This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 351-360 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Falcon
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2009
"The regular manager went on leave the day we arrived. We were disappointed by the level of attention to detail of the management. Cleanliness of the bungalows left something to be desired. Staff were friendly but not as well trained as at e.g Okonjima. The atmosphere was a little too laid back and the food was disappointing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Tennessee

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2009
"fabulous new facility

sites to see nearby were less exciting that the phenomenal ones we experienced near Sossuslvei, Swapkopmund, and Ongave Lodge" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Seeing desert elephants at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2009
"Most amazing location. The rooms are vast and extremely well appointed with the possibility of wheeling the enormous bed on to the huge private verandah to sleep under the stars (we didn't as there was slight rain the nights we stayed.

Graham was ill and could not leave the room and the staff were most solicitous and concerned. He said it was the best room to recover in. I went on an early morning desert elephant search alone with an excellent guide, Lister. He was great company and very patient and after a few hours we came upon two groups of elephants who had come together. It was fabulous being so close to these majestic creatures who totally ignored us and we spent a magical hour and a half just observing them." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2009
"We arrived on a stiflingly hot afternoon to be greeted by cold towels and Fiona's beaming smile - don't think she stopped smiling all the time we were there! All the staff were friendly and gave the impression they were delighted to see us. Joe (the manager) spent much bar-leaning time discussing the pros and cons of driving the Skeleton Coast road with us and very kindly offered to have our repaired tyre re-checked for us.

Lester, our guide, took us on an excellent trip to see the elephants - Oscar got a little too close for comfort, attempting to stick his head in the vehicle! We even got to see meerkats!

Our room (no 9) was large, bright and airy - even so we wheeled the bed out onto the balcony on our second night - amazing experience to wake at 3am and see the Milky Way overhead - it was by far the coollest (in both senses of the word) place to sleep and we'll remember it for a long time.

Food was plentiful and wholesome though service of cooked breakfasts was slow, delaying some people on their morning activity.

Activitied are rated as 'good' rather than 'excellent' as we thought some were overpriced.

We would return without hesitation" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs P
UK

"Favourite destination."

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2008
"Standards generally very high.

Excursion costs exhorbitant.

Open air sleeping a delight." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"We loved Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2008
"Beautiful and very spacious accommodation. We were impressed by the way the this had been constructed so as to blend in with the landscape.

Very friendly staff, good service. We had a very good guide, Lister, who managed to find the desert elephants.

One of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Helensborough

"Another amazing place"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2008
"This is another amazing place. The rooms have to be seen to be believed with enough space to accommodate a family of six! That is not including the huge balcony.

Guests are invited to roll the bed out on to the balcony and, 'sleep under the stars'. We thought we would give it a try - at 12.30 it started raining resulting in a frantic dash to get the bed back in! Do not try this in the wet season.

The trip to look for the desert elephants was a great success - we saw two seperate groups although seeing any is never guaranteed.

Our first dinner was not up to the standards we had become used to but the second was described in our diary as "good".

Once again, the staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"The Desert adapted elephants"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2008
"Excellent location and conveniently close to the Twyfelfontein area ( paintings, petrified forest, burnt mountain and organ pipes) for those that are self-driving.

The morning game drive was efficient and enjoyable. The Desert adapted elephants were the purpose of the drive." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Berkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"Very friendly staff - the manager, Jo, tried very hard to please.

The accommodation was very high standard and the thought of sleeping under the stars seemed a good idea until we were told they were expecting the temperature to drop to 9 degs that night!

The trip to track the desert elephants was exceptional - Gabriel our guide soon picked up fresh tracks from the early morning and we followed these to discover a herd of elephants in the hills. The highlight being the sighting of a 2 day old baby. We sat very close to the herd for well over an hour.

We also did the trip to Twyfelfontein, again with Gabriel as our guide, this was combined with a nature drive and a beautiful sunset with a sundowner." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Crowthorne

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"We were looking forward to our stay in Doro Nawas and we were not disappointed. The chalets are very spacious and well appointed, the main area is relaxed and friendly with superb views over the desert. We sat on the veranda looking out for some elephants! On our first afternoon we relaxed by the pool, which is very secluded.

Our guide took us to the elephants, which were a long way from the camp. Although our guide was determined to find the elephants she did not seem to have the all around passion for Namibia that we found in the previous guides. We paid quite a lot for the trip to the rock paintings but being taken there was relaxing and we finished the day with a sun-downer and some interesting conversations in a beautiful spot.

Sleep outside, it feels very special with so many stars and shooting stars and the cool pure air of the desert! The food was good and the young girls in the restaurant were charming ." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 351-360 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa