This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

69 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

62% success

Zebra

58% success

Brown Hyena

42% success

Giraffe

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 69
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Desert Luxury"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"Much more game than expected, still mystied as to how it survives. Don't expect to see sunrise over the dunes, but great sunset from the Naukluft hills. Excellent guide." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bath

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"Little Kulala is a great location to visit Sossuvlei and the sand dunes of the Namib desert The scenery is stunning and the camp is beautifully presented to take full advantage.

Game viewing is limited - you will see plenty of Oryx but not much else although we did come across a side winding adder in the dunes. At night it is amazingly quiet and peaceful. Each lodge has a roof terrace and it is possible to sleep in the open, which we did but note that at this time of year (July) it gets very cold at night and into the morning.

The camp was well run. The guides were helpful and pleasant. Likewise the food, general areas of the camp and the laundry service were all very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Prof D & Mrs H
UK

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We had a lovely time at little Kulala - it's a beautiful location with great staff. It was a pity it was too cold and windy to use the outdoor spaces as much as we would have liked - the terrace and roof area of the tent were very attractive places to sit.

I was a bit confused by the room to room massage service - it was unclear if it was included in the price and the lady taking bookings behaved quite strangely when I said I didn't want to book one (looked at me as if I was crazy and then started explaining what it was all over again - all I had said was "no thank you" which shouldn't have been too hard to understand....).

The highlight of the activities was driving through and climbing up the red sand dunes, and the quad biking was also fun." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Very luxurious lodge with excellent service all round. Fantastic location and high quality food. Really liked the evening entertainment provided by the floodlit area around the watering hole attracting visitors whilst dining and when our guide took us scorpion hunting before dinner, equipped with UV light.

The dunes were obviously the reason we were there and our activities there did not disappoint." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Melbourne

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2014
"Fabulous camp, lovely setting, great staff, super guide (who we had to ourselves!).

Loved the way he drew maps on the windscreen with his texter ! Really knowledgeable about history, culture, politics, etc. Food good. Red dunes at Sossouvlei( sp?) are very special...Trip to Sesriem worthwhile..." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Excellent activities and a top quality lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"As this is marketed as one of Wilderness Safaris Premier Camps, we were expecting great things and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were fantastic, and we loved the floor to ceiling windows which allowed us to watch ostriches wandering past at a very close distance. Whilst the air-con was hardly eco-friendly, we have to admit it was most welcome on a couple of exhaustingly hot afternoons. One point to note is that the plunge pool was effectively a mud-bath because wind had blown so much sand into it. Can't be helped but it wasn't useable and maybe something Wilderness will need to address if they are going to promote their presence.

In terms of activities, we really enjoyed the trip to the dunes and Soussevlei which do leave very early but necessarily so, because of the heat. We also enjoyed the trip to the canyon although this left quite early in the afternoon when the heat was at its highest and we really did have to drag ourselves out of the room. We also opted for an afternoon sundowner trip on our first day and this was also good - the location for the drinks was breathtaking, supplemented by seeing a group of mountain zebra as we stopped.

Finally, both the service and the quality of the food in the lodge were unsurpassed by any of the future lodges. It really was top notch without being aloof." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"One of the best lodges we have visited. The staff were very professional and knowledgeable and also very friendly

The visit to the dunes was brilliant

An outstanding place" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Great Wake

"Little Kulala review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2013
"Wonderful place, couldn't fault it. After having had an accident at a previous lodge the staff went out of their way to help me all they could. They were efficient and kind on just the right balance.

My husband went on the trip to the dunes and the dead vlei and the photographs he brought back are stunning.

Would love to go back." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms E
Sweden

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2013
"On my first night I was the only guest and on the second there was just a couple who I didn't see much of.

I was extremely well taken care of - dinner with the manager the first night and with my guide on the second. In other words I didn't have to feel lonely.

The guide, Nicky, was fun and very knowledgeable so I had a very good time. I loved his way of using the windscreen as a whiteboard, writing explanations etc about what he was talking about." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SBD
UK

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2013
"Very good lodge, albeit larger and less intimate than Boulders.

Location not spectacular, but close to the park gate, which makes it convenient for early park entry.

Excellent food and "bushman's dinner". Our guide EpiMarkus was very nice and thoughtful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 69
98%
69 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
64
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (340 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (184 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (179 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (12 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa