This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Return to Desert Homestead"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"Very friendly and helpful staff who allocated us our requested, in advance, end of line chalet. Also gave me use of personal cell phone to confirm return flights when lodge PC on blink. Excellent pack lunch.

Need to upgrade check out procedure as bills written up manually which caused some delays when more than one person wanted to leave at the same time. Food not as good as five years ago (appeared to have changed management since then) pork chop instead of local game." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F & family
London

"Desert Homestead"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2012
"Not as swanky as Kulala, but a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were charming, and the staff were helpful. We enjoyed lunch, dinner, and lounging by the pool (not brave enough to go in the freezing water though!). The chairs etc by the pool are looking a bit tired, if I'm being very critical.

We had booked a sunrise horseride, which was excellent. Annoyingly I can't remember our guide's name which is a shame as he was great. None of us are experienced riders but he put us at our ease and let us dictate the pace and length of ride. As for the champagne breakfast (including bacon, sausage and eggs cooked over a fire): my kids reckoned it was the best breakfast they'd ever had.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Ireland

"desert homestead - magnificient"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2012
"beautiful warm welcome with much needed refreshing complimentary drink.

Stunning location with beautiful sunset right outside our chalet. chalet's gorgeous. very nice homely meal. would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs J & Family
Dunmow

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"I really enjoyed Desert Homestead there was a very friendly atmosphere and the staff were happy and helpful.

We had Megan lead our sundowner horseride who was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable. The only slight drawback was the lodge was a good 40 mins away from Sesriem which meant you had to travel a little bit further to see the dunes." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kiwis in
London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2012
"Desert Homestead was very comfortable.

Lighting to the rooms at night was not the greatest and it would have been useful if torches had been provided for the trip too and from the rooms in the evening. It would also have been useful to have some information in the rooms about the lodge and activities. Also not enough bedding (or a hot water bottle would have been good) to keep you warm in the winter nights!

The staff here were all very very good and we did do two of the activities offered. Both we thought were worth the money paid due to the guides' knowledge." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms S
Germany

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2012
"I remember the "Wow feeling" when we arrived at Desert Homestead. The view is fantastic and the lodge terrace is inviting. Unfortunately it was much too cold to make use of the lovely little swimming pool.
The bungalows have everything you need, except a safe (maybe because it's not necessary) and of course there's no TV (thanks God!)
The dinner was one of the best we've had during our trip. Because of the cold weather, the fire place in the dining room was lit and it made the evening really cosy.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr I
London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"The desert homestead is situated in the most amazing area.

I went on a great walk up the mountain on my first day and the views from up there were amazing. Although the horse riding I had booked and paid for was initially cancelled due to the movement of horses, I eventually did some the following day which I thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely, kind horses and a really nice young lady took us out.

I was unable to go an a guided tour to Sossusvlei and nearby attractions (only me booked with a min of two requirement) and had it not been for an old Gentleman American taking me there with his private driver/guide (who knew the area well), I would have missed the horse riding as I couldn't possibly have driven through it all in the same amount of time to make it back on time. That was lucky! Apart from that, the stay was great with amazing food and kind and helpful staff.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs L
Kent

"Desert Homestead review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"Excellent location near to Sossusvlei with stunning views.

Over three nights the evening meal varied from average to very good.

We found the service oppressive. A constant stream of unwelcome conversations, when we preferred to be left alone to do our own thing. Took an age for them to sort out a very simple bill and I was hauled back form the car park on departure, being wrongly told that I had to pay for evening meals when the booking was for half board.

It was very cold and windy overnight and early morning, so be prepared. I thought it was just me but the breakfast waitress was wearing a woolly hat and gloves. By mid morning it was sunny and warm for a day at the dunes.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W
London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2012
"Wonderful setting with stunning views from the room and the terrace area, with very welcoming and helpful staff. The decor in the rooms is rustic but with all the facilities needed. The food was home cooking in style but tasty and with generous portions and the breakfast pack was a great touch which enabled us to head off to Sossusvlei for sunrise.

We really enjoyed the sundowner horse ride - Abel was a great guide and the horses suitable to our (in)experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The M Family
London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2011
"We thought the service at Desert Homestead was excellent and the staff friendly and well-organised. The atmosphere engendered meant that the guests communicated with each other in a way that just doesn't seem to happen at Canon Lodge.

The food was probably the best among the commercial lodges.

My family very much enjoyed the sundowner ride.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa