This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead
Desert Homestead

Reviews of Desert Homestead

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Homestead and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Homestead.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Zebra

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Food and accommodation excellent. No trips on offer for the afternoon/evening we arrived, but the pool area was nice.

The trip to the dunes and Sossuvlei was brilliant even though it was freezing travelling there!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The W family
Holland

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"It is a very good place to stay for some nights." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"They were upgrading the rooms when we were there and we were lucky to get a room that was already done. Rooms are nice with a great view of the desert. Staff is very friendly.

We travelled with a baby and a very nice touch was that they not only supplied a cot, but also a baby tub for him to have a bath on our veranda.

He enjoyed the most luxurious bath imaginable with a view of a breath taking sunset." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"Good place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"An interestingly located lodge about 35km from Sesriem/Sossuvlei which are the main reasons I would imagine one would stay here. The drive up to the national park entrance to Sossuvlei takes about 30 minutes followed by a 40 minute drive through the park on a tarred road. The lodge offer a guided excursion to Sossuvlei but at 850 Nam $ each it seemed excessively expensive and we drove ourselves.The lodge also offers horse riding activities but we did not avail ourselves of these.

The rooms are small circular stone built which although well equipped (though again without a toilet door), do have a tendency to retain heat, even with the ceiling fan on. On the first night there we hardly spelt as it was so uncomfortably hot; opening the windows offsets much of the heat but it can be quite blowy.

The meals are taken in the main area which also houses a small swimming pool. The food was excellent and the service very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The J Family
Herts

"Nice stay, but quite a drive to the park gate"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Even though Desert Homestead is just off the 'main' road (if there is such a thing in Namibia) it felt really remote - great location.
Some nice walks to be done from the lodge.

Really enjoyed the sunset horse ride - which was just fine for novices. Sundowners under a tree with a huge Sociable Weavers nest, and a peaceful plod back home enjoying the scenery and quiet." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2014
"The rooms themselves were very basic. They got incredibly hot which meant we really didn't sleep much on our first night. The rooms didn't cool down much at night even though the outside temperatures did. They had ceiling fans but they were pretty ineffective as they were too high and they channelled the breeze up rather than down. We understand from the manager that they are in the process of putting in air con but it isn't done yet. There are also lots of biting insects in the room. We woke up the first morning covered in bites even though we put the mosquito nets down. The second night we sprayed the whole area round the bed with bug spray before putting the mosquito net down and it was fine.

However, on the plus side the manager Andy is great and he makes sure all the guests are well looked after. The food is excellent.

We did the sundowner horse ride which was brilliant. We are experienced riders and there were also two beginners as well. They split up the group so we went with two different guides. The beginners walked to the sundowner spot and we went the long way round trotting and cantering most of the way. I would definitely recommend it for experienced riders.

We did a self drive trip to the dunes. We left the lodge just after 5 am and drove to the park gate. We drove to the parking area where we the shuttle to dead vlei and sossus vlei. We walked up the dunes at both places. Be aware that you are reliant on the shuttle. It was fine getting to dead vlei, then we had a short wait to go to on to sossus vlei but then we had to wait for almost an hour in the baking heat for a shuttle back to the parking area. Because of this I would recommend taking lots of water with you plus something to eat.

There are some very tame black backed jackals that hang out in the parking area scavenging for scraps. In terms of cost it is 80 rand to get into the park, plus 100 rand for the shuttle. This compares to 850 rand for the guided tour offered by the lodge. So it is quite a large difference in cost. If you have a 4x4 you can drive to dead vlei and sossus vlei yourself and not use the shuttle. However i would only recommend this if you are experienced driving on soft sand. We saw a number of vehicles that got stuck.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Great trip to dunes but too hot at night"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2014
"Charming accommodation spoiled by no air conditioning in the room, an absolute necessity in January. Also bar could only make 3 ice cubes per 30 minutes in the ineffective machine. Need a better solution. New owners seem enthusiastic but need to fix these problems.

Food was very good. Best was the trip to the dunes. Marco was good fun and very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms O & friends
London

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2013
"The location was close enough to the dunes." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Lovely Christmas Eve Meal"

2 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2013
"We really liked this accommodation and the views were marvellous. Food and service were first class and in particular we had a really nice evening meal on 24th December which was quite special. We were up early for a trip to the Dunes ( 5.00 am ) as it gets too hot later on and the hotel had made us a packed breakfast which was a nice touch.

The trip to Sossusvlei was well worth it and the scenery spectacular. Many photos were taken ! We took the shuttle jeep from the car park and climbed a dune and entered Dead Vlei ! The temperature was above 40 degrees. Very exhillerating climb/slide down the dune side to get into Dead Vlei. Nice sundowners back at the hotel !" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Mrs S
UK

"Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2013
"We loved it here. Helpful, relaxing." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 98
91%
98 reviews of Desert Homestead by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
31
2
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa