This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 91-100 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L
Leeds

"Good location for the airport"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"River Crossing is in a good location for the airport especially if you are self driving round Namibia. We only stayed 2 single days in the River Crossing at the end and beginning of our self drive tour round Namibia so the location suited us well as we didn't need to stay in the city.

The rooms are adequate and the service is friendly and helpful. It is let down by the food which was not good. We had the worst meals of our trip here, definitely quantity and not quality." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs D
Esher

"River crossing"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Close to town but we hardly had any time to look around as just one night then off." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss & Mr D
UK

"Nice stay at River crossing"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"Nice place to stay as a stopover on the way to airport. Everything was good but nothing really stands out (wouldn't suggest using it as a base for windhoek, just for the airport).

Food very nice (which was good because we didn't want to brave the track in the dark to get back into town)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
N London

"Relaxing start after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2015
"We only spent an afternoon at this lodge. Located about 5-min from the city, it has a nice view of a nearby mountain range.

It's a nice transition from a long trip onto a safari. Good food and welcoming staff.

The room is clean and nice, though a bit cold especially in the bathroom area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The L Family
Wilts

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2015
"We visited end July 2015 and stayed 1 night before heading home (as well as 1 night at the beginning of the holiday).

We stayed at River Crossing for the last night of our trip to Namibia having driven from Bullsport, after doing the excellent Quiver Tree trail. As with the first visit on the first night of our trip, River Crossing was comfortable with good service, great food and there was a beautiful sunset." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"A perfect first night."

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2015
"Very good staff.

Funny, friendly waitresses and good to talk to owner who provided a very useful tip re lost luggage (bags lost by BA) and sold us the idea of a holiday on horseback!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"Ideal for relaxing after the journey"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2015
"We receive a warm welcome from the staff who did all they could to make our brief stay comfortable.

Excellent views from the rooms and surrounding countryside good for bird life." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L Family
Wilts

"1st and last stop at River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2015
"We stayed mid July 2015 for 1 night at the beginning and one night at the end of our holiday.

River Crossing Is an easy 20 min drive from the airport, and close to Windhoek and easy to find just off the main road.

The lodges were fine, with a lovely view out over the mountains and sunsets over Windhoek. The food was good and the coffee machine made the best hot chocolate of our trip (according to our 14 year old connoisseur!).

On our 1st night is was very cold, but the lodges had air conditioning which provided heat as well." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr F & Ms E
USA

"Great safari and wonderful place"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2015
"River Crossing was a great lodge.

The common areas and rooms were well-appointed, with lots of charm and character. The staff were all wonderful and a pleasure to interact with. We loved the safari drive and saw a ton of animals including a herd of giraffes really up close. Great surroundings, and fantastic views from the pool deck and the rooms, and an easy drive into Windhoek.

The "driveway" from the main road to the lodge is long and in really bad shape. Not a lot to do in terms of activities, other than the safari, and horseback riding. I was hoping for hiking trails, but a staff person we asked said all we could do was the walk down to the stables. However, it's a perfect place to relax and spend some time in a wonderful setting." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms E
USA

"Great safari and wonderful place"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2015
"River Crossing was a great lodge.

The common areas and rooms were well-appointed, with lots of charm and character. The staff were all wonderful and a pleasure to interact with. We loved the safari drive and saw a ton of animals including a herd of giraffes really up close. Great surroundings, and fantastic views from the pool deck and the rooms, and an easy drive into Windhoek.

The "driveway" from the main road to the lodge is long and in really bad shape. Not a lot to do in terms of activities, other than the safari, and horseback riding. I was hoping for hiking trails, but a staff person we asked said all we could do was the walk down to the stables. However, it's a perfect place to relax and spend some time in a wonderful setting." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 126
81%
126 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
59
21
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (165 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa