This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Heinitzburg Hotel
Heinitzburg Hotel
Heinitzburg Hotel

Reviews of Heinitzburg Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Heinitzburg Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Surreal night at the Heinitzburg Hotel"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Although the hotel couldn't be faulted for its service or comfort, it wasn't our type of hotel. It would have been well suited in a European city, but had no 'African' feel or connection to Namibia.

We decided to eat there that night, as the view was so good from the terrace. However, the wine list was very over-priced and the food, although good, was rather pretentious. Having waiters wearing white gloves and whisking off silver tureens in unison, felt very peculiar in the middle of a small African city." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"Good location and very comfortable rooms. Nice having a beer while looking out over the city.

Food good but it did take an absolute age to get our bill (ended up going back to room & then coming back 10 minutes later & it still wasn't ready, and after our journey from the UK we were zonked)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Two couples
Bucks

"Heinitzberg Hotel"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2009
"...very much an institution. Lovely pool and views from the terrace. As the weather was bad and they were not serving dinner on the terrace we went downtowm to Joe's Diner which is much to be recommended, the meat was amazing!" See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Billericay

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"The room was noisy with road noise." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Very pleasant, attractive & comfortable rooms, food very good (portions were actually quite large, not tiny as had been suggested), service generally good although junior staff occasionally appeared slightly confused." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Erin

"Review of Heinitzberg"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2008
"We really enjoyed the views of Windhoek from the terrace. The food was excellent and the waiting staff attentive. On returning from dinner, our room had been spinkled with rose petals. The only disappointment was check-in. Having arrived at about 10 a.m., following our flight from London, it was implied that we would be able to check in early however we had to wait on the terrace until 2 p.m." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2007
"Another smooth paved drive into Windhoek where we enjoyed an afternoons shopping, a visit to a war cemetary and an excellent 'cordon bleu' meal in the hotel restaurant. We held our room until 4.oopm the following day and were able to swim, shower and generally lounge around until leaving for our flight home.

A nice, friendly and classy joint!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Suffolk

"Good First Night"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Nice as ever in most ways. Great that room was ready for us despite early morning arrival.

Dinner arrangements and service slow and chaotic though food itself as delicious as always. No time to try dessert though as so protracted and even kept waiting to sign bill first at the table then by the bar and when we gave up they finally came to the room by which time we were already in bed! Other diners were complaining about the service and giving people a sorbet as an apology did not go far enough. At the start we had to ask for menus after being kept waiting for ages and for some reason our glasses were removed at one point when we were only half way through our bottle of wine.

Things seemed less organised generally than before and eg housekeeping were re-making the bed and tidying the room under the impression we were there another night as we were packing to leave and check out which was a bit offputting.

Breakfast on the terrace was as enjoyable as ever but again service eg provision of coffee and clearing away used dishes was a bit lacking.

All in all the experience wasn't as smooth as previously and didn't inspire confidence." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 40
85%
40 reviews of Heinitzburg Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
20
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (6 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa