This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 67 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

89% success

Cheetah

88% success

Wild dog

4% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

98% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Hippo

97% success

Eland

85% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Pangolin

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 91-98 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2016
"Fantastic. The managers, Darren & Emma are very personable and go out of their way to make sure that guests are looked after.

Nothing is too much trouble.The food and wine are first class. The guides all hold silver qualifications under the Kenya Professional Guide scheme. All of them regularly accompany professional photographers and as a result they instinctively put guests in the best position to view animals and to take photographs. They explain what animals have been sighted in the conservancy over the last few days and which are with cubs. They will then plan game drives which suit what the guest wants to view. You have the option to have packed breakfasts or lunches depending on what you want to see." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Stockholm

"Mixed feelings at Bush"

5 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"Tents are big and quite average standard but all that you need is there. The tents are also, due to the huge "windows", see through, so that everyone passing by could see exactly what´s going on inside. Luckily, we were in the tent the furthest away from the messtent, so had enough privacy.

Food was good. The kitchen staff did their outmost to meet my dietary needs. They also met our wish to serve our dinner at 19 30, even though the other guests had theirs short before 21 00. Thanks to this flexibility, we could go to sleep early enough not to be completely exhausted the next morning.

We loved Aki, the relief manager, who made everyone feel welcome and was most accommodating to our every wish. All the other staff were very nice and service was excellent.

The high points of our stay were to watch the interactions within two of the lion prides. One lioness had two 1 month old cubs and kept carrying around the female cub in her mouth. The male cub, however, protested wildly and didn't want her to do it, which was great fun to watch. One of the two huge and handsome males patiently tried to convince a young lioness to mate with him, spending hours gently resting at her side.

We also watched lionesses from another pride stalking two wart hogs, but these cleverly escaped. We loved to meet the huge male Romeo II, who had recently been badly injured in a fight, and to see how relatively well he had recovered. Another highlight was to watch leopardess Fig hunt and almost catch a Thomson gazelle.

However, we were disappointed that our guide with emphasis talked us out of going down to the Mara River to see a main crossing. He actually didn't inform us in advance, that the Talek River crossing he instead took us to, was a minor crossing, with an almost dry river bed and no crocodiles. We didn't find out about the difference until it was too late and we suspect he misled us, because he didn't want to do the "very long" drive. This casts a shadow on our stay at Bush and left us with a feeling of disappointment." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Super cats at Kicheche Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2016
"We packed a lot into our stay here - thanks to Nelson we saw some wonderful named cheetahs, leopards, lions and much more.

Food was innovative and excellent, lunch al fresco and dinner in the mess tent - all meals were very enjoyable and with interesting company.

Emma and Darren and all the staff made us very welcome and we wished we could have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms B
UK

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2016
"A very comfortable camp with excellent food.

Flexibility to focus on wildlife viewing was appreciated. Very good bush breakfast every day allowed long morning drives. Vehicles were excellent with good support and bean bags for photographers. Guiding was excellent. Wildlife viewing was very good. Very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
S London

"The highlight of the holiday at Kicheche Bush"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2015
"Our three nights here were the best of our two weeks away.

The camp managers Darren and Emma are consummate. They create a wonderful atmosphere and the evening meals here were convivial, fun and we laughed so much. This is one of the very few places I have visited in all our Africa trips that I would definitely like to repeat in the future as I think you'd be treated like old friends. They seem to have so much returning business and that speaks for itself.

Superb guide in Nelson who scrutinised the movements of the migration to get us in pole position for a crossing. Incredible 25 minutes of thousand upon thousand of wildebeest. This proved a superb conservancy for lion and cheetah and we had a number of great sightings of both. We all appreciated the way the game drives dictate the day and you can stay out for a long time, no rushing back for a set breakfast or lunch. This is true of Kicheche across the board." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2015
"Kicheche Bush Camp is in managed by a really welcoming and friendly couple Emma and Darren. The tents were well equipped and comfortable. The food and drink were excellent.

The wildlife in Olare Orak Conservancy is just fantastic. The camp is renowned for its photographic interest and our excellent guide Nelson was always looking for the best position to take the photographs from.

I have travelled to many countries to see wildlife and the Masai Mara ranks number one as far as I am concerned. The combination of the friendliness of the camp hosts plus the quantity and diversity of the wildlife explains why Kicheche Bush Camp gets so many repeat visitors and I will be one them." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Fantastic camp, terrific hosts"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"This is an excellent camp in every way. From the moment we arrived, Darren and Emma went out of their way to make our 4 night stay as memorable as possible. The tented accommodation is very luxurious and coupled with a dedicated butler (Joseph) and excellent food made the stay very pleasant.

Beautiful spacious tents with an awning, plus outside hammock made for for restful periods between the game drives. Lighting is with low voltage lights but as with the other camps batteries can be charged in the main lounge in the camp. There are plenty of charging points for all. This camp uses bucket showers, there's no hot water on tap, but we didn't find that a problem.

The food was excellent, nearly too much at times, both Darren and Emma being excellent attentive hosts during the meals. The picnic breakfast while on the early morning game drive was much appreciated.

Game viewing was excellent, lion, leopard, cheetah were all found by our guide, Charles along with lots of other wildlife. We did manage to see a wildebeest crossing which was an added bonus as we hadn't expected to see this early in July. The vehicles used by the Kicheche team all have open roofs and provide bean bags or side mounted trays on which to rest long heavy lenses for photography, something which we much appreciated. Ponchos and blankets were also available as it did get quite cold on a couple of morning and evening game drives.

We coudn't fault this camp, has to be one of the best we have stayed in over the years we have travelled on safari to Africa." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
London

"Exceptional safari camp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"Kicheche Bush Camp really felt like home from home. Darren and Emma were fantastic hosts and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble. The tents were luxurious and our tent attendant - Joseph - did a great job of looking after us (almost like having our own personal butler!)

This was a superb spot for big cats and we were fortunate to see all of them really close up - lions, cheetah, leopard. Our excellent guide, Patrick, also managed to spot rhino for us on our last day which successfully completed our viewing of the Big FIve!" See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-98 of 98
100%
98 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (86 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


99% (61 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (17 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


97% (14 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


96% (9 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


95% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa