This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 341-350 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"The best lodge on the trip!
Very roomy lodge and we wheeled the beds out onto the verandah to sleep out under the stars.

Elephant drive was a fantastic five hours.

Food and service excellent." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"We had only one night here but we were lucky enough to have the desert elephants in the neighbourhood.

The place is wonderfully located and they've thought of everything to help you make the most of it. We felt spoiled! We did sleep part of the night outside., even with fresh winter temperatures it was much worth trying out." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"After sorting out the problem with our first flat tyre of the trip we arrive at the lodge and again a friendly welcome which makes you forget those gravel roads!!! Very nice room with beautiful view and again we found the extra blankets and the hot water bottles.

Food was good but at times a bit extravagant and it didn't help the fact that the dining room was poorly lit. Staff again very professional and friendly and they sang for the guests at the end of the evening meal!!

Ignatious our guide was superb in finding the most beautiful views for the snacks and the sundowners!!!

Overall a place in a beautiful setting and once again we can only praise Wilderness Safari for their professionalism." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2009
"Moving your bed to your own veranda and sleep under the Namibian stars was an unforgettable experience. The spacious and tasteful lodge was overall a very nice and charming place to stay. A special note for the hot water bottles we got before we went to sleep: they were very welcome, because it was pretty cold at night.

In our opinion, the food and service were both very good as well. However, we felt that the woman we thought was the manager was a little too formal and 'professional', which did not really add to the relaxed and warm African atmosphere.

Doro Nawas is pretty well-located for a self-drive to the Twijfelfontein area. Since the prices of the trips are fairly high if you book them at Doro Nawa, we suggest that people drive themselves to the highlights. The high prices (more than 1,000 Namibian dollars for the morning drive) were also the reason that we did not attend the desert elephant drive. Instead of that, we took an afternoon guided walk through the surroundings of the lodge, which was a very pleasant and exciting walk, as the guide told us a lot in a relaxed pace and since we came across pretty fresh cheetah prints." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2009
"I have mixed feelings about Doro Nawas. The accommodation itself was by far the best we had i.e. the rooms were huge, well equiped, beautiful decor etc..and I loved the outdoor shower! But I found the staff almost unfriendly and when we asked for things e.g. ice in our drinks, butter for our toast, I got the impression it was a hassle for them.

I was also left with a bad taste in my mouth due to the cost of their activites. As I mentioned with Kulala Desert Lodge, I find the camps under the Wilderness Safari group very expensive. But where as I found the dune trip with Kulala worth it for what was included, I didn't with Doro Nawas. Given how cheap things are locally N$1,305 for the elephant trip was silly.

The main reason for going to this lodge is to see the desert elephants, but you can't drive yourself, so you have to join their trip, so I guess they can charge what they like. It was basically a game drive, and the independant lodges we visited generally charged around N$200 for a game drive. The lodge is in a lovely area, and it was great to see the elephants, but the cost of it spoilt the experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2009
"We only stayed one night at Doro Nawas, essentially as a stop-over on the long journey between Swakopmund and Desert Rhino Camp so we did'nt have time to do any walks, drives or activities. The location, on a hill with 360 degree views is certainly spectacular. Had a very similar feel to Sossus Dune Lodge (see our review) with the same downsides. Not a place we would personally go to again." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr W & Ms G
Glamorgan

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"Incredible views. Very attentive staff who persevered with solving our broken safe.

Excursions very expensive." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2009
"This is a lovely and very unusual lodge - the setting is stunning and very unexpected!

The staff were more than helpful and there was a lot of flexibility in the type and time of activities. The food was nice and we particularly enjoyed 3pm tea and cake!!

The singing and dancing by the staff was wonderful and gave a very authentic african feel to our stay!

The stars here were amazing and the fact that someone is on hand to help with stargazing was great!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M,P&Mrs L&H
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2009
"A fantatic drive to get to Dora ! Nawas, we visited Burnt mountain, the organ pipes and Twyfelfontein on the way all worth a visit.

Our rooms were fantasic with balcones at the front looking out towards mountains and also steps upto a roof top balcony.
The main part of the lodge looks like a fortress and of an evening you can go to the roof top and look at the stars, you can also wheel your bed out onto the balcony of your room, we did do this and the stars were amazing, I must admit though we did not last longer than 30mins or so as there were still mosquito's and lots of other creepy crawlies trying to join us, the experience is a must though.

We went on an eve excursion to track Elephants and although we did not see them, there were lots of tracks and the whole experience was fantastic, we even had to get out and push the jeep as we got stuck in sand, it was just so exciting, great fun." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Falcon
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2009
"See previous comments. I would add that the guiding was good, but not of the very high standard experienced at e.g. Okonjima or Hobatere." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Showing 341-350 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa