This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 261-270 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"As before"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2010
"Helpful staff. A good base to start or finish a trip.

Thoroughly recommend Joe's Beerhouse for dinner and the Namibia Craft Centre for coffee/tea/snack." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"A good relaxing place to start and finish"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2010
"Very warm welcome, extremely helpful staff,

Rooms that open directly onto the dining area are okay but not perfect especially when other guests get quite noisy especially later in the evening. Had one very noisy night there.

Otherwise loved it and on our return journey we were upgraded to an upstairs room, which was wonderful and we were really grateful. And would go back." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Mr L
Kent

"Olive Grove review 2"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2010
"Please see the first review. [Ed: see below!]" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

E & D
New Mexico

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2010
"Just as good at the end as the beginning. We went into Windhoek on our final day and can highly recommend a visit to the Craft Centre." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Mr L
Kent

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2010
"Location was good both for the airport and heading up country. The service was friendly, the team there made you feel welcome and were helpful on local matters.

The rooms were fine, and the food good." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2010
"We loved the simple but classy details of the room (bathrobes, nice soaps, deep tubs, fine linens) and the service was excellent. Staff was very welcoming and on the spot to help with any needs.

I loved that it felt like we were staying in a friend's country home, with the kitchen immediately adjacent to the dining area.

Quiet for being so near to the heart of Windhoek. We only went into Windhoek on our last day but found it to be pleasant and easy to explore - especially the Craft Centre. We happily spent the last of our Namibian dollars there and felt it was very good value." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2010
"Our first impressions of Namibia were made all the more positive by the warm and friendly welcome we received at the Olive Grove Guest House. The quality of the accommodation is excellent and really helped us unwind after long journeys. We decided to stay and eat in house the first night which again was first class.

It felt like we were in a little oasis of calm that got us ready for our adventure ahead. The staff were very informative and positive which again reinforced our feelings of excitement of what was to follow in the coming weeks." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms W
London

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 25 Dec 2009
"Room was stunning, staff helpful and friendly, food excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2009
"was ideal start point after arriving in windhoek by plane around 16h30-
Rooms & staff very good.- Dinner was also very good.
2 nights was ideal stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 261-270 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


90% (4 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa