This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

165 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 141-150 of 165
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"The electric gate has now been fixed, I understand, and, I hope that there is now a bell or other alert system to advise management that guests have arrived.

Having said that, Galton House was very comfortable, with good food, decent white wine but rather poor red.

The staff were absolutely excellent and could not have done more to help than they did.

The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.

No problem in recommending this Guest House." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms & Miss S
Vancouver

"Lovely place to stay"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"There just one night but found the place very nice and clean and the staff very accommodating.

Someone who drove in right after us got robbed as she got out of her car. I believe that problem was mentioned I prep notes." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We returned to Galton House at the end of our stay and the staff were as efficient and friendly as when we had arrived.

They looked after our luggage all day as we had a late flight and allowed us to get changed in the changing rooms at the pool when we were getting ready to leave. They apologised that they did not have a spare room at that time or they said we could have used that. They were very helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending Galton House as a place to stay in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"See previously. [Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Comfortable rooms in a quiet corner of Windhoek. Good service for breakfast and we liked the fact that we were driven to and from the restaurant we visited on the final night of our stay.

When we arrived about on Sunday, we were disappointed to discover that the restaurant was closed so no food was available. It would have been helpful to have known about that in advance." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"This was an excellent guest house, just out from the centre of Windhoek but within easy reach.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived very early on Sunday morning and they made us tea and looked after us until our room was ready. The rooms were lovely, clean and fresh. Would not hesitate to recommend this as a base for a stay in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
London

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"Reasonably comfortable, but rooms are accessed across an open area; not so good in the rain. They were helpful in setting up a town tour for us at short notice. Manager/chef Toulouse a nice and helpful man." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms H
Texas

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2014
"Already done - see above [ Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms H
Texas

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2014
"I stayed for two nights, the first before I went on safari and the second after I came back.

Pros:
1. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant, especially the receptionist Frances, who gave the Budget guys her body spray to use as a lubricant on the jammed locks of the Toyota pickup truck they delivered (Budget owes her a new spray). Also the young man whose name I forget, who booked me in when I arrived and then remembered me after I came back from my three-day safari. He also waited at table and was very pleasant and efficient.
2. The guesthouse serves dinner, which is very handy when one is tired and has no transport to go into town.
2. The food (at both dinner and breakfast) was excellent, well-prepared and beautifully served.
3. The kitchen is open and there is an "honour bar" refrigerator from which guests can get drinks. I was also offered a refill by one of the staff.
4. There is an attractive swimming pool, and the surrounding patio was very pleasant in the heat.

Cons:
1. The two bedrooms I was in had no fans and very little ventilation. They tended to get very hot, airless and smelly. The second one was also small, and felt a bit claustrophobic with no windows. All i could do was leave the door open.
2. The showers in the bathrooms had no doors on them, which meant water went all over the floors.
3. The guesthouse is in a residential neighbourhood, and there were dogs nearby barking at night and in the early morning. Not the guesthouse's fault, I know, but disturbing nonetheless.

Personal comments:
1. The place was very clean and the public rooms are open, with lots of places to sit and read or talk, also several shelves of books to read, but I found the the design and furnishings a bit too modern-minimalistic for my taste. The wild-life photographs on the walls, which were promoted in their marketing literature, seemed to me to show animals fleeing in terror from the plane, so also something of a turn-off for me.
2. The place was surprisingly quiet, considering the layout of several rooms opening onto a small central courtyard.
3. The place is not within walking distance of the town centre. Visitors require a car to get around." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Back to the real world"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2014
"Although this is a very modern and clean little hotel, we were disappointed that the room we had was very gloomy with small windows high up with a "view" of no more than an electric fence on top of a wall - this is more of a design flaw than the fault of the staff or management.

It is possible we were unlucky with our room. Food was served in a small dining room and was to a good standard. Staff were friendly but we did not see much of them!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 165
90%
165 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
94
63
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (126 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa