This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Haus Sonneneck

Reviews of Haus Sonneneck

Wildlife sightings and reviews

102 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Haus Sonneneck and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 102
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G
Northumberland

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"The rooms were clean and ready for us.

It was a little deserted and hard to find some help but when we found staff the help was given.

A shame the pool was not open as our children love water cold or hot. Breakfast was a feast and really delicious." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs S
Surrey

"OK start to our trip"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"We arrived around 9pm after long day of 2 flights from Livingstone via Jo'burg - the welcome from the owner was not very warm as we were late which was disconcerting as it was our first night's stay on our Expert holiday - Expert should have informed him of our expected arrival time.

Perfectly adequate room although not ultra-comfortable !

Stayed 2 nights - unfortunately 2nd day was Sunday so centre of Windhoek was very quiet. Joe's beerhouse was open & was a fun place for a meal (good food too).

Shame the pool was not in use due to water restrictions, however pleasant gardens to relax in (though the easy chairs around the pool were in need of a good clean)" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr B & Mrs C
Glasgow

"Ordinary B&B "

1 night Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"We both caught fleas. There was little to do. The garden had no birds. It would be better to start holiday at a bush location.

A bit deflated by experience and Joes Beer Restaurant did not make up for deficiencies." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
B&A
Warwickshire

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 24 Mar 2017
"Hosts Gisela and Rudolf were very welcoming and full of ideas for nearby eating places. Joes Beerhouse was our very successful choice. Nearby was a shopping centre with a chemist for the prescription drugs we had left behind. We also stocked up for our next stop at self-catering Desert Quiver Camp.

The room was very comfortable with "all mod cons", including aircon and fridge..

Breakfast was a huge spread of food, some of which got squirrelled away in our cool bag for a picnic lunch on our trip south. Our hosts were very helpful again with directions, although there was really only one road! Rehoboth was the main stopping place: the second garage on the left had the best toilets! Interesting town history of the Baster community." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Pleasant guesthouse in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"Friendly, quiet and comfortable.

A good place to stay on our first night - roomy if sparsely furnished accommodation with comfortable beds. Good breakfast, eggs cooked to order.

Pretty grounds, pool out of use due to water restrictions." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Same as first night, see previous review. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Warm welcome at Haus Sonneneck"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"We stayed here for one night before starting our Namibia trip and then returned for one night at the end prior to departing the next day for the UK.

The accommodation was clean and beds comfortable. Sadly right outside our accommodation which backed onto our garden building work was in progress which started early in the morning and finished late at night. The owner did explain to us that she had complained on numerous occasions regarding this but sadly came up against a brick wall. However if you had a different room I don't think this would effect you.

Breakfast was good, you do have to go out into town for your evening meal which was safe and no problem." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We were very pleased to be allowed to check in very early, allowing us to leave our luggage and do a little shopping in Windhoek.

From a personal perspective, we would have been better to have slightly changed our arrival and departure day as both of our days in Windhoek were Sundays and pretty much everything was shut by lunch time." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Pleasant and friendly B&B"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"A perfectly adequate B&B. The hostess was friendly. Sensibly priced mini-bar. Each room has a private outdoor seating area with table and chairs and the garden is very attractive.

Only a short distance from Joes' Beerhouse for a good dinner at each end of our holiday. We drove ourselves on the first occasion but walked there in daylight and got a taxi back the second time. The staff at the Beerhouse arranged a taxi and saw us into it, ensuring that the cab was genuine." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Cambridge

"Very welcoming, comfortable start to trip"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"Everything provided as described. Drought precluded use pool - but not their fault.

Arranged an excellent city guide for us (Herr Klaus Otto)" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 102
86%
102 reviews of Haus Sonneneck by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
52
6
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa