This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 251-260 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G & W
Surrey

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"Whilst the room and bedding were clean, we found the place a little austere and not as welcoming as we would have liked.

The pool looked dirty and not very inviting." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr G & Mrs G
Ireland

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"This was our first stop in Namibia. The accomodation was very comfortable, staff very professional and friendly and dinner was excellent - Great place to start the holiday after a long journey from Ireland.

We didn't take part in any activities at Olive Grove so that is why I have ticked 'no comment below'." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"Great place to start or end your visit to Namibia.

Found the jacuzzi most relaxing after a long flight - especially with the complimentary glass of champagne! Unfortunately no time to sample the spa. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Free internet access was also a bonus." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Mrs V
Essex

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"The room was very comfortable, the food very good and the staff extremely helpful." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"Ideal last stop"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"Unfair to comment as this was our last night and after Okonjima nothing would compare!

However this is a nice place to end the holiday, convenient for the airport and they serve dinner if you don't want to go into Windhoek. Excellent breakfast choice with selection of home made breads etc however dinner was slightly disappointing.

Olive Grove was a relaxing place and the staff were very helpful and friendly - they helped to confirm our flights etc." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Olive Grove a tranquil haven"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"As soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were happy to organise everything for us.

The room was lovely, with some really nice personal touches. The food was also of a very high standard, our only regret was that we didn't eat there that evening as we went to Joe's bar.

Breakfast offered a very wide range and the veggies in our party were totally catered for. Transfers from one place to another ran very smoothly. An excellent start to our adventure." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs P
Holland

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"We chose Olive Grove as our place to recover from the flights.

It was more than just a stop-over; our holidays started from the moment we got in. Nice entourage and good food." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Brief overnight Stop."

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2010
"This was a comfortable stop for our brief overnighter." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"A great first night, lovely room and food. We really needed this after a dreadful experience with Budget cars!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Finale at Olive Grove Guest House"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2010
"Please note this is about OLIVE GROVE not Okonjima which is on previous page.
Location was in a pleasant leafy suburb but a trip into town required a ride in the hotel's shuttle at £9 return. Although an attractive house, the minimalist decor seemed rather bleak in the winter climate though they did provide a welcome hot water bottle. Food was mostly excellent apart from a disastrous so called chicken breast which was completely uncuttable and inedible. Service was friendly and efficient" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 251-260 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa