This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp

Reviews of Kigelia Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigelia Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kigelia Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

20% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

80% success

Eland

75% success

Striped Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Great bush experience at Kigelia Camp"

4 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"We love real African bush experiences and this camp gave just that. The attention given to us by the camp staff was second to none. The phone contact in each tent worked very well. Any request was immediately taken care of and there was no wait for an escort to dinner.

Bush walks were very professionally carried out, informative and really enjoyable with breakfast at the end. We actually spent quite a while watching an 8 foot python slithering through a bush. None of the guides had actually seen one out on a walk before so this was an experience for them as well. The night drive was also really well run and we had great sightings of genets, bat-eared foxes, lions etc.

We had Ken as our guide most of the time. He was excellent, very knowledgeable, an excellent spotter and easy to get on with.

Accommodation was very comfortable, well serviced, private, with everything you needed. Hot water was provided any time you requested for a wonderful bush shower.

We had great experiences of elephant very near and round our tent, giraffe close by, a dwarf mongoose family coming to drink at our garden basin, a shy bush buck and a herd of elephant digging to drink water in the river bed in front of us. A great stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Hammersmit

"Excellent camp, great guiding"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"Really lovely rooms, not over the top or fancy but they gave you everything you needed.

Extremely well run by Ken the camp manager and everything worked like clockwork, seamlessly. We never had to ask for anything and the little touches (like hot water bottles on your car seat on cold mornings) were wonderful.

The food was good, best breakfasts we had were here, and lunch and dinner were lovely.

The game viewing was excellent, we saw so much and with our fantastic guide, Joe, we learnt so much.

We wished we could have had another night!" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"only one night so no firm view"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"Only spent one night at camp so difficult to have a firm opinion. Location by small river disappointing as river dried up. In fact Ruaha very dry and wildlife seemed much less than the last time we were there, though that was a different time of year. However as only spent a short time there perhaps not fair to have the above comment!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms D
Ireland

"Fantastic 4 nights at Kigelia"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"Loved the authentic wilderness feel of the camp, very well organised, excellent service.

Remarkable guiding by Manager Joel: He has outstanding knowledge of fauna, flora, culture and history and a lovely way of delivering facts. He went out of his way to please and made my trip memorable.. The sightings were brilliant during day and night games drives, and while walking. The landscape is beautiful with plenty of Baobabs.

Really had a fantastic time & could have stayed longer!

" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Great Falls

"Kigelia Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"This was my fourth Nomad camp, and while they were all excellent Kigelia seemed to raise the bar another notch. Joel and his team ran a very tight ship, with excellent game viewing and great meals. Pinny was extremely personable and granted some terrific insight into Maasai life and culture.

I loved the tents, and this was far and away my favorite bucket shower, with an open-air view over the river bed.

It is a bit colder than the other camps in the mornings and evenings. Guests would be well advised to bring some cool weather clothing." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kent

"A genuine safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Spent 4 nights at Kigelia. A truly genuine safari experience, with strong focus on game drives (6:30am to 12:00 and 4pm to 7pm). Fantastic guiding, and service in the camp was outstanding. Our guide Joel, was excellent, he proved to be the best guide during our whole trip, always willing to stop for photos and find the best position for photos of the animals, scenery and sunset/sunrise.

The night drive was awesome, a great chance to see many nocturnal animals. The manager of the camp (Ken) runs a very efficient operation with all staff seeming fully involved and keen to chat with guests.

A surprise birthday dinner (complete with cake, candles and dancing/singing from the whole team) was most unexpected, touching and very appreciated." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Scotland

"4 days at Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2015
"A camp with potential to be excellent with a great location and the small size, style and intimacy that I prefer. However after Chada and Greystoke it was a bit of a letdown.

Guiding was at best average and there were several occasions when I missed sightings or photographic opportunities at sightings because my guide was slow to react to movement of the animals and did not anticipate their behaviour so failing to position the car when other vehicles were in a much better position. He was a relief guide from Arusha, not permanently based there and was clearly disadvantaged by a lack of local knowledge of the park and animals.

Camp manager was visible but less involved with guests than at previous camps and did not host meals, only joining us for 30 mins before dinner

Camp and room decor and furniture was a little tired and would benefit from upgrading.

Camp staff were attentive and helpful however and mindful of guests individual needs and preferences." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Thor & Deb
Vancouver

"Excellent--not quite up to Nomad standards"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"This was our 4th Nomad camp and it was excellent--but not quite up to the standards of the rest. There was the evening when the waiters forgot to top up our wine because they were having a good yarn at the edge of the mess, and I had to chase them down. There were a couple of times when there weren't any greeting-committee with icy towels when we returned from the drive..... those sorts of little things.

The food was excellent, the guiding was up to the usual impeccable Nomad standards, and the tent was comfortable. I was awaken at 2 AM by a leopard who decided to sit on our porch--and have the footprints to prove it! Wow.

I understand that Kigali is a newly acquired Nomad camp. That being the case, I expect Ken, the affable camp manger, will have it whipped into ship-shape in short order. If need be, send Jean from Katavi. He's have that place humming in days!
" See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Great Bush Experience at Kigelia CAmp"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"The rooms are situated above a dry river bed but we saw little game from our tent. We thought the tents were too close together as you could hear other people talking which took away from the solitude we usually enjoy in the camps. The paths to the tents needed some maintenance especially some loose sandy steps which are especially dangerous at night.

The rooms were spacious but needed more storage. We needed a table to put things on and a few more shelves.

Service was excellent and we liked the fact that drinks were inclusive. The staff were not so chatty but we suspect their English was limited. Ken, the manager, was very attentive and professional. Times of meals and drives were very flexible and nothing was too much trouble.

John, our guide and driver, was experienced and very good at spotting animals and even small birds at a distance. He accommodated our interests and we were lucky enough to be on our own in the vehicle. We especially enjoyed the night drive.

The meals were good and freshly cooked. They were quite simple and there were a variety of vegetables." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms W
Geneva

"Great game in Ruaha"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Ruaha was the first part of our safari. We stayed two nights at Kigelia Camp.

We had great game drives. We were able most of the animals in just 1,5 days: many lions, leopard, elephants, giraffes, impalas, kudus. The game drives were varied and our guide John was very good in spotting the animals.

We also enjoyed a walking safari which offered us a different view of the savana.

Kigelia Camp is very comfortable. The tents are well furnished and with a good view of the savana. The camp staff was welcoming and attentive. The meals were good and it was very enjoyable to eat with all the guests, a moment to share the experiences of the day. The evening drinks at the campfire were very nice.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 28
96%
28 reviews of Kigelia Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa