This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp


19°45’42.7"S 13°57’38.9"E

Reviews of Etendeka Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Etendeka Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Etendeka Camp.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Family trip
UK

"Etendeka is a great wilderness experience"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2012
"As a wilderness experience Etendeka is absolutely brilliant and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The freshly home-cooked food deserves a mention too.

Just a couple of comments:-

(1) The small jeep is not really adequate to be used on a game drive for six people - it was really most uncomfortable

(2) Having contacted Etendeka ourselves prior to the trip to advise a birthday of one of our party while staying there, they were kind enough to lay on a bottle of celebratory sparkling wine at dinner, but the surprise rather back-fired as the guide let the cat out of the bag by mentioning this on the drive in to the camp, but was muddled up about whose birthday it really was which spoiled the occasion somewhat." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Close to nature at Etendeka"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"We waited for more than an hour and a half after the designated meeting time for a couple who never arrived which was a little frustrating but it meant that we traveled the 14 km to the camp as the sun was setting so in better light conditions.

That was the only minus point in an excellent three days. We were taken out by Denis Liebenberg himself as he had given his normal guide a few days off. And as entertaining and informative a guide as you could ever wish for. His knowledge of the area is encyclopaedic but even he was surprised to see a group of Eland; an animal had had never seen there in all his twenty years of holding the concession.

The day is organised with a trek in the morning and a drive in the afternoon. One day' stay would be too short, two days just right but if you were there for three days then I think you would probably be repeating the terrain you covered on day one. The area is full of animals and birds including the rare long beaked lark and a walk up the mountain with the ground covered in semi precious minerals and crystals was an eye opener.

Dining is at a long able with other guests including during our time there Denis, his wife and son. It was a time to discuss the day's activities and to learn more about the country and its people. Denis claims that his he only has four day's worth of menus so was a little worried as an English couple,father and daughter, had booked in to spend a week there so he was looking for three more recipes! When you think that his nearest shop is 140 km away he has to make sure that nothing is forgotten on his weekly shopping trip.

Accommodation is extremely comfortable in safari tents with an outside bucket shower and one goes to sleep with the sound of zebra chomping outside or the mournful cry of a distant hyena. On first morning we woke to find that a there had been a leopard kill a few yards from the complex so the second night Denis set a camera trap and the following morning we were treated to images of a large female leopard devouring the hind quartets of a springbok.

I don't think that one could get a better understanding of the geology and wildlife of Northern Damaraland anywhere else." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Geology and giraffes"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"We loved this camp - be aware that walking is an integral part of the experience (but the walks are not hard, although the rocks require a decent pair of walking shoes for comfort). The guiding was excellent. The food superb. The tents are exactly what I wanted for this camp (bucket showers are part of the fun!). Our only error was to not carry shampoo (most camps provide and ask you to use their own product) - washing your hair with soap is a little odd.

We saw far more animals than I expected, it seemed there was a giraffe behind every bush!

This camp is on my list of 'must re-visit'.

Note for new visitors: As for most desert areas, there is no laundry at this camp due to limited water." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Lechdale

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"The facilities, food & activities were all great, however, felt the overall experience was slightly less brilliant than other experiences.

Would, perhaps, have liked more interaction with all the staff" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F & Mr A
London

"Etendeka was a real highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"Our visit to Etendeka was one of the highlights of the trip. We were there for 2 nights, and could happily have stayed longer.

Etendeka has probably the smallest human footprint of anywhere we have stayed outside back country campgrounds. But Dennis and his team provide everything their guests need, with gentleness and good humour.

Dennis' long-term knowledge of the area was illuminating, and we appreciated being able to quiz him on the local environment and culture. Ivan is also an entertaining and knowledgeable guide. I doubt we will ever forget what we learned about oryx droppings... (and I mean that in a good way).

We loved the design of the new communal areas, minimal but restful, and making great use of the local rocks. And we enjoyed the simplicity of the bedroom tents (with views of the Hartmann's mountain zebras in the distance). The outdoor bucket showers are liberating!

Oh, and Dennis mixes an excellent gin and tonic." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"A beautiful location and experience. Amazing to get so close to mountain zebra and we were even lucky enough to see a black rhino (the first our guide had seen in 5 months. there...)

Very cold on the second night - made the bucket showers interesting

The road there and in particular the Grootberg pass was very slippery - a bit scary when trying to make the 4pm deadline and it wasn't clear on the map that the last 121km is gravel...." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"A Real Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"The pick up worked well from Palmwag at the vet fence [ see instructions in Chris McIntyre's book] Dennis then drove us the 1 1/2 hours to the camp, Set in the most spectacular scenery surrounded by mountains. The camp illustrates Dennis's commitment to a sustainable way of life.

The activities include a 3 1/2 hour morning walk which is energetic but worth every minute and an afternoon drive.There is plenty of game to see.and takes you even further into the mountains.

We loved our tent and the bucket shower which worked well. Every one was very helpful and Dennis and Ivan very knowledgeable.

You need at least 2-3 nights here.
Not a place to go in the winter." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Sidcup

"Very interesting - Etendeka Mountain camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2011
"This was a very different experience to the other camps that we had visited. The scenery was stunning and I'm glad that we went there.

The wildlife is not as prolific as in other areas but we still saw a lot. Due to problems with my knee we didn't do the long morning walk but did a comfortable stroll around the area, it was very interesting.

The food is uncomplicated and filling. the staff are very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sheffield x 4
UK

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"What an expereince! The service was outstanding and every need was catered for. Great attention to detail from iced water or juice permanently on tap to your own water bottle for trips! There was even a thermos of water in the tent.

At no time did I feel one of a long line of guests; the hosts were friendly and interested in everyone and keen to follow up individual interests.

It was an education to see how they managed their environment." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
AB
Essex

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Dennis and his father - in - law Mick should be given a medal for their hospitality, conviviality, knowledge and general kindheartedness. They looked after Judy and I and cured our stomach bug with their bush remedies and humour.

Our guide Bonny is to be commended - so knowledgable and all learned though self teaching - incredible - think some-one should pay for him to go and learn more [ he could teach the teachers heaps].

Tho basic - it was definitely a place we would all return to - marvellous" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 61-70 of 110
96%
110 reviews of Etendeka Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa