This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 311-320 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"The Garden Suite - Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"We were surprised and delighted to find that we had been upgraded to the newly built garden suite. This has to be seen to be belived with its private garden, atmospheric lighting, roll top bath and seperate shower, two kingsize beds and lounge area to name but some of the features. The Olive Grove is very contempory in style which we liked but may not be to everyones taste. It was very easy to find from the airport and an excellent first stop. Staff are helpful and friendly. The food is plentiful and of excellent quality. Plenty of choice at breakfast and you could book an evening meal at the Olive Grove if you wish which also looked very good. Staff will also arrange a taxi and suggest and book a resturant if you wish to eat out, which is what we chose to do." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Thoroughly recommended"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Olive Grove is a super place for a short stay, eg on arrival in Windhoek before setting out on a long journey. Very relaxing garden and the garden rooms are fine. A very quiet location within easy travelling of the town centre. A nice splash pool which we didn't use - it was not that warm!

The staff were very helpful and the service was excellent.

We had some difficulty finding the place with satnav because the road is split into two quite separate lengths with a large gap in between - presumable the road was cut by the "new" Robert Mugabe Avenue, leaving only one part directly accessed, and not the part where Olive Grove is!!!

Going south we visited Hardap Dam, but were very disappointed. The acquariums appear to have burnt down completely - there are just great brown patches of grass around large holes in the ground. The map in Chris' book suggests that it is possible to cross the dam to see the facilities on the other side. This is not the case! Even if one ignores the road signs and drives across the dam from the entrance end, there is a padlocked gate preventing any further progress. We tried to drive round the lake - the long way - but the road was so poor that we doubted our 2 wheel drive car would have made it, so we came back after about an hours' fretting!

Not the best way to spend time or N$200ish" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Pangolin family
UK

"Olive Grove - last night"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"No hesitation about returning." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The Hornbills
UK

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"The Olive Grove was fine as a starting point in Windhoek, as we got orientated and prepared for our tour ahead.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but it is a very transient place by the city based nature of the place." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Crowned plovers
NL

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Very comfortable, friendly and helpful hosts.

Only complaint: outrageously expensive wine list. I actually paid more for the South African wine I chose than I pay in a restaurant in the UK for the same wine! (My choice I know, but it was my first transaction in Namibian dollars and i did not register just how expensive the wine was until I came to pay for it. So it was entirely my responsibility.)" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Pangolin family
UK

"Olive Grove - first night stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"Some of the best food on our trip - excellent dinner and superb choice of breakfast options.

Downstairs rooms are rather dark, but ideal if you want to sleep after a flight." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Harriers
Switzerland

"Avoid rooms with open plan toilets"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2008
"Did not appreciate the open plan toilet! Is this necessary?
Very helpful and friendly owners and staff." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Bitterns
Twickenham

"First and last nights at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2008
"A great start to the holiday. Very helpful staff and good food." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms Z
Ford

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"The accommodation was delightful. The room was very contemporary so we wouldn't say it was for everyone but if one likes a minimalistic style (as we do), it was great.

The staff were really helpful with directions etc and breakfast in the morning was delicious. We also requested pack lunches for the drive between the Olive Grove and our next stop, which were good value and came in handy." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sitatungas
Sterling

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"We could not fault this establishment. We were welcomed immediately we came from the airport mid-morning; offered refreshment and our rooms were made available within an hour. We ate one dinner there which was fully enjoyed.

Their recommendation for a different dinner vnue was helpful and led us to NICE - an interesting experience. Our car was kept secure. The location was easy to find and convenient for the city centre. The best possible introduction to a holiday in Namibia." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 311-320 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa