This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp


7°41’7.0"S 34°39’3.2"E

Reviews of Mdonya Old River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mdonya Old River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mdonya Old River Camp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

27% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

83% success

Hippo

75% success

Eland

46% success

Spotted Hyena

27% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Striped Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Kent

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Lovely widely spaced tents in a great spot.

Marvelous game viewing from the camp with varied game using the old river bed. Guiding good.

Some tetse fly bother on the game drives, & some of the food not entirely to my taste." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"an excellent location, but some screening between rooms (if possible) would improve the privacy

very good and enthusiatic guides withn a good knowledge of the wildlife

drives marred a little by presence of tetse fly (which we found extremeley painful) in some areas

very good all day game drive" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The lack of electricity gave the camp a special atmosphere and we didn't miss it at all.
We appreciated the matching of a guide to our interests (birdwatching, in particular) which meant that we learnt more and enjoyed our activities without boring other guests who weren't interested in birds.
The staff were helpful and reactive when asked, but there was a slight lack of quality control around the rooms (toilet paper not being replenished over three days) which could have been improved upon.

Overall it was a friendly camp and the open site, with animals walking through, made it one that we would recommend." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H & Mr W
Norfolk

"Mdonya - Camp in the wilderness"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"We found the whole stay outstanding.

The layout of the camp was excellent - wonderfull to have the animals wandering around the camp. The management was excellent - Alex was outstanding and the staff generally were a great team. Our guide, Kahimba, was superb, very knowledgable and gave us a very good understanding of the environment, as well as taking us to animals with his exceptional tracking skills.

The whole atmosphere in the camp was very good - other guests were relaxed and easy and we enjoyed to social bits of the camp, particularly eating as a group. The tents were well appointed and equipped, and very comfortable." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Great location, guides and camp staff"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"would like to congratulate mdonya on providing an excellent safari experience, every detail was to the highest standard and the camp had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Camp three of four"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2011
"Superb location and food. However we were let down by the organisation and guiding.

The standard of our guide was poor to say the least and on one drive spent 4 hours talking to the driver and we were doing all our own spotting." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Miss C & Mr S
London

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2011
"Mdonya was the first stop on our very first safari holiday and it completley exceeded our expectations.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable, the camp was comfortable and the attention to detail really made it.

Even our fellow guests were all very friendly and we really enjoyed sitting round the camp fire in the evening discussing the days tales." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss M & Mr D
Kent

"Exciting first safari at Mdonya Old River"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2011
"For our first safari this camp was ideal, and was a nice balance between luxury and simplicity, and really gave us an outdoors experience. The tents look amazing inside, beautifully clean, well kept and decorated. As the camp was at full capacity and one vehicle down, we had to share game drives, but luckily we all got on well! The food was of a good standard, but the portions a little on the small side. As it was our honeymoon, the manager Alex arranged for us to have dinner on our veranda on one evening with 'champagne' on the house which was a lovely touch.

Our safari driver and guide were incredibly knowledgeable and clearly experienced, and great fun at the same time. Alex was very welcoming and attentive, and gave us the end tent which afforded us great views down the old riverbed of plenty of animals which often wandered within several feet of the tent.

As it was a honeymoon, we would have preferred not to have communal meals, although this not a problem, and was enjoyable to share stories of which animals we had all seen that day." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Waterloovi

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"biggest disappointment was that we had to share a land rover with 5 others!
also no leopard/wild dogs/cheetah were sighted which given the information
the camp itself met expectations
the other wildlife especially lions/elephant & giraffe sightings were excellent" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
W Sussex

"Mdonya Old River Camp is a fantastic place!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2011
"After a detour to watch lions & jackal feeding on a giraffe carcass on the way from the airstrip, we were welcomed by Alex, our host who was really friendly & made us feel at home instantly. We were impressed at the standard of the tents which were very comfortable & we loved the bush-bathroom (good hot shower but I kept dropping the soap through the wooden floor slats!!) We both agreed that this was our favourite camp due to the intimacy created by gathering together to share stories with a drink around the fire before moving to dine together under the stars - amazing.

The food was plentiful & very homely & tasty, served by quietly efficient staff who were always on hand to topup an empty glass!The lounge tent area was comfortable,shaded & well stocked with books & photo albums (not that we seemed to have any spare time to relax in there!) The guides were extremely knowledgeable on animals & their behaviour, birds, vegetation & habitat as well as tracking etc. We felt safe, having the Masai as our eyes & ears, but excitingly close to nature, waking up in the night to see an elephant next to our tent on one side & a pair of dik-dik on the other!

The whole set up was flexable to any requests (eg if we were late arriving back or needed an earlier breakfast, & Alex managed to produce a toothbrush as David had forgotton his!) & we felt we learned such a lot & became 'part of the family' even though we were only there for 3 nights (sadly!). We loved the vastness of the area around & the fact that we only once encountered a group of vehicles (at a cheetah sighting!) We covered huge areas in the jeep, stopping for a tasty bush lunch by the river - very well appointed table & cool box to boot!

Our driver was very competent & that meant that we had the sole attention of our guide, Khahimba(?) who impressed us so much with his knowledge & also his passion for the principles of educating the local people who had been moved to outside the National Park area & did not always accept that poaching should not be permitted. Would highly recommend this camp to those with a love of nature, away from hustle & bustle & can honestly not think of any negative points. Just remembered the lovely home-made breakfast muffins!mmmm!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 124
92%
124 reviews of Mdonya Old River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
30
7
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa