This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Heinitzburg Hotel
Heinitzburg Hotel
Heinitzburg Hotel

Reviews of Heinitzburg Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Heinitzburg Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Singapore

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"The room is small and comfortable, but nothing very special despite being a castle. We were given an adjoining room, and we could hear everything that was going on in the other room.

The service is slip-shod, and the concierge is disinterested and indifferent. We told them we were interested in visiting the National Museum and asked them if it was possible to walk there, and they told us we could. It was a good 20 minute walk in the hot sun, but more importantly, it was closed on Saturday, which they did not bother to tell us. When we asked them how long it took to get to the airport, their response was that they had never been to the international airport, so they didn't know. We had to ask them repeatedly to ask someone for this information.

The only thing going for the Heinitzburg is a lovely terrace that gives a commanding view of Windhoek. We had booked a table at Leo's Restaurant, but were told that we could not dine on the terrace even though we saw others dining on the terrace. We went to the restaurant at our booking time, and ate inside.

Later, we decided to move out to the terrace for drinks and saw others dining there again, so we asked about this one more time. This time, the manager overheard us and gave quite a rude and defensive reply - basically implying that it wasn't "personal". We didn't take it as such, we only wanted to understand why some people could dine outside and what the difference was. Essentially, there was a private event that took place earlier, and had we waited until 7pm (30 minutes after our dinner booking) we could also have gotten a table to dine outside. None of this was communicated to us, instead we were told about this in an unpleasant manner after the fact.

We would not recommend this hotel." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr I,Mrs A&friends
UK

"Ending our Namibian adventure on a high note."

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"A lovely welcome with canapes and sparkling wine. Porters to bring the luggage from the car park to our rooms was very welcome.

Excellent swimming pool and grounds. Terrace with views of the city was stunning, with more than sufficient tables and chairs for guests. Dinner, wines and breakfast were very special.

Staff were friendly and attentive and truly service ambassadors." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs B
Pennsylvania

"Well located"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2015
"Small boutique hotel within walking distance to city center.

Great restaurant, beautiful views from the terrace, friendly restaurant staff." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
PV
Ireland

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
PV
Ireland

"Nice hotel"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2015
"Comfortable hotel . Nice restaurant . Great place for sundowners!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2015
"Very good first stop, very comfortable, nice pool, good food.

Not well signed from the main road so worth giving people basic instructions & suggesting a stop at the supermarket nearby to get water and snacks for the days ahead." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr & Mr B
Cardiff

"Disappointing introduction to Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2014
"Beautiful terrace with panoramic view--service staff friendly and eager to please but did not appear to be empowered to make decisions without asking management. This was only place that did not welcome us with a drink---just told to sit on terrace until room was ready. Room large & nicely furnished but in a turret so very dark--when asked if they had lighter room manager appeared--arrogant manner---told us --what do you expect it's a castle---keep lights on if you don't like it.

Dinner in Restaurant 1st night was very expensive, odd combinations of ingredients, minute portions and served pretentiously under silver domes. Subtle pressure was exerted to have expensive drinks and to direct you towards dining in hotel restaurant. Groups of staff stood around watching you eating ,making you feel somewhat uncomfortable

Overall not very welcoming---rigid rules & regulations & pretentious

Shame because with a lighter touch could be very special. Swimming pool cold" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs P
Glasgow

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2014
"Very friendly staff, lovely big room, excellent breakfasts. Parking was safe.

Short walk into the centre of Windhoek." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Haslemere

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Very comfortable room with all facilities. Staff very helpful, food very good, but a bit chilly eating dinner on their terrace! Convenient location on Luxury Hill, and easy to get to from the airport.

Only 10 min walk to the Government run Craft market where we browsed the stalls with no haggling and pressure to buy - much easier to buy local Namibian made artefacts here than at other stalls on our journey round the country. Surprisingly though, no tea towels!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Impressive location, hotel very comfortable and made a good 1st night." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 40
85%
40 reviews of Heinitzburg Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
20
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (6 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa