This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Emerson Spice

Reviews of Emerson Spice

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Emerson Spice and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Two 1 night stays"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"The Emerson Spice is a very good renovation of an old Stone Town merchants house. The rooms are brilliantly well decorated in the old style but have all the facilities. The staff are very helpful.

Located in the old town and arriving late at night we were a bit culture shocked (having just come off a safari camp) by the walk from the nearest parking area to the hotel through the unlit small alleyways ('roads') to get to the hotel But all looked good the next morning. On our 2nd 1 night visit, we were able to absorb the atmosphere of Stone Town and enjoy the experience of Zanzibar and this hotel.

By the way, there are quite a few stairs in this hotel and no lift. If you have a medical condition, order breakfast in your room as it is served on the roof.

We also had dinner here - relatively expensive tasting menu - although OK it is far from the best tasting menu we have had. However, with my wife's tum having a tendency to get upset very easily, we were pleased we did not have to go out and search the local restaurants." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C.
Horsham

"a characterful but noisy hotel"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"The room was spacious and beautiful. The facilities in the room were good. It faced onto the street and was very noisy. We had dinner on the roof which was excellent. Breakfast on the balcony which was a little sparse." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
R & J
Richmond Hill

"Emerson Spice review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"A very interesting and unique hotel. The rooms are decorated in local colours and are quite comfortable. Difficult to get to since no vehicles are allowed in Stonetown but this is part of the charm." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Leatherhead

"Beautiful Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"Emerson Spice is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of Stone Town. Our room was incredible, the children were so excited to find the spiral staircase up to their beds. Amazing architecture and furniture, you rightly feel like you are in another world.

We ate in both the Tea House restaurant on the roof (wonderful food but probably too sophisticated for the kids) and the Secret Garden, which was our favourite area of the hotel. We enjoyed two fantastic lunches here.

One slight negative, was the noise from the shops below, which is to be expected in Stone Town, but started very early, even before the call to prayer, so we were often woken at 4am. Obviously the hotel have no control over this, but it should be kept in mind if you plan to book (the hotel did provide ear plugs!)." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Historic Hotel Emerson Spice"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"Old Merchant house, interesting but didn't feel clean.
We had a superb room (Kate), top floor (no lift), but two balconies, with great views.
Restaurant at the top had superb views of the town plus we had the 5 course dinner which was excellent.
Very noisy mosques at 5am." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms W
Kenora

"Highly recommend more than a one night stay!"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2017
"We loved this place from the moment we first caught sight of this incredible structure as we made our way through the twisted alley-streets of Stone Town. i think it is perfectly located in the middle of everything but not noisy at all as there is no car traffic. We were graciously received by the manager and staff and escorted to our room with luggage assistance. We were in absolute awe of this grand old building and it's history. I would say a truly "shabby chic" decor which fits perfectly with the vintage of the structure and makes it so comfortable.

We had a huge room with 2 comfortable double beds with superb linens, a full bath with 2 sinks an amazing stone tub/shower, a lounge area, as well as two outside decks overlooking the streets. One night's stay was not enough to really soak up the ambience of this hotel. The manager was very attentive and helpful as were all the rest of the staff.

i highly recommend including this hotel in your Zanzibar adventure but stay more than one night!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
france

"Atmospheric stay at Emerson Spice"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Felt like we were experiencing the real Zanzibar, hotel was very atmospheric having maintained it's original character and architecture.

The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was fabulous!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Highgate

"Atmospheric Emerson Spice"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2017
"My wife and I stayed at Emerson Spice for a couple of nights between safari and beach.

It's in the heart of Stonetown, so we had to carry our bags with the taxi driver from the car park at the edge of town (5 mins walk). The market was heaving and there's stray cats, kids chasing balls, scooters and bikes hurtling around the lanes around the hotel - so it might not be to everyone's taste for a relaxing break.

Interior design is stunning. Almost every room is like a film set and almost every photo you take could grace an interior design coffee-table book. Our room 'Belle' didn't let the stylist down - as it had an ornate four poster bed with drapes, carefully chosen antique furniture, an open-plan shower/bath in the corner, a first edition old guide to Zanzibar on the table, and imposing wooden shutters that opened out onto a balcony that was capped with a love-swing (at least I think that's what it's called...).

The room looked out onto the street corner - so you could see and hear the comings and goings of local life. Although it was Ramadan, when we were there, so we had to close the curtains on the outside of the balcony so nobody could see us drink the complimentary bubbly!

Food-wise, breakfast was delicious both days on the roof terrace and the breakfast waiter was full of smiles. In the evening, we had a tasty seafood dinner in the secret garden - which was an enchanting and romantic spot.

Wi-fi was slow and service was male-dominated with no women in attendance as far as we could see - but we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a characterful stay in an equally characterful town." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
EBL
Brookline

"Emerson Spice Stone Town"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"After days in the wild it was a bit of a shock to land in steamy, crowded Stone town.

Emerson Spice was the perfect location to "hide" and observe until you're ready to plunge into the narrow streets. An old merchant's house that has been authentically updated with unique rooms, we had a wonderful breeze, a hammam on our balcony, and two large canopied beds. The hotel is built on 5 floors so climbing is a must and the rooftop restaurant is one of the best in town.

Lovely sunset drinks and breakfast with a breeze and a view. The garden restaurant in a small atmospheric courtyard is also wonderful. Our A/C would get cranky and noisy at night, but that was not a big deal. Very beautiful hotel with lovely details and an attentive staff. Note that you can't drive to the hotel, but must park a few blocks away near the market. The streets are too narrow for cars." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Traveller1003
UK

"Full of character"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2017
"Very nice traditional style hotel and even had air conditioning. The rooms were beautifully decorated and each one seemed to be unique.

The taster menu at sunset was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

You do have to walk a little way to get there as the area is pedestrianised (except for motor bikes)." See all these reviews: 13n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 26
91%
26 reviews of Emerson Spice by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


91% (63 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


84% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (50 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


82% (19 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (11 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (7 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa