This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel

Reviews of Vineyard Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vineyard Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"We Enjoyed Our Stay Here"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"A very attractive hotel in a pleasant location.

Some lovely pieces of antique furniture in the public areas and beautiful gardens, complete with a large tortoise. Very good service. Excellent breakfasts and evening meals were good too, with a choice of restaurants. The room opened on to a courtyard garden and was very quiet. Our only criticism is that the decor looked a little tired and there were no bedside lights. We commented on the lack of reading lights when leaving and were told that the room was shortly to be refurbished." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"Lovely hotel with really good food. On the first night there was a wine comparison dinner and they let us join in. The prices were quite reasonable too.

There is WiFi in the rooms but not free." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Ms S
London

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2012
"We were fairly disappointed on arrival as the room was terribly cold and not furnished to our expectations. The lighting was poor and the room is constructed with a see through bathroom in the middle - somewhat unusual.

There were rooms on our floor in the middle of refurbishment, hence we experienced building works from early morning to late afternoon. However, the garden and food/service at the hotel was very good." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms T
UK

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"This was a good place to start our trip - service and food was good." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S R
London

"An ideal location in Cape Town"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"I first thought that we were too far out of the city but it was ideal for visiting all parts eg botanical gardens, Table Mountain and Victoria Quay. The staff were very helpful about arranging taxis for us as we did not want to drive.

Breakfast was good ( we did not have dinner there ).
Gardens lovely and well maintained." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2010
"Wow! This is a gorgeous hotel - which has all the benefits of being a modern, well equipped facility, supported by plenty of "old world charm"!

We spent 3 nights here, and were upgraded on arrival to the newly completed wing of the hotel. The food was excellent - both in the main hotel restaurant, and in the concession next door - and very reasonably priced, with an excellent selection of wines. The spa facilities too are lovely, so it's worth finding a couple of hours to pamper yourself whilst you're here!

Afternoon tea, sat outside in the garden, in the shade of Table Mountain, is a lovely memory to take away ........ In addition, it is very well located, and we had no problems at all heading out and exploring all across the Cape from the hotel." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"We've stayed at the Vineyard before in 1994 and 1995. It's been over-expanded in our view (the pool-side area must be a nightmare in high season), but that doesn't matter at this time of the year when the hotel is desperate for customers. We were upgraded from a Courtyard room to a suite.

The Vineyard's breakfast buffet is one of the best we've ever encountered and it's presently offering an excellent Winter dinner menu of 5 courses for R165. Extremely helpful staff." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2009
"superb.staff food room location.nothing else one add" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
York

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"We had an upgrade to a mountain view, which got our holiday off to a great start!

We ate all our evening meals in the bar area, and the menu was just what we wanted - not too formal, and friendly staff." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs E
E Sussex

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Only stayed one night. We would have had to be there a week to come to grips with all the lighting combinations in the room." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 53
93%
53 reviews of Vineyard Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
15
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa