This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 41-50 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Great place to finish our trip"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"We really enjoyed the Avani. From animals in the grounds, including a croc! to eating at the Royal Livingstone we had a great couple of days. It was a shame we were visiting Victoria Falls in low season as the main Zambezi river flow goes over on the Zimbabwe side. However we took a helicopter ride over the Falls and this was a great way to see them without involving border check points, passports, park entry fees etc.

Food was good and served buffet style with plenty of choice, and our room was equally good. We would stay here again if coming back to Victoria Falls." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J & A
UK

"Close to Victoria Falls."

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.

The rooms were large, newly decorated and set in well attended and spacious grounds. The public rooms were also well furnished and inviting, the pool large and well maintained.

Food was excellent and the variety at the buffet breakfast was second to none, look out for the waffle station!

The walk to the falls is easy and zebras, antelope and monkeys wander freely in the spacious grounds which are maintained to a high standard.

The free shuttle service to the Royal Livingstone hotel is worth taking and the approach to the falls are seen from a different aspect.

Staff are attentive and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Boston

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Very well located, the former Zambezi Sun is a good choice if you want to be right next to the Falls. A little touristy, and Disney like, with animals roaming the grounds and lots of family travelers.

The rooms are nothing special, but they're all you need, and are kind of fun the way they are decorated. Good food as well. But it's really about the location for this hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
David
Hales

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2016
"This was a great way to finish off the trip, easing us out of the bush and, as promised, the entrance to the Falls was a stones throw from the exit from the hotel grounds.

The Falls themselves were great - we made two 2h visits and still didn't cover it all.

The hotel was just what we wanted with good food and no need to go anywhere else (we'd had enough driving) plus the odd antelope on the lawns." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
Boulder

"Great location and service for a family"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"We enjoyed the location and the whole experience was wonderful.

The only thing that would have made it more comfortable is if they had outdoor heaters at the pool restaurant. It got quite chilly in the evenings and we would have enjoyed our dinners more if we were warmer." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr W & Dr J
Victoria

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"The best thing about Avani Victoria Falls is the location enabling you to visit the falls as often as you wish." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Saratoga Springs

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2016
"Fantastic location and very good service. Being inside the park and with the short walk to Victoria Falls, we were able to conduct multiple trips to the various trails within the Falls area. Staff were very attentive and welcoming.

As an example, when I realized I had left my fleece on the transport to the hotel a staff member - who assisted us with our bags - quickly called the transport driver who returned to the hotel and provided the fleece. The staff in both the restaurant and bar areas warmly greeted us and efficiently served our requested beverages and drinks.

Our only disappointment was the cost of the dinner buffet the one evening we chose to dine in the restaurant. Although there was an abundance and variety of foods, our appetites did not warrant such an expense. Overall a solid recommendation." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Msrvp
harrow

"Very comfortable, great location"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"Staff were accommodating when we asked for a room change as we wished for a different view.

The dinner buffet had a range of choices and the food was good.

Very east to walk to the falls. Staff were very pleasant." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Top Cat
bristol

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2016
"A great base for the Falls - which could be visited as often as one wanted.

Bar food excellent and really good value. Well worth the walk along the Zambezi to the Royal Livingstone for sundowners and hippos!

A relaxing end to the safari - didn't have to set the alarm!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Norfolk

"2 days r&r"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Very nice hotel. Comfortable and good food.

Only downside was that we had booked two rooms and these turned out to be at opposite ends of the corridor. My sister was by herself and felt uncomfortable being so far away so we had to ask for a room closer to ours. This was organised but it seemed odd that they had initially given us rooms so far apart - especially as the hotel was quite empty and they managed to find a room two doors down." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa