This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

62% success

Zebra

58% success

Brown Hyena

42% success

Giraffe

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2013
"What a gem of a place! The staff are so welcoming and so talented, their singing was superb and they put themselves out to give us a great time. We are so grateful for the lovely candle decoration of the wine-cellar where they served us a special dinner. The guide we had when Charles left, Willie, was very friendly and gave us a good trip to the wine-farm.

Sleeping on the roof was wonderful, no bugs and not cold, but it seemed a waste of time to sleep when there are so many stars to look at.
We loved the lay-out of the room and its exterior." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Lechdale

"Fabulous setting"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2012
"Achieves in the desert what Little Ongava achieves at Etosha - breathtaking location, facilities, activities & service." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Massachusetts

"Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Another wonderful experience. Elizabeth and the staff made our stay very memorable, they went beyond our expectations.

The activities provided were exceptional." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Buckinghamshire

"Little Kalula"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"A typical Wilderness camp. Very comfortable, excellent service and food. It's easy to become blasé about Wilderness but they maintain such consistently high standards of service and ethics that they should be encouraged to continue in this vain.

Guide very good but not quite up to the standards of Wildernesses guides in Zambia and Botswana." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
IOM

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2012
"First class accommodation, well executed with attentive and active managers. The rooms were spacious with lovely private relaxing space. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Our full day trip to Sossusvlei was excellent. Our guide was Willem who was very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to look around and take photographs. We didn't feel that we were being rushed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Northants

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2012
"Very well organised from arrival to departure. Our guide, Willy, was excellent.

All staff very friendly, food good, trip to sand dunes amazing." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Oasis in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2011
"I had a bad fall on our first night; the staff looked after me beautifully. My bruises were much helped by the magic hands of Ermelinde (massage therapist). A big thrill was the ostrich family with 17 chicks walking past our room.

The dunes were everything we hoped and then some. "A" earned bragging points by climbing Big Daddy. Our guide, Edward, was very good but somewhat hampered by a sprained ankle." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Twickenham

"Desert and dunes at Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2011
"As this was the first stop on our tour, we did not really have an appreciation of the Wilderness approach to guests, so had not realised that there would be a greater than usual engagement with the hotel staff and guides. This was not a problem once we worked it out, but we were a bit surprised when they came and stood by our table and chatted during dinner.

Having said this the staff were all fantastic, especially the temporary manager Gregory, and our guide Abner was knowledgeable, helpful and fun. The room was great - perhaps the whole place was a little 'over designed' for our tastes, but nevertheless a fantastic lodge and a great place to start the visit.

Incidentally your notes about additional charges for certain types of drinks - spirits and SA wines - were inaccurate. We were not charged for anything extra throughout the whole visit." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
NZ

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2011
"It was a beautiful camp and we were looked after superbly. Great food, our guide Elaine was great as were ALL the staff.

It was very exciting to see our first Sprinkbok pronking and the ostriches with their chicks (the only chicks we saw). Dunes suprb - toilet facilities ther ghastly. It would have been good to have ben warned!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Surrey

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"A luxurious camp that lived up to expectations - all the more impressive since it is so very remote and isolated.

The scenery and isolation appealed to us very much. In common with our experience throughout Namibia, the staff were very warm, friendly and excellent at their jobs." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 69
98%
69 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
64
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (340 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (184 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (179 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (12 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa