This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

55 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

80% success

Cheetah

20% success

Wild dog

26% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

98% success

Hippo

79% success

Buffalo

75% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Striped Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 55
Duration
Arrival date
R & J
Richmond Hill

"Wonderful Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Ikuka is situated on an escarpment with outstanding views. The food was great, the interaction with other guests was wonderful and the management run a first class operation. We saw a wide variety of game and the guide was very good at ensuring nothing was missed. Everything was excellent!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr N
Canterbury

"Great location at Ikuka"

5 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"Beautiful location high on a hill overlooking the park in all directions. Rooms were superb, food excellent and staff well trained and very attentive. We had an excellent guide, Reuben, who looked after us every day.

The drives were very good, centred mainly on the closest river, albeit mainly dry, where there was quite a diversity of animals. We did venture further afield, again with reasonably good results .

Worth mentioning to clients that, due to altitude, the early mornings are cold and the blankets they supply just about kept the cold out, but a jersey would be useful. Mealtimes excellent with communal eating for all meals at which the management staff joined us too." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Mexico

"Abundance of game few other people food great"

4 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"Ikuka is relatively isolated and therefore there are few other lodges/jeeps around. On some days we saw only one or two other vehicles. This is a definite plus. There is an abundance of elephants, giraffes and buffalo.

Our guide was of the old school and not too interactive, but he knows his animals. There are standard 'circuits' for driving around the park and sometimes it feels more like driving on regular roads than tracks, at laest compared to the Serengeti.

The food is outstanding and they went to huge and successful lengths to accommodate my gluten/dairy free diet." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

DS family
E Sussex

"The most fabulous location in the Ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2018
"The scenery in the Ruaha is stunning, even without the animals, with the most fantastic sunrises and sunsets.We did expect to see more animals though from the information that we had read. A couple of times we drove for 2 hours before spotting anything.

We chose Ikuka for its location on top of the hill for stunning views and we were not disapointed. The stars were amazing here. Again your advice on rooms was spot on, we were allocated the two that we had requested and had the pleasant surprise in ours of a plunge pool. They were beautiful.

The service was very good in a relaxed and informal manner. It was nice to get into the Land Cruiser in the mornings with a hot water bottle and blanket waiting for us.

The food was outstanding, from our bush breakfasts to dinner. The quality was as good as any top London restaurant.

Special thanks must go to Habido (our guide) for his 12 hour stint in trying to find us a Leopard! Again, it was great to be allocated our own guide for the duration of our stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Couple
London

"Amazing Place"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Very Richard Branson style lodge! Firstly Ruaha was such a great choice for us. As there is only a few lodges the park was relatively quiet and you rarely came across other vehicles!

The Lodge is amazing, the rooms have the biggest beds I have ever seen literally the size of two doubles together and the have the comfiest bedding! the views from those beds are beautiful! Although you are under canvas it is definitely not camping! Mark and Tanya and everyone that works there are so lovely you really do feel like you are visiting your family. The food is amazing, breakfast out in the park was surprisingly good considering it is all packed up for you, the lunch and dinner served in the lodge were some of the best food we have eaten and it was totally unexpected out there overlooking the whole park!

Habibo was our guide and he is Ruaha's answer to David Attenborough, all the guides seem to know him and every drive would be completely different. It seemed he could find whatever we wanted to see! We saw all the animals we came to see! Elephants, Giraffe, Lions and cubs! Leopard, Cheetah, Hippo and so many others, he knew every single bird we pointed out and really made our stay! We couldn't have asked for more.

The little touches at the lodge really made the stay, everyone is so attentive, from having your little water bottle with your name on waiting after the long plane journey to having a hot water bottle in the morning drive! All my ridiculous food allergies were sorted with no fuss at all! The lodge itself is so relaxing, I would go back just to relax by the pool looking at the view!

Cant wait to go back!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Sydney

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Ikuka was a delight.

The staff were so friendly and wonderful to share the experience with.

Food was phenomenal and safari experiences were excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"Fabulous location, lovely camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2018
"Ikuka was a very well run camp and it was evident that everyone worked as a team, not only to provide guests with a great experience, but because they were colleagues and helped each other out.

The rooms are very comfortable, the food was good and plentiful - in fact, their bush breakfasts were the best I think we have ever had. It wasn't the usual cold fried egg sandwich - it was much more imaginative and changed every day.

In some respects this was a more formal camp in that the staff, including the manager on duty (for us Tanya) was always there to wave you off and greet you back from safari and the staff serving food and drinks were extremely attentive. When we were staying there were some guests who wanted to go for shorter drives and, even though they hadn't booked a private vehicle, every effort was made to accommodate them.

Meal times provided a good opportunity to hear about everyone's day and enjoy each other's company, although it was possible for you to dine privately in your own little group if you wished.

We had some eventful game drives and some quiet ones but were privileged to see roan antelope.

All in all, a luxurious camp, good attention to detail in the rooms, great food and staff eager to ensure you have a good time." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Spectacular camp in Ruaha"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"Ikuka is situated in a spectacular location on the escarpment overlooking the Mwagusi plain. It is a remote camp, with quite a long drive to it up a steep track. But the views from the camp are stunning, as are the tented rooms and the camp's main building.

Tanya is a lively and entertaining manager of the camp. Our guide, Ernest, was also excellent, very knowledgeable and with a pleasant sense of humour.

We particularly enjoyed a long and interesting game walk led by Mark, the co-owner of Ikuka, which ended with a fabulous bush breakfast next to the Mwagusi river.

We stayed five nights at Ikuka and it was one of the very best safari camps we have ever stayed at. Although it was the rainy season in Ruaha, we had excellent game viewing, particularly of predators. In one memorable afternoon we saw a pair of cheetahs, followed by a leopard in a baobab tree with an impala kill, followed by several lions round a giraffe kill watched by hyenas and numerous vultures. Also frequent sightings of most of the main game species; particularly good to see numerous herds of elephant. Spectacular bird-life, which included numerous eagles and other raptors and five different species of stork etc." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Trish & Steve
LUCAN

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"Coming from Selous to Ruaha one is very conscious of the different climates. In Ruaha the rains had not arrived and the river was dry. This of course meant that we saw a much higher concentration of animals than in the Selous. We were lucky to see leopard, cheetah and a lion kill as well as beautiful herds of giraffe and elephant. The walking safari with Mark was a lovely break from the driving and gave a different view of the landscape. Ikuka is a new camp and we would assess it as 'perfect'. I'm sure not everyone would agree but we couldn't find a fault. Staff are wonderful, the comfort and design of the tents is amazing and the food is outstanding. They even supply hot water bottles for the cool morning starts. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
ShepherdsB

"Amazing Views Across Ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"Despite having only opened in 2016, the Ikuka camp feels as if it has been rightfully commanding its spectacular view for some time.

The staff are lovely, the food is delicious & the attention to detail is noticeable, including the host, Mark, meeting you back from every game drive & the hot water bottles provided in the land cruiser on the early morning outings.

In our view, sundowners in Ruaha are unbeatable." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 55
97%
55 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (132 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (46 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (33 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (25 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


96% (5 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa