This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms E
France

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"This hotel was amazing - the facilities were modern, with beautiful decor. The staff were also so welcoming and hospitable.

We went on afternoon rides both evenings we were there and really enjoyed all of the guides (especially Richel). It was my husband's birthday while we were there and they set up our bed on the room of our lodge so we could fall asleep under the stars. They also prepared him a big birthday cake and made a big celebration for him with all of the staff members, dancing and singing in the local language.

It was very nice that it was all inclusive and we really enjoyed our final ride visiting the dunes our last morning." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

4 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"2 nights at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Excellent location. Busy lodge. Very photogenic area (Sossusvlei and Deadvlei). Pleasant guiding by Castro. For me the highlight was the ballooning! " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

D & K
Texas

"Wonderful Guide and Staff"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2018
"The accommodations were excellent, the food was great and the staff friendly and very helpful. This was a larger place than we usually stay in, but the layout and staff made it felt like a smaller, more intimate camp. When we had electrical problems with our equipment, the staff was responsive, diligent and helpful.

There was a big sandstorm across the area that disrupted travel and local activities and deposited dust on everything. The staff did an amazing job of cleaning and restoring the camp to its normal state. Additionally, the guide and staff re-arranged our schedule and we were able to experience all the activities we planned before we left.

After being delayed twice by weather, we took our incredible balloon ride the morning of our departure. We're very glad we booked 3 nights or we wouldn't have been able to do all our planned activities." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"Perfect isolation"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Wonderful lodge to feel remote and cut off from the outside world.

Food was excellent and the decked area was a lovely spot to watch the sun go down.

Rooms were great although very cold at night, definitely worth wrapping up warm.

Breakfast was a little hectic when the tours were eating." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr S
UK

"Incredible place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2018
"Lodge is stunning and all of the staff and guides are excellent. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Great vibe at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"This place has a great atmosphere. We had a very warm welcome, appreciated the relaxed atmosphere, enjoyed the friendly smiling and helpful staff, and of course loved the staff singing.

Our guide was most considerate only talking to us when he had stopped the vehicle.

We would have loved to have had the option of a sundowner experience at the lodge itself, and the option of a guided walk, if that had fitted with other guests. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Alstonville

"Scenic spot with good access to big dunes."

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2018
"Interesting architecture in the desert. Good excursions to big dunes and elsewhere." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs T
Reading

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"Absolutely delightful, tremendously warm welcome again with a team who couldn't do enough.

Loved the trip to Sossevlei just disappointed by how many other people were there too.

Would happily have paid to get ahead of the rush and have the dunes to ourselves!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

CathyO
Glasgow

"fantastic place "

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2018
"we were met by friendly staff with a drink and cold wet towels and that really set the tone for our stay.

Magical experience when we were entertained by the staff singing and dancing for us after the dinner. Lovely setting in the middle of the desert.

The private entrance to the dunes with an excellent guide was great which was actually better than driving ourselves as we expected." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Lovely time at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2018
"Very nice rooms and great service. The view over the dunes was marvellous.

The access road was a bit longer than we expected.

We didn't go on any organized activities (quite expensive and not ideal with small children), but the lodge is conveniently located to visit the dunes yourself." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Showing 31-40 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa