This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 291-300 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Dr S
Essex

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2009
"A perfectly adequate start in Windhoek. Set in a residential road the slightly off-putting first impression of barbed wire and large electric gates were dispelled by a friendly welcome. Our room in a separate building across from reception. Plenty large enough but somewhat sombre, especially the bathroom, with dark concrete floors throughout. Breakfast reasonable. Since we weren't staying in the area we couldn't say how well this would function as a base for local activities." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Langley

"Relax at the Olive Grove Before or After"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2009
"We spent one night at the Olive Grove Guesthouse at the end our 5 week stay in southern Africa. It is a good place to stay either on arrival or departure from Windhoek airport.

We chose to have dinner at the guesthouse and the meal was excellent.

The rooms are large and comfortable and the location is easy to find by car." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
California

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2009
"The Olive Grove was a charming hotel. We had a very nice upstairs room and a delicious dinner served on a warm evening on the patio.

Since we had been up all night on the flight, we were a little jet lagged but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We did not do any activities at the hotel (or that were arranged by the hotel) so I have put "no comment" in that category below." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Snettisham

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2009
"very nice hotel - interesting use of cement! but we enjoyed the decor and atmosphere here

Good food and nice open plan kitchen/sitting area. Enjoyed the hot tub" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
MrB & DrT
London

"Perfect overnight stop."

1 night Arrived 7 May 2009
"In a quiet suburb just outside the city centre. Nice classy touches abound. Large room, with a creative use of concrete. Good reataurant with an excellent wine list.

I can't think of many other Guest Houses that could offer a full range of treatments from the attached wellness centre as well." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2009
"This was a lovely guesthouse - the decor was fantastic and the attention to detail made it more special. It was a lovely relaxing place to spend a night in Windhoek!

We were not staying very long in the city so we didnt have the opportunity to see if there were many activities to do in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
Surrey

"Perfect after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2009
"The perfect place to relax after a long flight.

The bubble bath, drinks and personalised notes in our rooms made it extra special." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2009
"What a wonderful hotel, a great way to start our trip to Namibia.

The staff were lovely and helpful, the design and decor very stylish and in our room the biggest bath we've ever seen. The food was excellent too - real attention to detail was evident everywhere." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Great stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2009
"Superb location and an ideal place for first and last nights.

Juan was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendation (Joe's Beerhouse, quite an institution) and looking up Europcar in Windhoek for us.

Lovely room and facilities, excellent breakfast." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss P & Miss E
UK

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"Good location (easy walk into town centre). Rooms very pleasant - could have done with darker curtains as exterior lights were quite bright at night.

Good food - liked being able to have evening meal in a B&B. Enjoyed use of spa facilities, too." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 291-300 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (6 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa