This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 301-310 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Southsea

"Very comfortable after night flight from UK"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"The comfort of this accommodation was very welcome after the long overnight flight. The large bath and bathroom helped to relax and refresh us from the journey. The room and the pool area was very comfortable and gave us an excellent start to our travels.

We took a short trip into Windhoek in the afternoon but glad that we ate at Olive Grove in the evening as the food and service was first class." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Warm welcome at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"Great start to a holiday. Friendly helpful staff. Good food and service. Bed very comfortable after a long night flight.

Highly recommended for an overnight stay. We met some like minded travellers in the bar before dinner and the staff happily pushed tables together so we could continue our conversation during the meal." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"Relaxing location"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"short stay to relax after the flight, made to feel very welcome." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"Great place for an overnight stay on your first visit/night in Namibia. Very pleasant staff, very welcoming, great food. A very relaxing and enjoyable way to start the trip. Bedrooms very well laid out.

As we arrived and had spare time on the first day it would have been great to know about their spa facilities in advance and I would have booked a relaxing massage or something to start my holiday with." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Little bee-eater
UK

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2008
"Superb Guest House within easy wallking distance of the City Centre." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2008
"This was the first night of our honeymoon, we were not disappointed! We had room 8, it was excellent the large bath and champagne was just what we needed after a long flight.

The food and service was very good and very reasonable." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The Pririt Batis
Kent

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Welcoming, friendly and efficient. A very good place for a first-night stop in Windhoek.

We had a standard room, which means a room opening onto the terrace used for all meals. This relative lack of privacy did not matter much during the daytime, but the noise from the remaining (jolly!) diners was irritating when trying to get to sleep. Next time we will want a room away from the dining patio.

The room was clean, well-equipped and comfortable - do not be put off by the grey concrete bath, the grey concrete walls and floor - it is much more tasteful than it sounds!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Y
Ponteland

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"A good location to start or end a holiday. Our room was rather dark and austere althought bathroom was good. We could hear people talking and eating breakfast outside our room very early in the morning (perhaps windows could be double glazed).

Best breakfast of the holiday with an extensive choice.

The staff were very helpful at booking a restaurant fordinner for us." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Red Bishops
Pevensey

"A good first night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2008
"Olive Grove was a good place to get over the flight and have a restful day, the staff were helpful & informative and the evening meal was an indication of the fine dining ahead of us.

Nice little touches in the rooms, hot water bottles & chocolates - both essential of course - all in all an effortless start to our trip." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Practical overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"A good overnight stop for our last night in Namibia.

Comfortable enough, but after some of the other places we had stayed in, a bit dull.

The food was OK, but again dull by comparison to what we had been enjoying elsewhere." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 301-310 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (101 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (6 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa