This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

113 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwagusi Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwagusi Safari Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Eland

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 113
Duration
Arrival date
The W family
Ireland

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2010
"Everything about this sociable camp is authentic and first rate. The guides are enthusiastic and very well trained, the food is great, the bandas a delight. The location at a bend of Mwagusi sand river allows for lazy afternoon game viewing. Evenings under the stars are pure theatre.

Animals in Ruaha NP seem relaxed around vehicles. This means that the longer you stay the more interesting behaviours you will get to see. We stayed three nights and were sad to leave.

We all agreed that Mwagusi Camp was the highlight of our trip to Tanzania." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"Great rustic "in the bush" experience"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"Very relaxed, good game viewing - long game drives (9-10 hours a day)

One really felt like you were part of nature - elephants walking between the tents , lions in the river bed, bats & monkeys in the bathroom - great

Food was good but limited - basically one menu for each meal - not unreasonable given the remoteness. Every night was an evening alfresco dinner in the bush or in the river bed near the camp. Lit by lanterns and with a big fire - cooking was on hot coals.

Very informal - keen knowledgable guides - kids loved it." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Chippenham

"Traditional african safari in great setting."

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"Rooms had brilliant veiw but bathroom layout was too 'open' for us. No hot water to the basin but plenty to the shower.

Meal times ensured that guest mixed and it was great to talk through our days experiences. Good veiws of lions and one excellent view of leopard.

Dissapointed that we did not see the African dogs in the four nights we stayed at this camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Mwagusi - a great bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"We loved Mwagusi - an informal top quality African bush camp. You have the benefit of sleeping in a tent, combined with the luxury of a beautifully designed, spacious and private banda. We particularly liked the flexibility and the fact that Riaan or Kimberley (the managers) asked us each evening what we would like to do the next day. Even on our last morning we were offered 3 different options and provided with our own vehicle to allow a morning drive, return for breakfast and then a leisurely game drive to the airstrip to catch the 11.30 flight.

The guiding was excellent with both a guide (Daniel in our case) and a driver and the morning drives typically lasted 6 hours with a gorgeous breakfast (the cinnamon roll really is as good as its reputation!) and careful thought taken into which part of the park they would take us on each drive. The park is scenically dramatic and varied and we were lucky enough to see a wonderful variety of game, which was particularly dense around the Ruaha river.

Although we dont chose a camp based on its food, dinners at Mwagusi are a highlight and foster a terrific atmosphere in the camp, which is further enhanced by the presence of the owner Chris Fox.

My only criticism is that the camp undersells itself on its website, such an important influence on travellers today - I would recommend Mwagusi to anyone who wants to retain a real bush atmosphere and high quality guiding with a significant degree of comfort." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Channel Islands

"View to a kill"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"At first site this is a large camp, but you immediately feel at home, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Kimberley and Rianne were great hosts and Samson was an enthuastic guide.

The highlight of the stay was the seven hours spent watching a cheetah with two cubs, making 5 failed attenmpts stalking and hunting impala, before finally making a kill less than 300m away - truely widescreen viewing." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bristol

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"This was our next stop after having been at Selous. The landscape was quite different - more open , hotter.

The camp was excellent. The location overlooking a dried river bed was interesting - with elephants, jackal , monkeys wandering around ( and lion ).

The game viewing turned out to be even better than we had had in Selous. On our first drive , we made a rapid detour to see a leopard , photogenically perched in a tree. We then came across a large pride of lions, over 20 strong. On our second day , we encountered a mother cheetah with 2 cubs. Our guide ( Samson ) was sure it was hunting and we watched as it attempted on about 5 occasions to run down impala. This took some time and the camp brought out a packed lunch for us so that we could continue to watch. Just as it looked as if the cheetah would never succeed, it pursued and dragged down an impala - a grisly lunch for the cubs , right in front of us. All this goes to show is that the guiding here was excellent.

The accommodation was very comfortable. Each night , dinner was held a short distance from the camp , under the stars and next to a roaring fire. On the second night it was not only the fire that was roaring. We were dining in the dry sandy river bed and over coffee suddenly heard loud growling . The camp manager ( Rian ? - big South African - excellent) flashed his light to reveal about 6 lions prowling and looking straight at us about 75 yards away. We were very calmly ushered back to the camp , where the same lions , and the rest of the 20 strong pride were to wander through during the night, with very loud roaring. I was impressed with the professionalism of the staff. It sounds scary, but we didn't feel in danger and it was all rather exciting !" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs H
London

"Mwagusi - full of character"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2009
"One can feel that Mwagusi has grown over the decades as an owner-run camp, loads of character and and owner Chris makes an excellent host with plenty of stories to tell after over 20 years in Ruaha.

The best feature of the bandas may well be the sunken corner with big cushions - a great spot to relax and watch the action down in the sand river. Not that there wasn't plenty of wildlife outside the camp - guiding was excellent and one really noticed that each guide knows the different areas of the park very well.

In general, we really enjoyed the fact that Ruaha has such a varied landscape - everything from plains to wooded hills or rocky kopjes can be seen in good day's drive.

Dinner at Mwagusi is a real occassion - the camp has three different locations along (and in) the sand river which are lovingly decorated for dinner, making for a very special experience. While there were some issues around quantity at lunch, the food was fresh and of excellent quality." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Mwagusi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2009
"thank you annabelle and charlotte you are great. also sampson and moses and our super banda attendant.

what happens when the girls leave at the end of the season?:" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Twickenham

"Mwagusi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mwagusi, but overall we found the bandas very dark, you needed at least one more light in the bedroom area and probably more in the "wet" area - it was impossible to shave with the available light.

The size of the banda overall was amazing and the "entertainment" area which opened out on to the river bank was absolutely amazing - especially the double swing.

The public dining area was great and the concept of pre-prandial drinks round the camp fire led to convivial evenings.

The staff at the camp were excellent but were eclipsed by the brilliance of our guide who knew absolutely everything about absolutely everything to do with the park." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The E family
Sweden

"Mwagusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2008
"As activities we only went on Game drive. There were two incidents that we were disatisfied with. One morning there was a confusion about which guests were going in which Jeep for the game drive, this led to a delay of 45 minutes which was annoying since we got up very early in the morning to have an early morning game drive.

The second disappointment was that one afternoon we saw a Leopard hiding in the bush, it had caught an Impala and was hiding from us and waiting to go to it's food. We knew that the Leopard wasn't going to move as long as we were close by, the guide said that we should come back early tomorrow morning and see if the Leopard has gone up a tree with the Impala.

Thrilled and excited about this we went up bright and early the next morning only to find that we did not have the same guide to take us to the leopard, our guide from the evening before had explain where the leopard ought to be but still the new guide didn't get it right, no comment was made why we didn't receive the same guide as the night before.

Apart from that we always enjoy and appreciate it when the owner is also living in the camp, it adds alot of feeling and personality to the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 113
96%
113 reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa