This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp
Kigelia Camp

Reviews of Kigelia Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigelia Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kigelia Camp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

27% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

90% success

Eland

80% success

Spotted Hyena

78% success

Buffalo

67% success

Sable antelope

22% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Striped Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Sussex

"A genuine safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Spent 4 nights at Kigelia. A truly genuine safari experience, with strong focus on game drives (6:30am to 12:00 and 4pm to 7pm). Fantastic guiding, and service in the camp was outstanding. Our guide Joel, was excellent, he proved to be the best guide during our whole trip, always willing to stop for photos and find the best position for photos of the animals, scenery and sunset/sunrise.

The night drive was awesome, a great chance to see many nocturnal animals. The manager of the camp (Ken) runs a very efficient operation with all staff seeming fully involved and keen to chat with guests.

A surprise birthday dinner (complete with cake, candles and dancing/singing from the whole team) was most unexpected, touching and very appreciated." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Scotland

"4 days at Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2015
"A camp with potential to be excellent with a great location and the small size, style and intimacy that I prefer. However after Chada and Greystoke it was a bit of a letdown.

Guiding was at best average and there were several occasions when I missed sightings or photographic opportunities at sightings because my guide was slow to react to movement of the animals and did not anticipate their behaviour so failing to position the car when other vehicles were in a much better position. He was a relief guide from Arusha, not permanently based there and was clearly disadvantaged by a lack of local knowledge of the park and animals.

Camp manager was visible but less involved with guests than at previous camps and did not host meals, only joining us for 30 mins before dinner

Camp and room decor and furniture was a little tired and would benefit from upgrading.

Camp staff were attentive and helpful however and mindful of guests individual needs and preferences." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Excellent--not quite up to Nomad standards"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"This was our 4th Nomad camp and it was excellent--but not quite up to the standards of the rest. There was the evening when the waiters forgot to top up our wine because they were having a good yarn at the edge of the mess, and I had to chase them down. There were a couple of times when there weren't any greeting-committee with icy towels when we returned from the drive..... those sorts of little things.

The food was excellent, the guiding was up to the usual impeccable Nomad standards, and the tent was comfortable. I was awaken at 2 AM by a leopard who decided to sit on our porch--and have the footprints to prove it! Wow.

I understand that Kigali is a newly acquired Nomad camp. That being the case, I expect Ken, the affable camp manger, will have it whipped into ship-shape in short order. If need be, send Jean from Katavi. He's have that place humming in days!" See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Great Bush Experience at Kigelia CAmp"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"The rooms are situated above a dry river bed but we saw little game from our tent. We thought the tents were too close together as you could hear other people talking which took away from the solitude we usually enjoy in the camps. The paths to the tents needed some maintenance especially some loose sandy steps which are especially dangerous at night.

The rooms were spacious but needed more storage. We needed a table to put things on and a few more shelves.

Service was excellent and we liked the fact that drinks were inclusive. The staff were not so chatty but we suspect their English was limited. Ken, the manager, was very attentive and professional. Times of meals and drives were very flexible and nothing was too much trouble.

John, our guide and driver, was experienced and very good at spotting animals and even small birds at a distance. He accommodated our interests and we were lucky enough to be on our own in the vehicle. We especially enjoyed the night drive.

The meals were good and freshly cooked. They were quite simple and there were a variety of vegetables." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms W
Geneva

"Great game in Ruaha"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Ruaha was the first part of our safari. We stayed two nights at Kigelia Camp.

We had great game drives. We were able most of the animals in just 1,5 days: many lions, leopard, elephants, giraffes, impalas, kudus. The game drives were varied and our guide John was very good in spotting the animals.

We also enjoyed a walking safari which offered us a different view of the savana.

Kigelia Camp is very comfortable. The tents are well furnished and with a good view of the savana. The camp staff was welcoming and attentive. The meals were good and it was very enjoyable to eat with all the guests, a moment to share the experiences of the day. The evening drinks at the campfire were very nice." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Newark

"Great game in Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"A great four days. The accommodation was exactly as described and gave the distinct feeling of being part of the African bush.

Terrific, knowledgeable guiding and an abundance of game.

An experience we will definitely repeat." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JA
New York

"Kigelia Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"Fantastic. ALL staff were great! They are professional, welcoming and accommodating.

Ken made us feel like we were welcomed by trusted friends. Joel, our Guide, (no picture on your website) is a great Ambassador to your Camp, the park and Tanzania. He is a true treasure." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Excellent Camp & Wildlife Viewing"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"We came to Ruaha National Park for the renowned wildlife viewing away from the crowds typical of the Serengeti, and we were not disappointed. The game drives were varied and our guides were excellent, positioning the vehicle to optimize lighting and composition of photographs. Furthermore, our guides taught us to see - animal behaviors and interactions, symbiotic relationships, birds, edible and medicinal plants... And then there were the iconic African sunsets!

Kigelia Camp is very comfortable. The thatch covered tents are well spaced providing a sense of complete privacy. The family area which we occupied consists of two spacious tents set up next to each other, a king bed in the parent’s tent and two twin beds in the children’s tent, with each tent having its own en-suite bathroom. I especially enjoyed watching the vervet monkeys playing in the sausage tree shading our tent, as I washed off the heat of the day in the thatch screened, open air bucket shower.

The camp staff had dug water holes in the sandy Ifuguru riverbed in front of our tents. These water holes attracted many colorful birds during the heat of the day, including a brown-necked parrot, as well as several animals during the morning and evening. Other notable animal sightings from the sitting area in front of our tent included a pair of bull elephants browsing in the brush beside our tent a mere 10 meters away.

The camp staff was welcoming and attentive. The meals were delicious and the evening campfire was delightful. Kigelia Camp gets my highest recommendation." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"ruaha heaven"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"Kegalia had wonderful game viewing and we had the camp to ourselves.

We loved it, but the tents were quite hot (not shaded) and the common tent relatively small had the camp been full. We were told that they are moving to a different site on higher land so perhaps this will be corrected then. Also even one fan in the public tent would have made a big difference in the midday heat. By sundown the individual tents were nice and cool.

The staff was diligent about bringing water for the showers and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Newcastle

"Elephants at the bedhead"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"We have visited many camps in East Africa over the last 14 years and give this one, run by Nomad, extra stars. The accommodation is good and the food superb. In fact, the food does really deserve a special mention.The guides were patient and excellent.

We loved it, even though we found the 37C+ heat of mid-November a bit punishing in the middle of the day. We would go again to any Nomad camp, but we would avoid this hottest time of the year in Ruaha. Of course, the lack of water does mean that there are more animals around any water that there is and it was great fun (for us rather than the eles) watching the elephants dig water holes in the dry river beds as well as tearing Baobab trees to shreds." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 33
96%
33 reviews of Kigelia Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (132 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka Safari Camp

Upmarket and stylish, Ikuka Safari Camp is set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (55 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (46 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (25 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


96% (5 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa