This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 331-340 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Swanley

"Enjoyable safari to see the elephants."

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"Excellent breakfast and lunches but the evening meals were rather average.

The safari to see the elephants was excellent with a nice meal at the end. However we were up at 4.30am for this safari and had the meal at around midday which left us all rather hungry. It would have been better at 11am

Morning excursion in search of desert-adapted elephants
A very early start . A slight haze detracted from obtaining any stunning photographs but all in all a very satisfying and comprehensive morning." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Eco Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"Great location. good service and an eco friendly lodge to boot. The activities were on the expensive side. Well we couldn't tell the difference between the desert elephants and the ordinary elephants but paying NS650 per head for this privilige. The otherwise excellent service was slightly marred by one of its inexperienced guide/staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"room & safari superb"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Excellent. The game drive perfect.

Just one point : the afternoon activity was dedicated to the engravings near Twyfelfontein; the guide was not very convinced concerning the interest of this activity and consequently poor and less comments. A pity for me because I was very interested by engravings." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"Watching desert adapted elephants from the dining room what more do you need?

Although they were rather expensive the guided trips were excellent and all the guides very informative." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Doro Nawas was everything it promised to be - the room was fantastical with its mock stone headboard, stone bathroom and inside and outside shower - the only disappointment was that noone told us that you could unlock the bed and push it out on to the huge verandah - we only learnt that on our second night, in conversation with other guests, and then we slept under the starts which was a breathtaking experience.

The food was excellent - unsurpassed salads, crisp vegetables, delicate puddings.

We joined an afternoon drive to see the desert adapted elephants - was a bit disappointed that the drive around the property is no longer part of the deal (as described in Chris' book) - and were delighted to come across 13 of them and observe them for some time. Our guide was knowledgeable as was the person who pointed out the stars to us on the roof that night." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms P & Mr D
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"The initial wow factor of the castle and large and nicely furnished rooms was soon obliterated by the noisy staff. I have never been to a desert that is so noisy. A large group of italians showed up just after we arrived and as we were resting in our room the staff thought the best way to determine which italians were in which chalets was to walk around the camp shouting their names out. My husband went and told them to be quiet.

We then discovered that there was no hot water in our chalet - having arrive around 4pm there should be hot water at that time as the solar panels have been out in the sun all day. We told one of the managers before dinner and she said she would send some maintenance men to look at it but advised us that we had to run the water for ten minutes before the hot would come out of it! That is ridiculous. We weren't too worried as we thought there would be some the next day it was a slight annoyance.

The next afternoon at about 1.30pm we tried our water again and there was no hot water. I went to see management but spoke to the guide Johann who went into the office and advised the manager that we had no hot water. I was outside of the office and personally heard her reply "They complained yesterday, they do have hot water". Needless to say I was very unhappy with this total lack of customer service. T

he maintenance guys had looked at the solar panel the night before and found nothing wrong with it. Finally a chap called stephen came out and came with me to the chalet. he looked at the solar panel, ran the water both in the taps and the shower and declared that we had no hot water. I told him I had overheard the manager. We were put on to a generator and that night we had hot water. we did receive a basket of fruit and a note to say sorry, by this time I just wanted to get out of the place.

WE had a bottle of wine on our first evening in the chalet and the dirty wine glasses were still there when we left two nights later even though the housekeeping had come in and made our bed!

The second sink leaked and so instead of getting water in the sink it ended up all over the bathroom floor!

Being Wilderness Safaries we thought the food would be as good as at Anderssons Camp but it was quite poor. we had lunch which was a cucumber soup which was truly inedible, (my husband eats anything but wouldn't eat it). The last night's main meal consisted of some kind of bland potato pasta, uncooked red cabbage and a chewy stew. The chef seriously needs more training.

The overall manager Lena and Stephen were very helpful and listened to our complaints and did somethng about them. But the other manager we found to be unfriendly and I think she was the one who made the comment that I overheard.

The camp is pretty large with 19 chalets and it felt very commercialised. This feeling may have been heightened by the fact that we had come from Entendeka which is the opposite.

Although the rooms were nice the service is poor and we would certainly not recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Family P
Belgium

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2009
"Nice welcome here from Agnes and large rooms with good views - hot water bottles were a nice touch. Nice to see solar panels being used to heat water for showers and fun to have option of showering outside!

Food was good, but a bit rushed. Swimming pool would have benefitted from some lighting in the evening. The staff sang after supper but, unfortunately, we had not been told this would be happening and had already gone to our rooms.

There were not enough torches to go round so it was good we had brought our own." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
London

"Sublime place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Our stay here was excellent, with fantastic 'rooms' (especially the outdoor showers) and outstanding service in a truly spectacular location.

Food was delicious and we spent a long time in close proximity to Desert Elephants on our morning activity. We were also shown where to find Welwitschia in the grounds and the night sky viewed from the roof was breathtaking." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"The best of the camps we visited. Staff very welcoming, stunning location and great rooms.

Sleeping outside is highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Notts

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"We wanted to use Doro Nawas because of its links with the community and its place as part of a conservancy and we weren't disappointed with the feedback we got from all the people there about how it brings in an income that is then distributed to the wider community. The staff were happy to talk to us about how it all worked and were obvioulsy enormously proud of what was being achieved. I just hope that the rudeness from another English group (not with Expert Africa I have to say!), making comments, and asking what we thought were intensely personal questions about life in Namibia and ethnic isues, does not give the staff there the impression that all English people are so ignorant! We certainly wanted to apologise for their rudeness and insensitivity.

Anyway, the important bits are: The location is wonderful, the rooms enormous and so luxurious, and the 'bed out under the stars' had to be tried, even though it only lasted a few hours due to the damp night. Tracking elephants was great fun, and so rewarding to get so close and spend so long with the group. Food and facilities in the main camp couldn't be faulted and to end each evening with the magical singing from the staff made it a very special place. Tranquil, peaceful, with huge views and wonderful sunsets." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 331-340 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa