This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndhovu Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ndhovu Safari Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"Fantastic lodge on the river.

Really great to hear the hippos at night and see them by day.

Michael was a great guide who took us to his home in the village and also to the village school where the kindergarten children entertained us." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Sheffield

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2010
"After arriving by boat, unexpectedly - due to flooding, and departing similarly, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hants

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Everyone was very friendly and always on hand to help us enjoy all the activities that the lodge provided,but, also happy to let us have our own time to relax. we had avery good tour of Micheal's local village and the school.

All the meals we had were very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Disappointment at Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"This place is in need of care and maintenance, starting with the broken front gate secured by a piece of old chain. We did not consider that the electric wiring in our accommodation would be regarded as safe by european standards. The camp somehow lacked a welcoming atmosphere.

The camp and activities were being run in the absence of the owner (only temporarily we were told) by a young man who was clearly both stretched and stressed, and who did not communicate well.

The amount of food prepared for meals was finely judged. There was no choice of cereal for breakfast, and orange coloured jelly and red jam came in plastic catering sachets. Extras were expensive, which made this by far our most costly stay. This proved annoying when contrasted with the standard of the camp.

We question whether this establishment was really up to Expert Africa standard. We would not be inclined to return." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs B
Dorset

"hippo camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"we thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here.

Horst and Chris were excellant hosts and the two drives and sundoner on the river were brilliant.the Hippos were just the best ,we will never forget that wonderful noise . Our three nights stay was perfect." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"guesthouse on the kwando river"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2009
"Very plaisant relationship with the owner : Interesting discussions on the region, the country and austral Africa. Very good food.
Concerning the room, we were first on a raft; but with the pitching we were unconfortable and ask to change for the next night ( done without any difficulty). Basic bathroom.

The boss was our private guide; we appreciate. The game drive was a bit poor." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"lovely but for the hippos"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"tented accomodation right on the edge of the Okavango...I was frightened of the hippos..... very good hospitality and a nice deck over the river.

food was served at large tables...which I don't like....however we did end up with good company. despite marking this as excellent, I am not convinced that this was the most interesting place to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P&C & Mrs P&R
UK

"Good place to spend the night"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"Friendly, welcoming place with a good atmosphere. The food was excellent, and we had a very enjoyable sunset cruise.

Very cold - we needed every one of our mountain of blankets in the night." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"The drive from Rundu is long, straight and pretty boring! The Shell petrol station at Divundu appears to have gone but the Engen is going strong.
We liked Ndhovu a lot but we had a number of niggles which prevent us giving it a 'Excellent' rating.

The track to the lodge was fairly rough and signage could be improved – basically follow the signs for Mahangu Lodge until you pick up ones for Ndhovu. On arrival we were greeted by South African Chris, so laid back he's horizontal. There was no real explanation of the activities available and no price list was ever seen. We always had to ask to do activities – there was little proactivity. We had checked on the internet before leaving but our trip to the park across the river turned out to be at significantly higher cost than expected; although we'd still have done it, the cost should have been pointed out. A drive in Mahango NP was very good but we'd recommend anyone with the appropriate vehicle (4X2 plus) to drive yourself – the cost is N$90 rather than N$600 for two – and you can spend all day if you like, which we did on our last day.

Tents were adequate – comfortable but smallish – plenty of blankets provided for cold nights- and our first night was very cold – tents 1-5 are close together so, unless your neighbours lower their voices every word is audible. Only 1 small bottle of water per person was provided no matter how many nights you were staying.

They claimed they had not been informed of my cheese allergy – unfortunate as the first night's dinner was lasagne – but an excellent alternative was quickly provided and everybody was very careful thereafter. Accepting that, the food was generally excellent, particularly given the open-air kitchen and windy conditions!
The laundry service was efficient and good value." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family P
Belgium

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"The position of this lodge cannot be faulted. We had a group of 14 hippos in the river just in front of our lodge, and Mahango National park and the Botswanan border were very close.

The food here was OK, but not great, except for the eland lasagne which was very good and especially appreciated by the children. The staff seemed less friendly here than at many of the other lodges. We saw very little on the sunset cruise which was unfortunate, especially as we'd seen such a lot at Hakusembe, but that's not the lodge's fault - the wildlife doesn't follow the boating schedule!

However, there were a large number of boats out at the same time and one wonders if the traffic does scare off some animals. Unfortunately, I was ill during the cruise and for the day after and Horst, the owner, was very nice about it. We spent a relaxed day driving round Mahango and a very interesting day in Botswana.

Interestingly, although they are so close, the staff at Ndhovu didn't seem to know what papers we would need to cross the border with a hire car, which would have been helpful. Fortunately everything was in order and we had no border problems. On hindsight, three days here was perhaps a little long for us, but as I was ill for one of the three days it all worked out fine." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 91-100 of 126
88%
126 reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
52
7
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa