This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 321-330 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms M
USA

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"As far as location goes, this was perhaps the best place we stayed in Namibia.

Would have been nice to have had a few walks offered from the Lodge, but otherwise service good and only thing that could have been improved was food (perfectly safe but not particularly creative)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"A stunning location especially for the sundowner experience and to see the desert Elephants.

We had an unfortunate experience with a radio failure which meant that we did not get to see one of the big herds in the early morning drive. That siad the camp did allow us to go again in the afternoon where we had a wonderful experience of the herd in late evening light.

The sleeping out experience is NOT to be missed, truly wonderful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms JL
W London

"Doro Nawas - chalets on the wide open plains"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"Chalets were extremely good - huge, well appointed and you could roll your bed out onto the terrace to sleep under the stars. Your private terrace has an amazing view out over the plains, with the nice touch of a outdoor shower. It's a splendid, extremely private spot to sit and contemplate the vista and wandering animals. The lodge itself we really liked - a bit like a Moorish Castle and well suited to the mountains behind. Again, from the terraces you get a spectacular view out over the peaceful plains, with wonderful sunsets.

The pool while lovely, was just too small for the number of guests. Although we had a nice few hours on the loungers, most people were left to sit on the deck. I'd recommend they invest in more than 5 loungers!

There were plenty of activities on offer, but you did have to fit in with their planned schedule - this wasn't a problem for us as we were self-drive, so we drove ourselves to Twyfelfontein and the Organ Pipes as they didn't have this on offer the afternoon we wanted to do it. We're glad we did, because it was very easy to do this yourself, it cost us nothing (apart from a little petrol!) and we had the Organ Pipes to ourselves - a real highlight.

If you're self-drive I'd recommend doing the local attractions yourself because they are easy to find and self-guide. In terms of the Doro Nawas activities, we did a guided desert elephant safari with the Doro Nawas guide one morning, and found the Oscar group up into the river, after a 2 hour mission where we'd nearly given up hope! It was amazing to get so close to them. We really enjoyed this activity and would recommed it.

Staff were variable. Our first night they were great - kind, attentive and very cheerful. On the second night service was patchy at best, and we waited over an hour for our dinner. When busy they look like they might struggle to maintain good service. The food was average - it was edible and well presented, but not of a high standard.

We would go back to Doro Nawas, because we thought the setting and our beautiful room really made this a special place to stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"Friendly staff and service along with good facilities and excellent rooms with fine views. Food reasonable.

Very interesting trips to find the desert adapted elephants. long and not very comfortable morning outing with little to show for it mainly due to the intercom radio on our vehicle not allowing contact with the other vehicle which was more successful. Afternoon trip was very successful and was run for us because of the morning's technical problem. This was not totally resolved, but was sufficient to let us get excellent access to the animals. The staff tried to charge the full rate for the second trip, despite it being necessary because of the technical malfunction. However, we did manage to negotiate a more appropriate charge after the staff had to contact more senior managers 'elsewhere'.

Slight difficulties with this arrangement on check-out, but resolved simply. Altogether a very good place to stay, though the overall 'feel' resulting from it being run on a contract basis means that it suffers a little in comparison with the directly managed lodges." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Best accomodation we had"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"An excellent site and with fantastic accomodation. Sleeping outside under the stars was an unforgettable experience. We struggled to find the elephants on outr morning trip. The jeep was uncomfortable and the resort made the mistake of putting all 10 of our group in one cramped 4x4. The radio for the 2 jeeps out was not working properly and our jeep could not find the elephants. Our guide went faster and faster in a mad dash to try and find them. When we got home the other party had found them. Fortunately the lodge arranged for another trip but it meant our whole day was taken up finding the elephants where a little bit of common sense and communication could have given us a much better experience.

The desert elephants more than made up for our difficulties when we found them." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"Rolling our beds onto the patio!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"Terrific rooms, with beds that can be rolled right out onto the patio to sleep under the stars---fantastic!

Tracking the desert-adapted elephants was great, although our vehicle's radio wasn't working in the morning, so the driver of the other vehicle wasn't able to let our driver know when he found the elephants (and we consequently saw only a solitary male that AM). However, the management was very accomodating, and lowered the price of an afternoon ride significantly to compensate for the radio problem.

We saw a large family group (as well as a big bull) in beautiful, golden, late afternoon light." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
W Sussex

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"Arriving after the long drive from Swakopmund we were uncertain if we should turn off the main road as the sign said Doro Nawas Camp. Arriving at the end of the track we were in no doubt that we were in the right place as there was the Lodge sitting dark and brooding on top of a low hill.
A member of staff came down from the lodge with cool face towels, just rght for wiping away the Namibian dust.
Going up to the main building we were given welcome drinks and shown the facilities before being shown to our " room". This is an understatement as the building, just for us, was nearly as large as the ground floor of our house and this just for a bedroom and en-suite bathroom.
The bedroom, with island site bed, felt like a half marathon just to walk to the bathroom.
Bed isn't the right description either as it could be wheeled onto the huge veranda to sleep under the stars.
The evening meal was very good, but as with a previous lodge, was served very cool and a replacement was requested and brought without much delay.
At the end of the meal a guide came around with details of the following days actvities. As we needed to be away mid morning we chose a guided walk which we found to be very informative and our guide, Michael, told us about tracking and the uses that animals and local people make of the various trees/ bushes.
Doro Nawas was the first lodge with a crafts/ gift shop which had a good selection and reasonably priced therefore welcome and used.
All staff were friendly and welcoming and seemed genuinely pleased that you wre in Namibia... this was a common experience in all Namibian accommodations.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"Love the fact that the local people own part of this lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Miss A & Miss L
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"As with Kulala Desert Lodge, no complaints at all about Doro Nawas.

Everyone from the reception staff, general maintainance staff to the guides were very obliging and informative, making our stay here very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"Absolutely stunning setting with lovely views from both room and all general areas. Rooms were really spacious.

Only criticism of this lodge was that the excursions were really expensive so we didnt do any of them. We went to the rock drawings by ourselves which was about a 45 min drive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 321-330 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa