This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

50% success

Eland

25% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-69 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Perfect first night in namibia"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"We wished we had longer here, it was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The food was superb." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Water dikkops
Calgary

"great!"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"Great place! You suggested this place for our needs (ie nice country stay to get over jet lag in a nice place to get a feel for the country. PERFECT!! and thanks for this!

From the books there are now new owners, not that it matters. The new manager, Bennie , was a great host! Very friendly, very nice. Gave us his card and said to call him anywhere, anytime if we have any kind of issues! Can't get better than this.

OOOOOOOOOO but THIS is important!!!!!!!!! We read nowhere in the Lonely Planet nor Brants guides that there is no heat in any of the Lodges in this country (maybe it is in there but we didn't remember seeing it). This was a bit of an issue. When we got there they were in a bit of a cold weather snap. It was about -5 at night. Being Canadians we have TONS of cold weather gear but didn't bring stuff for temps like this. We had to go buy fleese jackets in Windhoek.

Related to this, they have a great "hot" tub, which would have been nice to use, however they kept the temp so low it was like a cold pool! We didn't use it." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Artist
Connecticut

"best place before going home"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2008
"perfect place to chill out after the safari
fab food

great service and charm
wonderful pool and jacuzzi

snakes in the garden ...watch out [puffadder]" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Photographer
IOM

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 27 Feb 2008
"Nice restful place to end the trip. Very attractive design." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr I
Combs

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 30 Dec 2007
"Kate is a great asset. We stayed 4 years ago and it was fine, but the food is now excellent and Kate is a wonderful host." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"The whole business of getting through the airport at Windhoek and picking up the Europcar rental went very smoothly - although we had to remind them to provide the extra spare tyre. The car was in very good condition indeed.

The 64 km gravel road drive to Eningu went well enough but it was a firm reminder that we had another 2000 plus kilometres of this kind of road ahead of us!

The welcome at Eningu was very warm indeed. We were instantly offered refreshments as our bags were taken to our room. It provided a much needed respite after what was a long and rather boring Air Namibia flight - the poor in-flight entertainment didn't help!
We liked Eningu a lot, wonderful food, a comfortable room and a chance to go for a walk. We also saw porcupines!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Aardvark
uk

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Attractive set-up. Welcoming, witty owner and friendly staff.

Accommodation good tho' bedroom too full of bric-a-brac for our tastes! Pool excellent

Food and wine good. Good library for German-speakers.

No game guides but excellent walking network. game distinctly wary and hard to get to grips with but appeared to be fair variety. Birding good. Camp waterhole would benefit from cutting back vegetation which obscures much of it from view." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"friendly stay at Eningu clayhouse"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"We were really lucky to arrive at the eningu clayhouse during the first rains since march so everyone was in high spirits! Hard to beat drinking a glass of cold white wine while sitting in a jacuzzi surrounded by the desert, and followed by a really delicious dinner cooked by the chef named doctor!

The rooms are really comfortable and the use of clay is really clever. Its location is fabulous, so close to the airport, and so we wish kate, the lodge owner, all the best for the future." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"Last day in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"This lodge was not at all as we had expected although the really cold weather did not help.

The other guests were all Germans who had been on a trip and this was their rest for 2/3 days so they were quite miserable - not much fun lying round the pool in scarves and fleeces.

The food was probably the worst of the trip. We left at 10am and went to Daan Viljoen Game Park which turned out to be a nice end to the holiday. On reflection we would have missed out on Eningu." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Showing 61-69 of 69
90%
69 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
25
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (195 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


91% (48 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (46 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (4 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa