This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp


19°45’42.7"S 13°57’38.9"E

Reviews of Etendeka Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Etendeka Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Etendeka Camp.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Family B
Hampshire

"Surpassed expectations"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Probably as a result of the rain earlier in 2011, we were very glad we had a 4 wheel drive to get from Doro Nawas to Palmwag, and later on over the Grootberg pass, although the latter was not as bad. Much of the road to Palmwag is temporarily repaired, and there are one or two quite stepped river crossings. I think Expert Africa definitely should recommend 4wd for anyone going to this area and Dennis at Etendeka reinforced that view.

Etendeka is simply wonderful from the drive in onwards. There was much more wildlife than we expected. The scenery is incomparable. The guiding is top class, the place imaculate, the food simple but really tasty and plentiful with very good salads at lunch and delicious puddings at dinner. Bonnie and Denis are excellent hosts and the tents are very comfortable even for a non-camper like me. The bucket showers are great fun Walikng in the morning through lovely scenery and afternoon game drives were excellent. The only slight downside was that our second morning's walk, although on a different route from the first, was a bit repetitive for the benefit of newcomers, but I guess that is to be expected. You can walk around on your own in between times.

All in all, we were really looking forward to Etendeka, and it was even better than expected. If we go to Namibia again, this would certainly be a place we would visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2011
"A unique and delightful experience!

Due to the dot on the map we were expecting Palmwag to be a town of some size - ha ha ha! The fence preventing the transport of farm animals was a surprise but the guards were pleasant and let us across to Palmwag Lodge for a drink as we arrived early. We filled up with petrol at the filling pumps.

Bonnie was at the collection spot when we returned so we parked in the secure parking and transferred over to his vehicle for the 1 1/2 hour trip to the Lodge. This drive turned out to be a lovely bonus game drive. The camp is really in the middle of nowhere with some lovely scenery surrounding it. The basic tents have been renewed and are larger than previously with comfortable beds and an outdoor bucket shower that works very well and is great fun besides!

Beer, wine and soft drinks are included and the supplied water is drinkable. You are given water bottles to keep for the duration of your visit that you fill up from the chilled water dispenser in the dining area.

The dining area lacks a little character but is due to be upgraded in the near future. The food was simple and delicious.

We went on a walk with Bonnie in the morning which was very enjoyable. I had been worried about this due to a recent knee replacement but the walk was interesting and relatively gentle. Everyone is given a walking stick just to aid with stability on some of the rockier parts.

The game drive in the afternoon with Dennis was informative and fascinating even though the elephants were not in the area. We saw a wide variety of game and heard lions and hyaena during the night as well as having zebra and Springbok around our tent. We saw a variety of game on the way out as well.

Dennis and Bonnie are laid-back gentlemen and provide a relaxed, informative stay with no frills but ample comfort and delightful conversation.

A truly wonderful experience that I am so glad Tracey suggested so strongly. It would have been a poorer trip if we missed this stop." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"This was one of our favourite places. It may not be the most luxurious camp but what they do, they do extremely well.

The food was wholesome and delicious - some of the best we tasted on our trip. The tents were very comfortable and we were made to feel extremely welcome.

The beauty of Etendeka is its location in the middle of nowhere. Don't expect to see an abundance of wildlife here - come for the solitude. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hants

"Great experience in remote setting"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Very experienced,enthusiatic and dedicated owner Dennis, asst manager Bonnie, supported by good staff.

Walks and safari drives very enjoyable and informative in amazing environment.

Food was outstanding, homemade and could be on a menu in a quality restaurant. They also catered well for a vegetarian.
We were well looked after and even enjoyed the bucket showers." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D & Dr U
UK

"Great stay at Etendeka"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Absolutely beautiful location with breathtaking views, very good guides with great local knowledge, loved the stargazing.

Also great to be able to go out on unguided walks. And bucket showers are suprisingly good :)" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms S & family
Stroud

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2011
"A fabulous stay - one of our holiday highlights. Impressive hospitality, top marks on 'green' creditentials, great activities organised by Bonnie. Would liked to have stayed longer!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"A fantastic wilderness experience"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2011
"We were lucky to be the only guests at Etendeka and so had exclusive guided walks and drives, accompanied by the very knowledgeable Bonnie. Although Etendeka is quite expensive, with the 2 x 1.5 hour "nature" drives from the pick up point to the camp, the guided walk and the official nature drive, it is good value. The setting is remote and beautiful and a great place to chill out. The outside bucket shower was great, but not to be attempted early morning in the winter!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Etendeka- the real wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2011
"Wow. This place felt really off the beaten track. It took some time to get to but it was very much worth it. It felt like being out in the true wilderness, with nothing but rolling hills (and desert elephant) around you, and nothing but sky above you (and what a sky it was!). Dennis, the owner, gave us a great welcome. Great story telling and a bit of astromomy in the evenings by the fire. We are so happy to have experienced Etendeka and would love to return." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"Tented room very comfortable in a stunning setting. Nice to see a very sustainable approach to tourist accomodation. Excellent food. Saw little of the staff, but those we did see were helpful. Interesting and informative walk and game drive." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Great setting.

Very knowledgable owner/guide.

Plenty of wildlife." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 110
96%
110 reviews of Etendeka Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (127 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa