This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

62% success

Zebra

58% success

Brown Hyena

42% success

Giraffe

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-68 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
The B family
Swindon

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Very tranquil location, where you felt that you had arrived in the middle of nowhere. A great start for the holiday.

Amazing beds, bedrooms and camp. The food is really wonderful.

Sleeping under the stars is like you are in a planetarium... we had a fantastic night up on the roof." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Memories of The Flintstones"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2010
"A 2 hour transfer by Land Rover from Wolwedans across the NamibRand Reserve and the contrast in scenery was unbelievable. From the rust red we then travelled past huge granite boulders and wide open plains. When we arrived at Little Kulala it was like arriving on the surface of the moon. Quite eclectic accommodation but really charming and comfortable with amazing views. Great tour to the sand dunes at Sossusvlei and the Dead Vlei Forest.

Apart from the amazing experience of climbing our first dune and descending almost vertically, a great highlight was the hot air ballooning over the dunescape at sunrise. Another unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K & Dr P
London

"A magical desert lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"Little Kulula was an exceptional experience - we loved our stay there. The rooms , lodge and location were fantastic. We had an exceptional personal guide who went to great lengths to ensure we had a special stay. The general service was excellent - everyone was very helfpul and friendly - though at times the table service could have been a little more attentive - though this didn't bother us.

The food was 'very good', wholesome and tasty - with many local dishes - though probably not excellent considering the price - once again this did not affect our stay at all. The inclusive wine list was also excellent with some superb Sout African wines. We especially appreciated the extra effort made to give us a special dinner on our first night (it was our honeymooon and a candle lit dinner in the wine cellar was arranged by one of the managers!) We would recommend Little Kulala to anyone and would love to go back some day!

Ballooning trip:

Magical early morning ballon flight - We had a fantastic experience ballooning over the Namib-Nauklif Park with dunes on one side and sunrise on the other. It was peaceful and fun at the same time - so glad we did it! It was all capped off with a fantastic champagne breakfast at the base of a dune!!" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"Stunning rooms and a beautiful main lodge. Very friendly staff, and we enjoyed the Monday night singing experience - Rosa has an amazing voice. Our guide was Rosie, and we found ourselves with 4 other women when we went on excursions, and it was tremendous fun.

Three of us managed to climb Big Daddy, starting from the tail (2 hours to get up, 10 minutes to run down...). It was tough going, but really worth it. Rosie was an excellent guide, always with suggestions to make sure we had the best experience/got the best photos.

We saw a secretary bird here, and a hyena at the watering hole. We did a short hike too.

I spent one night on the roof bed - the night sky was just incredible, and I hardly got any sleep as I just wanted to take in the sky!
From here we flew to Damaraland, via Swakopmund, and we were given a stunning sightseeing flight on the bit to Swakopmund. I'm a GA pilot, and it's not often I have a flight that's this much fun!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs R
York

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"A wonderful location and a very comfortable camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
Surrey

"Fabulous trip to the dunes"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2009
"Generally we loved this place and the trip to the dunes was fabulous.

Great room. Particularly the outdoor shower.

Our only small issue was that we were woken at 4am two mornings in a row, despite our hot air balloon flight having been cancelled due to bad weather - I think there was a little bit of confusion between the staff - One morning 3 people came to our room between 4 and 4.30 with different messages - in the end we had to get up and go to reception to find out if out balloon flight was cancelled or not." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms J
Hampstead

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2008
"Amazing resort. Truly memorable. Sleeping outside under the stars was fantastic." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"This was one of the highlights of our trip, with very luxurious Kulalas and comunal areas, great service, easy access to the dunes and knowledgeable guides. Michael went out of his way to make our honeymoon special.

The sun downer spot on our last night at Little Kulala was amazing, one of the best sunsets I have ever seen." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-68 of 68
98%
68 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (340 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (182 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (177 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


94% (10 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa