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"This was a good alternative to stopping in Windhoek and was in a peaceful location with nice views. It is quite difficult to find due to poor signposting and little useful information from Expert Africa. Best to get there in good daylight and look for the railway bridge as a nearby landmark. Maybe call the hotel for directions. Hotel sign is sideways on to the main highway and directions after that are lacking. However, when you leave it is really easy to get to the airport from here and avoids the traffic of Windhoek.

The room was basic and not particularly spacious but had a TV and fridge and was quite comfortable. There wasn't a mosquito net. It also had a lovely porch ovelooking nice views of the surronding hills. Staff were very friendly and service was good. Food was good and reasonably priced. There was a comfortable lounge to sit in in the cool of the evening. On the morning of our departure we really enjoyed being able to sunbathe on the pool terrace which had superb views and a cooling breeze. The manager kindly provided some free coffee and the best chocolate brownies I have ever tasted which was a lovely farewell gift from Namibia." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms S
Abingdon

"Lovely views!"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"A good place to stop and repack at the end of a wonderful safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"We liked this hotel. Good location from the airport and nice food offering.

Not sure that it would warrant more than an overnight stay, but was good for a first or last night option." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"River Crossing was a great place to start"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"The view of grazing oryx from our veranda was stunning and we enjoyed the view of the sunset from the deck before dinner.

The welcome was warm and River Crossing made an ideal and comfortable place to get over the flight from London and prepare for our adventure in Namibia. The food was ok and we enjoyed our short overnight stay." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C B & family
UK

"Lovely location River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2014
"Great location, 15mins from town, and 20 from airport. Beautiful views.
We like River Crossing but it had a feel of needing a bit more management. Various things didn't work in the room, and nobody could manage the lock on our door even though they all knew it was dodgy.
The pool wasn't cleaned even though it is central to bar and patio and so everybody sits round it .
Confusion about whether we were on full board. They thought we were but because our voucher said B & B we had already booked to go out.
The dining room was nice, breakfast good. The second dining room which contains the reception sofa needs more thought. Very cold and dismal. A couple had to dine in there on their own and they were really miserable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Pleasant enough for first night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"Welcome was good we were offered a juice drink straighaway. Very refreshing after the long journey from England!

Food of good standard and room spacious and comfortable. Did hear that this was part of a group and other Lodges in the group had been sold off. Would imagine River Crossing could be on the market as well." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
W family
Gwent

"Fine for last night stay"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Convenient for the city and a lovely quiet location, but the place needs to be more professional in its service and general offering." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 101-110 of 126
81%
126 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
59
21
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (165 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa