This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp

Reviews of Kigelia Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigelia Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kigelia Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

20% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

80% success

Eland

75% success

Striped Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-28 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Newark

"Great game in Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"A great four days. The accommodation was exactly as described and gave the distinct feeling of being part of the African bush.

Terrific, knowledgeable guiding and an abundance of game.

An experience we will definitely repeat." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JA
New York

"Kigelia Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"Fantastic. ALL staff were great! They are professional, welcoming and accommodating.

Ken made us feel like we were welcomed by trusted friends. Joel, our Guide, (no picture on your website) is a great Ambassador to your Camp, the park and Tanzania. He is a true treasure." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Excellent Camp & Wildlife Viewing"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"We came to Ruaha National Park for the renowned wildlife viewing away from the crowds typical of the Serengeti, and we were not disappointed. The game drives were varied and our guides were excellent, positioning the vehicle to optimize lighting and composition of photographs. Furthermore, our guides taught us to see - animal behaviors and interactions, symbiotic relationships, birds, edible and medicinal plants... And then there were the iconic African sunsets!

Kigelia Camp is very comfortable. The thatch covered tents are well spaced providing a sense of complete privacy. The family area which we occupied consists of two spacious tents set up next to each other, a king bed in the parent’s tent and two twin beds in the children’s tent, with each tent having its own en-suite bathroom. I especially enjoyed watching the vervet monkeys playing in the sausage tree shading our tent, as I washed off the heat of the day in the thatch screened, open air bucket shower.

The camp staff had dug water holes in the sandy Ifuguru riverbed in front of our tents. These water holes attracted many colorful birds during the heat of the day, including a brown-necked parrot, as well as several animals during the morning and evening. Other notable animal sightings from the sitting area in front of our tent included a pair of bull elephants browsing in the brush beside our tent a mere 10 meters away.

The camp staff was welcoming and attentive. The meals were delicious and the evening campfire was delightful. Kigelia Camp gets my highest recommendation.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"ruaha heaven"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"Kegalia had wonderful game viewing and we had the camp to ourselves.

We loved it, but the tents were quite hot (not shaded) and the common tent relatively small had the camp been full. We were told that they are moving to a different site on higher land so perhaps this will be corrected then. Also even one fan in the public tent would have made a big difference in the midday heat. By sundown the individual tents were nice and cool.

The staff was diligent about bringing water for the showers and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Newcastle

"Elephants at the bedhead"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"We have visited many camps in East Africa over the last 14 years and give this one, run by Nomad, extra stars. The accommodation is good and the food superb. In fact, the food does really deserve a special mention.The guides were patient and excellent.

We loved it, even though we found the 37C+ heat of mid-November a bit punishing in the middle of the day. We would go again to any Nomad camp, but we would avoid this hottest time of the year in Ruaha. Of course, the lack of water does mean that there are more animals around any water that there is and it was great fun (for us rather than the eles) watching the elephants dig water holes in the dry river beds as well as tearing Baobab trees to shreds." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Atherstone

"Kigelia Camp - luxury in the bush"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"Again a wonderful place to stay with very good guides and staff.

Great to sit around the camp fire with a sundowner." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
C Plowdog
Sydney

"Excellence in the bush"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Kigelia was a great experience in the Ruaha. It was remote, hidden among the trees, and only had 6 tents for guests. It had a couple of resident elephants who joined us every so often, at one time looking closely into the mess tent.

Mollel our guide was magic. He found so many animals for us: 17 lions in one spot and a single cheetah were probably the highlight although we also saw a leopard on the amazing night drive (as well as genets, an african hare, an African fox, and many night creatures), and many elephants, buffalo, birds (the highlight being a small owl), kudu, zebra and giraffes of course, jackals, hyena, warthogs, hippo etc etc. We ate at night under the stars and were excellently looked after.

Hot water was always available and the food was great despite the remoteness. Thanks to Musa, Godfrey and the team for excellent service. Don't miss the Ruaha or Kigelia Camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Kigelia camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"Camp in a beautiful setting by the dried up river, with elephants often close to camp and birds at a drinking dish. Musa is an excellent manager. Molel was a knowledgable guide and keen to stop to look at all wildlife. His knowledge of birds was good and he is keen to develop it further.

The tent was lovely and spacious and very comfortable. We overlooked the dry river bed and could hear lions roaring at night on the other side. Early morning tea and biscuits were always welcome and kept us going until breakfast which was taken in the bush. We had the best bacon and egg sandwiches EVER on smoky toasted bread! We often sat by a beautiful part of the river watching the birds and wildlife coming down to drink. It was stunning.

I especially enjoyed seeing many of the Tanzanian mongoose species here at Ruaha. We also saw a large lion pride and a beautiful male leopard." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-28 of 28
96%
28 reviews of Kigelia Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa