This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 44 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

79% success

Cheetah

18% success

Wild dog

24% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

98% success

Hippo

79% success

Buffalo

75% success

Eland

66% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Striped Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr PC
SE London

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"Mark and his team were very good and extremely friendly.

The food was plentiful but a bit stodgy.

We were disappointed that there were no walking safaris because of the onset of the wet season.

Our guide, Festo, was most knowledgeable and with help we spotted 70 different species of birds.

A really great location" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Exceptional Safari at Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"From the moment the plane landed and we were welcomed by Festo, our guide, with chocolate biscuits and a huge smile, we knew we were in safe and knowledgeable hands.We had a hugely enjoyable drive to the lodge seeing lots of birds and game en route. The long green grasses and baobab trees looked beautiful and it was a perfect temperature.

Mark and his team work really well together and there is a very happy atmosphere. We loved being welcomed on return from game drives by the team smiling and waving. The pool was wonderfully cool but does have a funny smell.

Some nights were chilly and we were glad of hot water bottles. The laundry were brilliant as all my husbands clothes were soaking wet as his suitcase had been left in the rain at Dar es Salaam airport. All meals were excellent, we had to ask for smaller portions as three huge course and cake for tea was too much for us!
Our room was good with stunning views, but we found being zipped in overnight as opposed to mosquito nets was a bore as whoever went to the loo in the night woke the other up!

Festo, our guide throughout, was excellent. We would stay at Ikuka again to be with Festo. He has great knowledge and experience and is also a brilliant mimic, birds, animals and Italian guests! Wonderful Great eagle owls and pale spotted owls very special. We are considering returning to Ikuka next February." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr A & Mrs V
London

"Ikuka Review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2019
"Amazing location, game drives with Festo were perfect, the people wonderful and the food super yummi." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S.
Abergavenny

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"A spectacular location with a wonderful dining and bar area and great attention to detail with a friendly and attentive staff. The food was generally good.

Whilst the rooms were well appointed the design of the bathrooms outside the enclosed tented area at night was both inconvenient and also meant that visits to the bathroom during the night and in the morning were fraught with bat droppings/insects of various sizes everywhere.

We had a first class guide in Festo who enhanced our safari drives with both his natural wit and extensive knowledge of all aspects of the Ruaha." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N.
Watford

"A bit of luxury and stunning views at Ikuka"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2019
"From the moment I saw the view when I first arrived at Ikuka Safari Camp, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. The camp has a stylish, yet very natural and rustic look to it, and its location looking out across Ruaha National Park was absolutely stunning. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully designed, and the veranda also has great views across Ruaha.

The staff at Ikuka were all incredibly friendly, and went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. The managers Mark and Tanya were also very friendly and attentive, and always had dinner with the guests in the evening. All of the food was delicious, and there was always a special vegetarian option waiting for me, which was much appreciated!

Our safari guide Habibo was very knowledgeable, and led us to some amazing views of two separate leopards, hundreds of elephants and plenty of beautiful birds. He also found some lovely spots for us to enjoy our sundowners and to take in the sights and sounds of Ruaha.

I had been wanting to visit Ruaha for several years prior to my trip, and wasn't disappointed. It really had a rugged beauty to it. Being the green season, the wildlife was rather spread out, but we still saw plenty, especially elephants. I have never seen so many in my life! The birdlife was outstanding too. I hope to visit again someday!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"Another remarkable property in an unbelievable location. We loved our guide Reuben, who went out of his way to show us different parts of the park and the wonders of wildlife.

I still had a cold so I stayed at the camp one morning. The staff was quite kind and solicitous.

This was the perfect place to finish our safari adventure." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D.
London

"Luxury lodge, very comfortable and friendly"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"An excellent start to our holiday.

Owner run lodge which makes a big difference and gives that important personal touch.

Whilst the location was stunning with its views from the escarpment it did feel rather removed from the wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Fantastic camp - lovely location"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"We flew from the Selous to Ruaha for the second part of our trip and the two areas are very different. Beho Beho in the Selous has it's own airstrip so the drive to it was only a few minutes, however as Ikuka sits atop an escarpment overlooking the Mwagusi plain its about an hours drive from the main airstrip at Msembe. However the views from the rooms and the main camp are truly stunning once you have arrived.

The camp is amazing, this was only the second season so everything has a very new feel to it. The camp manager, Mark, who is also the owner, was very friendly and attentive as was Tanya the manager. They both went out of their way to ensure that our trip was as pleasant and comfortable as possible. All the staff were very attentive and helpful which my wife greatly appreciated, due to her limited mobility having recently broken and dislocated her ankle. A special mention to Seif, Luka, Davis and Salum who looked after my wife on the occasions when she could not go on the afternoon game drives.

The rooms have enormous beds about the size of two doubles together and they have the comfiest bedding. Although you are under canvas it is definitely not camping. The hot water is provided by a gas powered boiler. The food is excellent, the staff ensuring that any dietary requirements were met. Breakfast in the bush was also very good considering it is all pre-packed before leaving at shortly after 06:00!

Festo was our guide and he was without a doubt one of the best guides we have ever encountered. He had a great sense of humour, full of stories and anecdotes as well as being able to provide some great game viewing. The male and female lions plus three cubs on the last night was the piece de resistance, especially as the interaction with a herd of elephants trying to get to the river generated an impasse which thankfully resolved itself without incident!

The little touches at the lodge really made the stay, everyone is so attentive, from having your little water bottle with your name on waiting after the long plane journey to having a hot water bottle in the morning drive!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs C.
Edinburgh

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"We had an amazing time at Ikuka and I'm hard pushed to think of any negatives.

If I was being picky the only slight negatives were no hairdryer, a separate w/c or at least a screen hiding the toilet from the main bathroom would be preferable ." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

R & J
Richmond Hill

"Wonderful Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Ikuka is situated on an escarpment with outstanding views. The food was great, the interaction with other guests was wonderful and the management run a first class operation. We saw a wide variety of game and the guide was very good at ensuring nothing was missed. Everything was excellent!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 31-40 of 54
97%
54 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (131 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (45 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (33 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa