This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel

Reviews of Vineyard Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vineyard Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P
Clayton

"Beautiful setting in Cape Town"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2015
"The Vineyard Hotel was a perfect setting in Cape Town. We enjoyed having the entire family stay together in a two bedroom cottage. We cooked several meals ourselves.

The breakfasts were wonderful with an incredible assortment of choices. We did not enjoy the one dinner at the hotel restaurant. They lost our reservation, the service was poor and we did not enjoy the dinner itself.

Other than the dinner, the service was excellent and the staff helped us with directions and questions." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms E & Ms L
Wolves

"Fabulous hotel"

5 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2014
"Fabulous hotel, huge rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet and safe location.
What a buffet breakfast!!
The location, away from the noisy Waterfront, suited us perfectly, although a car here is probably required if staying more than a few days. The hotel staff park the car and bring it to the front entrance when you wish to go out.
The hotal has a shuttle bus to the Waterfront and chauffered us to and from local restaurants, free of charge, at night.
The travel desk at the hotel books trips and gave very good advice.
Really could not fault this hotel at all." See all these reviews: 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Mis R
Scotland

"Excellent service, good location"

5 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2014
"Very good service from arrival to departure. Staff were very helpful and always had a smile, level of service was high. Room was large, comfortable and clean.
Food and service in the lounge and restaurant was excellent.

The location for us was good with shops within walking distance, and for using the car it was easy to go North, South, West or East while missing the main city traffic.

We had a great stay here and by the end of it didn't really want to move." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Craig
UK

"A lovely way to settle in"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"The room was great - plenty of room, amazing enormous bed. The staff were exceptional and the food was brilliant (especially breakfast which was possibly the best hotel breakfast we've ever had).

The only (small) thing was that although children are very welcome the hotel restaurant wasn't the most ideal place for small children. One evening our daughter broke a plate and spilt a whole glass of juice (not unusual if you've ever been out with 3 year olds) and I was extremely conscious of the couples around me having (or trying to have) relaxed dinners listening to the piano music... We only ate there a couple of times but it might be worth flagging up to any travellers with toddlers." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LC
SW London

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Location was excellent for access to the Botanical garden. Bus service was provided to get to the Waterfront. Lovely gardens.

We were facing the courtyard and the toads/frogs were very noisy, we had to open the window for ventilation." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr D
Parker

"Vineyard Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2014
"We arrived about 8PM at night after a long day of travel from Kalala Desert Lodge in Namibia. We had a light dinner in the bar and retired early. The hotel is in a very beautiful setting with amazing grounds. It is an older building and well maintained. The rooms are large and comfortable and our room had a breathtaking view of Table Mountain.

The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and my eggs prepared perfectly. The first morning we had to wait for a table but not long. We ate at their high end restaurant (outside restaurant operating on their property) and they fit us in when we said we were hotel guests, even though they were fully booked. It was a gourmet meal in every respect. Wonderful.

We liked the hotel in every respect and would stay there again." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Quiet formal Vineyard Hotel"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"Disabled persons view: Good level access to all inside areas and valet parking was a bonus.

Quiet location very close to Kirstenbosch and if the weather had been better I'm sure there are good views of Table Mountain.
Wonderful garden alongside the river although due to it's very nature it is not accessible to the disabled, apart from the patio area.

At dinner the starter whilst very nice was not what I ordered. The waiter said he would query it with the kitchen but we never got any feedback.

This place is too big and a little formal for us after having spent three weeks at lodges and B&B's." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"good"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Texas

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"Wonderful historic location, but if one wishes to enjoy more of Capetown it is a little far out of town as the drive can be cumbersome and bothersome if you make a wrong turn in spite of the fact it is only 15 minutes by car to town. I would ask if people had been to Capetown before and wished to discover the city proper; if so, I would place them near or at the waterfront.

All of this considered, it was a pleasure to stay here. I must say after Hog Hollow and Ocean Eleven, the room was just an ordinary hotel room. In addition, if one is there to spa and relax at saunas the Vineyard is an excellent choice." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Vineyard Hotel and Spa review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"We had two rooms looking out on Table Mountain - both rooms were well-appointed and good for both the children and adults - we had two rooms next door to each other.

Meals were excellent - only challenge was on Easter Monday when the hotel was clearly the place to have brunch. It would have helped us if the hotel has warned us that it was likely to be busy as it was hard to get a table and the service was really poor (the staff found it hard to cope with so many people)." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 53
93%
53 reviews of Vineyard Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
15
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa