This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2013
"The chalets were well situated looking out into the beautiful desert. There is a small pool for cooling off in the hot afternoons. Dinner was served very nicely on the outside terrace.

We asked for a take away breakfast and left in time to be at the park gate when it opened. It is a long drive within the park to get to the end of the road where the shuttle takes you further and by the time we arrived at our hiking set off point the sun was quite high and it was already very warm (in the end of Nov). This is another situation where staying within the park would have allowed access to the dunes earlier in the morning and late in the evening(without a long drive back to Desert Homestead in the dark). The lodge was comfortable and staff very nice." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Farnham

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2013
"We used Desert Homestead for their horse riding services. Our daughters are keen riders and we booked a two day ride and camp out which the excellent Megan as guide. We all agree that this was the best family trip ever!

The horses were all in good condition and while my wife and I were beginners our children were still able to gallop across huge plains surrounded by fantastically coloured mountains. The three hour ride culminated at sunset with the children galloping in with a herd of Oryx! The camp was in an idyllic spot set up under a weavers nest and overlooking the plain and mountains. Food, BBQ and drinks awaited us and a moon free night sky of amazing brilliance completed a perfect day.

The next day my wife and got a lift back to the lodge allowing Megan and our daughters to whiz back in under half the time it took us to hack out. The lodge was attractive and the service and food good. The rooms were well appointed, but draughty in the gale that was blowing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms V family trip
UK

"Beautifully designed fabulous place"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"We loved everything about this place. It looks amazing, rooms were lovely, staff were wonderful, food was great, view was beautiful - everything superb!

One of our favourite destinations." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs S
UK

"En route to the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2013
"We think this booking was a mistake involving a one hour there and back to Sesriem/Sossusvlei. There are plenty of lodges much nearer or within the park. Also not a particularly good lodge." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
JBB
Surrey

"Desert Homestead Review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and plenty of help to carry our luggage down to our little thatched 'house'.

The individual 'houses' were well designed, comfortable & had glorious views over the desert.

The food was good and the staff most helpful.

We decided not to take up any of the offered escorted trips as we felt they were very overpriced and could do them in our own vehicle." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Awesome Location - Wasted Potential!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2012
"When we initially arrived at The Desert Homestead we were very excited about its location and views of the surrounding landscape. From each chalet there is one of the most beautiful views of the Naukluft Mountain Range and the valley next to it. The food was very good.

However, we had a really bad experience with the cleanliness of our room and response to our complaints. When we arrived in our chalet we noticed that the sink and the shower drain were almost completely clogged. It was obvious that whoever cleaned the room did not notice (= clean) or did not care about both drains being clogged. There was even a smell of sewage in the room. We went with the person who greeted us and let her know about the problem. She was with another staff member (or even the main manager, who did not even care to introduce herself to us) putting up Christmas decoration around the lodge. She told us that she was going to take care of it.

A few hours later when we went back to our room, the problem had not been corrected so we went back and informed someone else (because the first person we told was not around). He said he was going to send someone immediately which he did. When we went back to the room, to our really bad surprise, we found several clumps of wet foul-smelling hair on our bathroom floor. We could not believe it!!! We went back to told the initially person we spoke with and informed her of the situation. She even asked us if we wanted someone to clean the room again! The worst part about all, is that they only had four guests total including us two. They were not even busy!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Desert Homestead for Sossusvlei dunes"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2012
"The only niggle here was that the individual thatched rooms became unbearably hot making sleeping at night difficult because you were wet through, no air conditioning except to open windows and move the hot air around with the large ceiling fan.

A warm and friendly welcome from the staff, the food was very good, both breakfast and evening. It was HOT there, so the pool was very welcome.

Marvellous day trip to Sossusvlei and the dunes, our guide was very knowledgeable and found and showed us things you would never have seen on your own, such as a Sidewinder snake and a White Lady spider that builds a silken trap with a lid under the sand. Champagne breakfast included in the trip, just for us two, wonderful.

Another word of warning for self drivers, BEWARE of sand roads ie. the D845 between the C27 and C19 just before Desert Homestead, we got bogged down to the axles in sand and had to dig ourselves out with the help of a passing 4X4 with a spade." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms J
Brighton

"Fab location"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"The staff were helpful and pleasant. It was initally a bit confusing as staff seemed to do everything ie we weren't sure if it was the manager who carried our bag; our Soussusvlei trip guide brought our food one night. It might be useful if this was mentioned in the welcome ie 'all of us do everything here so don't be surprised if....'

The Soussesvlei guide, Vilo, was excellent.

I'm afraid the stereotype of Germans bagging the sunbeds all day with towels was confirmed! Get in quick if you're planning a lazy spell by the pool.

The bathrooms didn't bother us - you can always go outside." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"A favourite place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"A return visit to Desert Homestead after four years and we were not disappointed.

Staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and we spent a very enjoyable time with our guide Seven at the dunes. Comfortable rooms and nice food. A very relaxing stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"This was a bit"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"What we expected since everyone just comes down here to see the dunes.
Staff OK but not as friendly as other lodges.
Our guide to the dunes was fantastic , a super day." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa