This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

113 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwagusi Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwagusi Safari Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Eland

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 113
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Mwagusi Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2008
"Everywhere was very green and the area is beautiful and Ruaha has become my favourite place in Africa to date.

The guides were the best that I have come accross in my 12 or more safaris. Each guide had a driver/spotter and between them, they seemed to see everything. We were allocated to a vehicle each day and therefore we had 4 different guides over the 5 days. I did not like this idea at first but now I think it is good to experience the skills of diffent guides.

There were 4 large prides of lion numbering 14 or more in each pride. Good lion sightings were a daily event during my 5 nights there. We had an amazing sighting of 2 leopards in a tree followed by one of them climbing into a large tree where it stood for 20 minutes before we left it alone.

It was rare to see another vehicle and any of the game drives.
There was a large population of elephant which produced some of the best sightings that I have experienced.
I saw 4 wild dog, Klipspringer and Lesser Kudu for the first time.
The variety of birds was excellent which kept us busy identifying well over 100 species.

The packed breakfast was poor for a camp of this quality but it did not spoil the long morning drives.

It has become my favourite place and I must return to see the dry season when more large game are likely to come down to the river." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Mwagusi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2008
"Difficult to rate Mwagusi accurately because some parts were excellent but the Management was appalling.

The food was excellent and the guides were the best we encountered on the trip. The rooms were very nice and very spacious but in view of the number of biting insects around it was disappointing that the bathrooms were not protected from flying insects. The bathrooms had a potentially dangerous step and the solar heating did not seem to work well for the hot water.

We arrived in a cloudburst. We had to carry our own bags from the plane and while other groups were met with waterproofs and a closed in vehicle our vehicle was completely open and we and our luggage was only protected by black plastic sheets. The assistant manager who met the vehicle was very patronising (he was on a holiday job) and did not introduce himself until we asked him who he was.

The manager had an ear infection and appeared after a day and once again failed to introduce himself and was very resistant to making conversation. No one asked us what game drives or walks we would like to do and we were just bundled into a vehicle with other people. There was no mention of a gamewalk (which we had requested before we left the UK) (and we didn`t press it, because the weather was a bit unpredictable). When we gave batteries in to be charged they were returned 24 hours later uncharged and when we left, no member of management was there to see us off or to ask if we had a good time. The vehicle arrived 20 minutes late to take us to the airstrip (but every cloud has a silver lining because on the way to the plane a leopard crossed the track right in front of us!).

Overall, we felt that the camp was not run for the benefit of the guests and we felt that we were a bit of a nuisance. Other people staying at the camp shared our disappointment and on the flight we met 2 people who stayed at Jongomero - they had stayed at Mwagusi the year before and vowed not to go back because of the unpleasant atmosphere.

The laundry did not come back very clean.

It was a pity because in many respects it was an excellent experience and Ruaha is a beautiful Park." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"A fantastic introduction to Africa"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2008
"We had a wonderful time at Mwagusi and could not fault it. This was our first time on safari and in Africa. Charlotte and her team made us feel very welcome and immediately relaxed. It was such a peaceful camp in terms of human activity, with any noise coming only from the wildlife. We loved watching animals come and go from the dry river bed outside our banda. Although the days were quite structured (as seemingly with any safari), the emphasis was on what we wanted to do. I imagine that the fact that it was low season with very few guests may have helped. What really shone through was people's enthusiasm for Ruaha and the wildlife.

Guiding: The guiding was the best that we experienced. Our guide was Daniel and his spotting and knowledge was amazing. We will never forget the 2 separate leopard sightings and the sandgrouse that Daniel identified from their flight pattern when they were miles away before we saw them close up to know that he was spot on. We learnt so much and had some fantastic sightings. It was particularly good to have a separate guide and driver (thanks Moses).

People: All staff at the camp were friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Waiters in the UK could certainly learn a lot from the Mwagusi team who were efficient and helpful! The housekeeping staff kept our banda immaculate.

Accommodation: Our tent under the thatched banda was great. The verandah, tent and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean. In fact, the housekeeping was some of the best and most thorough we had experienced anywhere in the world. The bandas were much smarter and more polished than we had expected having seen the photos on the website. The laundry service worked really well and was very welcome as we had packed light. Despite all the interesting animal noises at night, I had some of the best sleep ever!

Food: The food was much better than we had expected, bearing in mind the remoteness of the camp. We enjoyed breakfasts in the bush on each drive with Daniel and Moses always taking us somewhere different. The cinnamon rolls were delicious and we thought the breakfast selection was good. As we were eating so much for other meals, we did not need a big breakfast. Lunch, afternoon tea/cakes and dinners were consistently good. There was a good selection and it always seemed very freshly prepared. The vegetable dishes were particularly tasty. Eating dinner under the stars in different locations around camp was a great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr L & Ms A
UK

"Excellent, authentic safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2008
"A fantastic first safari experience.

Comfortable banda accomodation - dotted spaciously along the dry river bed. Even though they are quite open, with daybeds & a hammock & the bathroom outside, it felt really private with bush separating each banda. The openness has the added advantage of making you feel very close to nature- waking up to see the animal parade which unfolds in front of you (or the munching of elephants eating the banda itself!).

We experienced really good quality guiding from Joffray- a real advantage of having a driver plus a guide was that the guide could concentrate on spotting. On several occasions there were quite long drives with few animals spotted before coming to another area where there was a greater density. Thought that the driving was careful and in-tune with guests wishes - allowing plenty of time for photos etc.

Meals were very sociable - especially of an evening, meeting around the campfire. It was a really relaxed, welcoming atmosphere - and Chris's willingness to share some of his stories and years of experience added to the experience. The variable locations and the beautiful set-up made each night memorable.

As others have written, drinks were an additional expense and it would have been nice to have had an idea of the cost (e.g. a price list in the room information) or just paid a little extra per day & have had them all included. As it was - our drinks bill for 3 nights for 2 people (a couple of beers per person per day) was about US $100.

One comment about the tipping - there was no 'staff box' in the office where the bill was settled - and the tip (which I had separated from the final drinks bill) was just tucked into the top pocket of one of the camp managers with the money for the drinks. It didn't give me any confidence that it would be shared out with the guides or other staff - rather that it was a handsome tip for one person." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Bourne

"Mwagusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"Very attractive and quirky accommodation - although would have liked netting across bathroom apertures to prevent insects when light on.

Food was absolutely outstanding - what a pity there was no fresh coffee. However the bush breakfast was a disappointment - both in terms of food and the lack of chairs and table. Sundowners ( except for one occasion) also disappointing.

Enjoyed the change of location for dinner under the stars. Camp manager ( Charlotte ) and Chris Fox made a great effort to mingle with guests and create happy atmosphere. Our guide - Samson - was exceptionally good.

Terrain - although lacking a river( full of water!!!) - was very varied and interesting.
We missed a swimming pool as a release from heat , having come from Impala." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B Dorset
UK

"Great camp location, scenery and game."

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2008
"Magwusi is a great place to stay and we will probably return one day. The scenery, game and general location were really good. Our room was very comfortable in a beautiful location, with a wonderful view.

Over the 4 days we saw many animals/birds from our room/balcony. One very bad point which annoyed us and our fellow guests was that there was no 'drinks price list'. The drinks were quite expensive. I think this the first place I have ever stayed where there was no price list! We dicussed this locally to no avail." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr J
London

"Charming Mwagusi"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"Generally a good stay but one got the feeling that some supplies were running a bit low. Meals tended to be 4/5 different vegetable dishes and a very small amount of meat: perhaps more healthy than we had expected!

Standard of guiding was generally OK but we sometimes felt that guides were too eager to call their colleagues when they found a cat so that everyone could come and join the fun. This was OK with lions but we had to insist on leaving a cheetah which the guide said was shy but was actually quite stressed by being followed.

We would have preferred an all inclusive price: drinks proved surprisingly expensive and the prices didn't seem to be advertised." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
E Sussex

"Mwagusi a magnificant location"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"Drive quality depended on which guide was driving. Samuel was very good and with him we saw lion leopard and cheetah within 24 hours plus of course many other animals and birds.

The drinks at Mwagusi were twice the price of anywhere else and had to pay for water over and above the first bottle" See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
Bromley

"Mwagusi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Mwagusi is a fantastic safari camp, we really loved it here. It was a good contrast to our stay in Lake Manze (Selous) and the accommodation proved a step up from the latter, with more space in the tents and a gorgeous outdoor private seating area overlooking the dry river bed from which we could watch elephants, baboons and giraffes walking through.

You don't get the option of a boat safari here but I think that's the case for the Ruaha in general. However, the bush here is very different to the Selous so the wildlife is really varied and there's even a chance of spotting cheetah (we weren't so lucky!).

Charlotte and the team at Mwagusi were really welcoming, the food was fantastic and varied, and we loved the evening mealtimes for the experience of sitting in the dry riverbed or in the bush surrounded by hanging hurricane lamps and log fires!

An experience we'll never forget, thank you." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"A fabulous intro to safaris at Mwagusi"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"Felt very close to nature. Very attentive and well trained staff. Good guiding. Well managed. Being a National Park, Ruaha has many pluses. In particualr wild life seems much less fearful of humans.

The food was very good and dining in the open air at night was a great experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 91-100 of 113
96%
113 reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa